Stay nimble my friends

It looks like Greece is going to default in the 3rd week of  March. The FBI is talking about shutting down parts of the internet to get rid of a virus  on March 8th.  The war drums are getting louder in regards of both Syria and Iran.  Just to top it all off the US Stock market is following a pattern very similar to the 2008 Lehman moment/crash.

One thing you can do in regards to the FBI is get the IP addresses of sites you go to often.  From what I understand the FBI will be taking down DNS or domain name servers. If you no the Direct IP address of a site you can still access it. For Example google.com = 74.125.157.99 If you type the number rather than google in the browser address bar you will still go to google.

Firefox has an Add on that is called show IP and after you install it it will show the IP address in the lower left hand corner of the browser. It might be wise to have your bank, email site, and any other websites IP address as well as it’s name saved in a little notepad file.

On Greece there is not to much you can do but get out of any TBTF bank.  Withdraw your cash and keep it handy and if I’m wrong you can put it back in April earning less than 1% again.  It’s not that Greece is so large it’s simply like the last snowflake that starts an avalanche. The Avalanche is the other PIIGS of the EU and CDS or Credit Default Swaps and it will cascade through all financials from banks to investment firms.  Cash will be king for a while and if there is a bank run you will want to have cash in your hot little hand not sitting in a bank that has been closed.

If you have been looking to buy PMs we might see a selloff as the PTBs sell off to get liquid so we may see a drop in price.  It happened after Lehman Bros.  I’m not an investment professional so do your own homework.

On Iran and Syria about all you can do is try and stock up on petroleum based products. If you can store a couple of cans of gas and gallons oil. Keep your car topped off ane if you are due for an oil change get it done this month. Tires also move with oil prices so if you need them get them now!

Get your taxes done and get your refund as soon as possible and use that money now for your plans. Don’t put them off any longer!  If you owe get them paid you don’t want to incure any penalties because of things out of your control.

I truly hope I’m overreacting and at worse you may get some practice on a couple of SHTF scenarios.  But in these situations you don’t want to be in any line when folks start to freak out. Better for you to be puttering in the garden and everyone safe at home.

11 Responses to Stay nimble my friends

  1. riverrider says:

    we came to the same conclusion but for different reasons. i’m not concerned with greece or lehmans. i’m concerned with “american spring”. 50% young male unemployment, OWS when it gets warm, and heavy handed police equals a deadly concoction. spring, or post election latest. add that the gov is trying to tell us everything is fine when we can see business after factory close down. the sheeple are awakening. they are gonna be pissed when they find out their free ride is over, like greece. hope i’m wrong. thanx for the tax reminder. need that refund for preps:) take care.out.

    • Matt says:

      river, there’s no predicting what a mob will do, but I’m hoping they take their pitchforks and head to their state capitols and then on to the federal capitol.

  2. Matt says:

    On an off note here, your title reminded me of that beer commercial, “Stay Thirsty my Friends”.

    On the economics, not anything we can do to affect it. Just keep working at those preps to be as ready as possible, if and when the collapse happens. Then those that have their stuff ready will be the wealthy ones. Just stock up deep on your ammo of choice to protect you and those with you and your stuff.

  3. Jamie says:

    I agree guys all you can do is bullet proof your plans as best you can and hope to ride it out. I just don’t want anyone out and about if it decides to blow.
    I don’t know how it is were you live but here I can feel the anger and tension building in people.

    • Matt says:

      It’s hard for me to figure things here locally. I don’t get out much and I hate and avoid crowds as much as possible.

      However, I can see it on the blogs I read. Folks are generally starting to “hunker down”. I’ve seen and heard where all the gun shows in the regional area are just completely swamped with folks “getting ready”, remember the Black Friday reports last year on gun sales?

      As far as the “anger” you mentioned. I’m seeing that on the blogs more and more. Lines are starting to be drawn and I’m basing this on the rhetoric that is starting to ramp up more and more on the blogs.

  4. Jamie says:

    I walk the local strip mall 5 days a week and I can feel it growing slowly. It’s as if everyone is like a cat who has fur is rising but they haven’t laid back the ears yet…

  5. riverrider says:

    roger that on the anger. i’ve seen it coming to the surface in the blogs over the past few weeks. former mild mannered tornado preppers spewing fire and brimstone revolutionary talk. i’ve found myself getting more fired up lately as well. i know things are bad, don’t lie to my face.thats just disrespectful….i need to curb that enthusiasm. makes me/us targets. went by my ffl today, they were wide open at 2p.m. on a weekday. he said he sold a pallet of .38 ammo that he just got monday. i’m getting that sinking feeling, like when you see the enemy and you’re afraid you didn’t bring enough ordnance. take care.out.

  6. Karen says:

    I live in an mid-atlantic state, and believe me there is no one on board here in my area when it come to prepping. The hubs went to Wal Mart this a.m., and there is a run on ammo, batteries, lighters, ect. ???? I’m shocked.

  7. Matt says:

    Back to the anger again, here is a very good example. The first two paragraphs say it all, and the rest is a good read as well.

    http://tlinexile.blogspot.com/2012/02/big-club.html

    And then I see these little things on the side of various people’s blog that say:

    “Our forefathers would be shooting by now.”

    So, unless something changes, then it’s coming.

  8. Jamie says:

    Matt ole’ TL will sure make you think and I enjoy his blog quite a lot.
    I heard one person say that there are only 2 types of people in the world “Those that want to be left alone and those that won’t leave you alone.”

  9. Jamie says:

    Some folks on other prepper/survival sites were seeing Costco and Walmarts having empty shelves. Perhaps the sheep are waking up, gun sales seem to prove that not everyone believes things are going so great.
    We plan and we do tend to be kind of quiet and practice OPSEC. I’m out in the open, and yes sometimes I do worry a bit but folks do need this info. Someone has to risk it and I will do it. I’m single and if I’m disappeared the PTBs will have to face my Mom. I actually feel a bit sorry for the PTBs if that happens. She’ll make Custer’s last stand look like a “Love in”. ; )

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185 other followers

