Finishing up the year on a positive note!

Well 2012 has certainly been an interesting year, in the  sense of  the old Chinese curse “May you live in interesting times” . But I did manage to get almost all of my 2012 goals accomplished and added a few items that I planned to put off until 2013. I will be finishing up a few purchases on Monday the 31st that I did not think I could manage/get a start on the 2013 goals. I found a good price on the collapsible water barrel at Amazon for $35.00 with free shipping so I can get one and start working on the “Ice House” parts. I have gathered a few pallets that I will use as the frame to hold the insulating materials and I saw a neat idea using pallets used as a vertical garden so I think I will look for some plants that like partial shade and start my first insulating layer as dirt in between the slats of the pallet.  Hopefully this will give me some  use out of the Ice house area if the water won’t stay frozen into summer. I saw some neat little solar fountain pumps that might work for a modified swamp cooler for those hot summer nights.  This may also work as an above ground root cellar depending on what temperature  it can maintain. The main idea is if the original plan fails I have 3  more ideas that may work along with storing some rain water.

The Ham radio looks like a go for purchase thanks to the heads up from Selco at SHTF school.  I can listen in until I get my license and this radio offers VHF so I can talk to a few folks that have marine radios. That gives me a cheap entry point for backup communication and information. The last purchase is a 1000 watt inverter for my solar panel set up for a small portable generator for the RV and the house.  I have a gas generator but the solar generator won’t run out of gas or oil or make any noise! I hope to pick up 2 really good (expensive) 12 volt batteries a little later in the year to finish up the project.

If you have been watching the news you have noticed our fearless leaders have been screwing up by the numbers on most everything. One item that is not getting a lot of notice is the stalled farm bill which could cause a double or triple price of the cost of a gallon of milk to $6.00-$8.00 per gallon. That will also mean a huge price increase on cheese, butter, yogurt anything that uses milk as a ingredient.  So if you can be flexible on your food budget and preserve it, this would be a good time to add those dairy products to your shopping list. Albertson’s has two pounds Tillamook cheese on sale for $5.00 a package, this a good size to wax and store.  I will be adding some more milk to the freezer as well as some additional UHT milk for the pantry.  I think the PTBs will correct this oversight eventually but the price could get very high, very fast so be ready and have a bit on hand to ride out the price spike.

As for the guns and ammo situation, I’m not rushing out to buy anything at super high prices as I have already prepared and have what I need on hand. I think many people are reacting almost on the edge of panic and it does not seem to take much for them to go over the edge,  that has me a bit more concerned than the going price of an AR-15 or some magazines. I figure in about a month we may see quite a lot of stuff hit the second hand sales ads, gun shows and pawn shops when the credit payment is due and folks have a little time to think rationally again. So start saving a little cash for any good buys that might come along in the next month or two.  I would not be surprised that quite few people spent a few thousand on guns and ammo and don’t have more than 3-14  days of water or food stored.

Preparing and self-reliance can give you one of the most precious items in the world and that is time. Time to think rationally and adjust to what is happening without getting into panic mode. I think at best the 114th Congress won’t be in office until late Jan.2013 and then they still have submit the bill in the senate if Harry Reid even let’s the bill on the floor for debate and you can bet people will be watching that happening. Plus the USA will be dealing with the aftermath of the “fiscal cliff” as well as the mandatory cuts from Simpson-Bowls sequestration. Quite few people are going to be a bit peeved when they get to have even less money in their paycheck as the FICA rates go back to normal and hit with additional taxes. Or having all extended unemployment benefits just stop suddenly as well as the cost of food will probably jump in price as the effects last year’s drought starts to hit the grocery stores with a vengeance.  At best the new Assault weapons ban might reach the floor of the senate in Feb. or March 2013.  You will want to watch carefully if the PTBs try and use an emotionally charged issue to make people panic and beg the government to “do something”.  Your homework assignment is to research the Reichstag Fire in Germany 1933.

9 Responses to Finishing up the year on a positive note!

  1. riverrider says:

    jamie, hey how about a link or just more info on the radio? hadn’t heard about the unemployment cash running out. that adds in a whole new dimension. i know a guy that took out a loan to get an ar!! i’m seriously considering selling all of mine. be a rich man for a few minutes before the crash. i’d still have an arsenal, and easier logistics with only one rifle caliber and platform to deal with. i’ve been wrong before, but this could be it. a hungry man is a desperate man. looks like there’s about to be a lot of hungry men. stay safe gal!

  2. Jamie says:

    river, http://www.amazon.com/BaoFeng-Dual-Band-Stubborn-Enhanced-Features/dp/B0097252UK/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=OJNMFEPS1CK1&coliid=I16I0OZ7LF63OU
    That the newest version of the radio!
    On unemployment benefits here are a couple of links http://www.capradio.org/180006
    http://www.cnbc.com/id/49968302/Also_at_Risk_From_039Fiscal_Cliff039_Unemployment_Benefits
    I don’t see a huge problem selling off an AR or two to make some cash if you are good on security. I know I like having differnt calibers of ammo just incase I can’t buy one I can buy the other.

  3. Matt says:

    River:

    I don’t know your financial position, but allow me to offer this.

    If you have enough that you are willing to sell a few, then I’d cache the few you are willing to sell for a “rainy day”.

    Jamie:

    I’m with you on “Reichstag”. I’m expecting another shortly just to ensure “they” get what they want on gun control.

    And with the way the media and TPTB keep changing the story, I honestly believe that Newton, Conn. was a contrived event.

    • riverrider says:

      matt, with you on both rainy day and sandy hook. they will need another event before it is put to a vote to be successful. even if i sell i will keep a couple just in case, but battlefield resupply is an option once the ballon goes up:)….jamie, thanx. i use frs/grms but it would be good to scan whats going on on the airwaves. i really need a signal guy in my mag. i’m lost on all this new digital stuff. dockworkers strike, buy more food!!!!nuff saID.

      • Jamie says:

        river, As a former tactical signal I focus a lot on communication, just like a mechanic would focus on good tools or spare parts. There are a lot of Ham radio clubs that meet up so you might check out your local newspaper or google it to see if you can get some tips from them! This would be a good group of people to know during a disaster. I figure even a small handheld could reach some of the local Ham operators and they could relay with the larger radio setups if needed.
        This is under my Blog roll under Threat updates http://www.radioreference.com/apps/audio/ You might find some more info that can help you out.

    • Jamie says:

      Matt, The Batman shooting felt wrong to me with the eye witness accounts about a second shooter, and a second gas mask. Then the Sandy Hook shooting with the reports on how the kids were killed via a .223 bullet but the shooter was found dead with only a couple of 9mm handguns and the Bushmaster was in the backseat/trunk of the car. Mom’s a prepper but Daddy remarried and did not talk to his boy for over 2 years, and no one is the least bit interested in him?
      We have had 3 massacres with early eyewitness accounts of a 2nd shooters, Batman, the Sikh temple and now Sandy hook and now we hear nothing. I know witnesses can be inaccurate but 3 times in a row? Especially when the clothing is so well described for the second shooter and then deemed irrelevant. Then the Ct. cops say they will prosecute for any online speculation they read……

      The Sikhs see themselves as warriors and protectors. I find it a bit odd that the media played up the massacre mistaken for Muslims and then dropped it the story like a hot rock.

      I hope they are simply taken advantage of some bad things that happen at best, that is vile! But I’m truly fearful that the PTBs are making stuff happen! May God have mercy upon their souls because I know I will have none!

      • riverrider says:

        yeah j, the fact that the alledged shooter destroyed his computers was a red flag for me. being a student of criminal justice all my adult life, this is unheard of in the spree killer scenario. they normally leave whole manifestos, or at least notes to explain their twisted logic for killing. the colorado shooter sent his crazy notebook to his psychologist for pete’s sake. the conn shooter was an extreme introvert yet brilliant, a prime candidate for someone to befriend online and control by use of the “friendship”. its been done before, example dc sniper. i look for one more bushmaster slaying right after the bill gets to the floor to rev things back up. if that thing passes as is, we may well be looking at the brink. will we roll over like the jews in germany, and end up the same way?

  4. Harvester says:

    Reblogged this on hearthtender.

  5. Jamie says:

    River when you look at all the the “terrorists” that just happen to be stoped by FBI informants that gave a batch of non explosive “Explosives” from the Huratees to Brandon Raub. The PTBs seem to be counting on the short attention span of most people and hoping the MSM can go squirell! to distract people and then come up with a story about Adam Lanza, his prepper Mom to villify in Ct. in a very strict gun control state and bad eyewitness/slash early new reports some thing stinks.
    I think the PTBs screwed the pooch on the timing of not introducing “Gun Control” earlier and are now playing catch up. I don’t think they got the “panic” reaction they wanted long term. I think they wanted a clamor of more gun control and instead they created more gun buyers. I don’t think they are stupid but hubris blinds them! I’m not sure the PTBs realize that people don’t spend a couple of grand on a AR-15 just for the opportunity to turn it into a “Cop Shop” for $200.00-$500.00.
    What scares me is these people think the “end justifies the means” and will have no problem with many deaths of the most innocent if it gives the what they want. Now many in the MSM are starting to say the US Constitution is a problem and it needs to be gutted or destroyed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

