The Bugout Vehicle or BOV

     I went camping this month and did a test run on my old RV.  Believe it or not I had been loading it for over a year with items I wanted to be in my RV “load plan” ( a standard for basics already loaded) so I wouldn’t have to load up if I wanted to go camping or if I had to bugout quickly. Not the cheapest way to go but as far as convenience and speed of getaway I think it was well worth the effort. I love that multi-taskers and they are the way to go. You save weight and space which is critical for any BOV. (Bugout Vehicle) My Bugout scenario is a train derailment/chemical spill. I live about 6-8 blocks from the tracks and if I have to leave I’m figuring on about 15-30 min. notice probably less than that time. So as you can see that is not a lot of time to pack and load up a bunch of stuff. The items must be able to withstand a hi-desert climate that is dry, but has an extreme temperature range. So what I want to do is cover the RV the same way I’d use stuff at home room by room.
     Bedroom: You spend 1/3 of your day here. You better be as  comfortable as possible and get good rest/sleep. Think warm, dry and insect/vermin free. You will need at least 3 sets of sheets. 1 dirty, 1 you are using and 1 clean, waiting to be used. (You will see that rule a lot) I like white cotton/linen, flat sheets, because they can be bleached by the sun or with Clorox to eliminate germs. I like flat sheets because they are usually cheaper and as far as I’m concerned fitted sheets have a built in failure point built in in the elastic and corners. Good pillows, if you find a pillow that is comfortable buy 2, and one for the home and 1 for the BOV. Blankets, double what you think you need on average for the coldest day. or sleeping bag. Assume no heat and have enough blankets on hand for that temperature. I have been buying up a lot of fleece throws 50″x60″ that are small, light and very warm and comfy. I’ve seen those throws at 2 for $5.00 you  can really stock up at that price. Plus they are great on boats, for 1st aid and in the home.  Mattress; I don’t  think most RV’s do well here. I recommend at least a self inflating camp mattress or an  air mattress. The air is great insulator and will help keep you warm. I was very underwhelmed with close cell mattress pads they had in the Army as they sweat. Usually if you are not dry you are not warm. At best you have to dry out your sleeping gear every day. Now a days you can get a queen size air mattress for around $30.00. They are great multi-taskers for slumber parties and visitors.  PJ’s jammies whatever you like to call them you need a clean set to change into, remember clean = warm. I like a dedicated set of sweats in fall and winter and shorts and a t-shirt in summer. Trust me you don’t want to run outside in the nude if you have to deal with some vermin 4 legged or 2, naked. Cold weather months look for a tight ski-cap or “Navy watch cap”. to help retain heat. Last bit advice is stay clean, take a “PTA” bath as my Mom calls it (Pits, Tits and Ass) everyday. You can do that with a quart of water or wet wipes. Guys I think you can figure out where we are going here… A good terry cloth robe and slippers that can withstand a few rock or a chill in the air.
Update: If your BOV is a Mini-van or a pickup, Use a lockable storage container like the “Action Packer” by Rubbermaid. I have stored a small popup tent and a full sized air mattress and pump, 2 lanterns and a small catalytic heater in 1 of those boxes. You’ll probably need an additional box for bedding. Just keep the boxes accessible for quick loading in the garage or a closet.
    I did not cover all for pest/ vermin control. I think that is best covered in the kitchen, bathroom and your new more mobile laundry room. This will be a milti-part series of getting ready for SHTF (Stuff Hits The Fan).

3 Responses to The Bugout Vehicle or BOV

  1. Oldmanriver says:

    I have always wondered about surplus military duce and a half's for a BOV. The 6×6 drive could come in handy. Living quarters would have to be custom built on them but Im sure it could be done. I have seen them advertized for $2000-6000.00 in different places.

  2. I have a friend in Alaska that is building one of those. He live in a small cabin but got a great buy on several of those Connexes for storage. Since he had the old Duece and a half that, and a connex is being built into his BOV. You can many sites on the web on making a cabin/home out of old storage/shipping containers

  3. Kurt says:

    Ya know, I never would have thought of that. I have seen trucks with no bed, just bare frame, for sale. Putting a shipping container on one might be a decent way to go.

