That’s not right! Failure is how you learn, and you will fail!

Embrace failure! I know most folks won’t tell you that is the thing to do but it is the only way you get better.
You will have something that you try end in failure. You will lose time, energy and money almost every time you try something new. Well at least I usually do, I also tend to make every mistake in the book and then some while I’m learning.
You don’t get good at baking bread by just following a recipe. You get good by practice and making several loaves of bread. A recipe is just a start then it’s practice.I still don’t make good biscuits. My biscuits are a lot better than they used to be but, I know gals that make biscuits that are little clouds of heaven. So I keep trying, I know it can be done. It’s just practice & patience to allow and embrace failure.
This is why I love composting and critter in the yard. If you screw up you can toss it to the critters or in the compost. It’s not wasted, even if you can’t eat it.
So keep on trying don’t give up. Usually at the 2nd or 3rd try you will have an good product. Pretty soon if you make any mistakes, they tend to be apparent and you get better. Experiment small with cheap food and you will be ready.

3 Responses to That’s not right! Failure is how you learn, and you will fail!

  1. Rhonda says:

    You are sooo right about the try,try again line of thought.My bread improves every time I make a loaf.Self sustainability and a vast pantry needs to be everyones goal these days.I waxed some colby cheese,Jaime!Thanks for the post that gave me the push to try it.I hung it in the spare bedroom I use as a pantry in a mesh bag.I used the potato bag….lol!Have a wonderful day.

  2. I'm so happy for you and that I was a bit of help.Motherearth news has some great recipes for Artisan bread in the Magizine and on the website. No-knead recipes, that require a day or two to sit and develope the flavors. I will be trying a couple out and will update.

  3. Rhonda says:

    Okay,thanks….sounds interestin'.

