More Sales at Cash and Carry till 19th Dec. 2010

Cash & Carry is a Restaurant supply store and anyone can shop there without membership fees. It’s located primarily in the Western States. But you may have a similar store in your area.
Cheddar cheese 5# for $9.98 I figure if you can get good cheese for around $2.00 a pound it’s a good buy.  As I was wandering around I saw a boneless top sirloin for $2.38 per pound but the average weight was about 12 pounds so you are making a bit of an investment to get it at that price. But  if you can preserve it, a great buy. Top sirloin is excellent for making jerky.  I was going to pick up some rice 50# for $20.00 and they had a different brand 2 dollars cheaper. Every little bit of savings helps. LOL
Buttermilk Biscuit mix 5 pounds for $3.88 and pancake mix 5 # for $3.35. I like these mixes because you can use water, milk or buttermilk as the liquid. Plus they are easy and quick to put together.
As you can see by my blog I do a lot of cooking and baking from scratch.  But, you will need some easy stuff for when you are tired or not feeling so great . Plus if your main cook/baker gets sick whoever picks up the slack may not be good at scratch cooking. This gives them some simple items to prepare.
Paul’s (a local store) had a couple items I wanted to check on. I get food grade bucket from the bakery for $1.00 each and all I have to do is wash and sterilize them. Darn it, they aren’t selling the buckets till after the holidays. So anyway I picked up cross-rib roast for $2.18 a pound and 5 doz. eggs for $1.28 a doz. So I’ll  either freeze or can the roasts and  mineral oil  the eggs for (up to 9 months) storage.

 

11 Responses to More Sales at Cash and Carry till 19th Dec. 2010

  1. Kurt says:

    I love Cash n Carry. I get the 5 lb bags of shredded Parmesan cheese and make everybody happy with my home made Alfredo sauce lol. Freezes pretty good to so I can use it over a longer time. Still not the cheapest meal around, but these peeps who keep calling me daddy for some strange reason love it. Been thinking of seeing how well their pancake, muffin, and corn bread mixes hold up to vacuum packing. It's also the only place I can find the non instant powdered milk anywhere nearby. Not all Cash n Carry stores carry it, and they only carry 50lb bags, but anybody who wants a source of non instant powdered milk could probably get their local Cash n Carry to order it in for them though.

  2. Nick Raymon says:

    This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  3. Rhonda says:

    Hmmm…I dont know of a Cash and Carry around here.What a great sale.Sometime I catch rice on sale at an ethnic grocery in the town next to us…for $17.00 a pound.I have more rice than wheat.I need to remedy that soon.What kind of grinder do you have?I got mine off the Lehmans site.They said its one of the best they sell.I like it.Thanks for the great blog.

  4. Rhonda says:

    lol…….$17.00 for 50 pounds.Geesh!

  5. Kurt says:

    They ain't everywhere Rhonda, and only on the west coast it would seem, but they do have a location guide on their website. She has a link in the upper right to it. I have none here, but there are 3 within 60 miles, and we usually have reason to be driving towards any one of them on a regular basis. A couple of them even have a Harbor Freight near by, and WinCo foods, which is another good place to scout out if you have one near you. If you see one nearby, or someplace where you go frequently, it can be well worth the trip. They also sell 25-50lb bags of dried beans, rice, and pasta in big boxes, along with some cooking items that some find useful. I found a decent wok in the one south of here at a good price, and it can be used over any heat source, even campfire. If she mentions a place, it can pay to check it out. She knows how to prepare on a budget.

  6. Rhonda says:

    Thx,Kurt…..I have purchased from Harbor Freight before.Lots of things that we have found useful/hard to find things.And yes,Kurt,I always listen to Jaime…..shes a hoot..besides knowing what shes talkin' about.Was happy to hear about her blog.Our prep budget seems to be shrinking all the time….LOL…..Trying to get out of debt so I will have more moola to work with.Ya'll have a nice day!

  7. AHH Blush! I still haven't pulled the trigger on buying a grinder. I don't want to spend a lot of money, but I also want it to last and I'll pay for quaility cause my life may depend on it. I just haven't seen one that will meet my standards of price and quality yet. Hopefully after Xmas I'll find what I'm looking for on sale.

  8. Kurt says:

    When you find it, post it right away will you? I'm seriously thinking a grinder right now as well, depending on price/quality.Thanks!

  9. Rhonda says:

    Jaime…….Heres a link to the grinder I purchased.Its great!!Hope that helps you and Kurt.I use mine on a daily basis….never a problem.

  10. Kurt says:

    It turns easy? High quality, sturdy? I was looking it over and also looked at a more expensive one they sell. Thanks! Now I just need to marry somebody who knows what one is for. Any volunteers? Lol

