Looking forward to the garden

I’ve got a couple more raised beds I’m mapping out in my mind. It is a great time to get those seeds ordered and think about the getting those starts going. Now for those who can’t devote an acre of ground or 12 hours + aday for just growing vegies or are new to gardening.  I got a couple of ideas for you to try out…

  1. Grow the most expensive things at home. Herbs,  are pretty easy to grow in a  sunny window sill and do great in pots. I also bet they are some of the most expensive items you buy in the produce section.
  2. Grow what you eat, just like you store what you eat. Just cause a plant grows well and you get a great harvest means nothing if you despise it. 
  3. Know how to preserve your crop. This could be a root cellar, Pressure or hotwater bath canning or a freezer. Get what equipment you need before the harvest from vacume/ziploc bags for freezing to jars, lids for canners, to boxes or straw for root veggies. To making wines, beers, ciders and vinegers and ferment cabbages to pickleing, salting and smoking. Don’t get narrow in your outlook. Both grape and cabbage leaves can make great wraps for food. I’m looking to use both leaves  frozen and pickled.
  4. Get ethnic in your cooking, the flour that makes egg noodles, makes flour tortillas, biscuits, bread and yorkshire pudding. Corn makes grits, polenta, corn mush, hush puppies not counting the breads, muffins and breading. Add masa and you have corn tortillas, sopas. Add rice into the mix evertything from stirfrys, to rice cakes and all the southern gumbos and jambalayas. That’s only 3 staples and 3 cuisine types, mostly USA. Curries and Asian cooking is great. And European root cooking is faboo, and all you need is a few different spices,oils and different techniques of cooking. This will prevent food fatigue.
  5. Don’t be afraid to try new stuff.. I like most vegetables even the smell of canned spinach turns my stomach. But I love it fresh in salads. Even steamed as greens I like. Something in the commercial canning process screws it for me. I know folks that put vinegar and cinnamon on the canned stuff and say it tastes better. But as far as I’m concerned on canned spinach. You could sprinkle it with Ajax and not make it taste worse. While I’ll never store canned spinach.  I got no problem dedicating some garden space for the fresh stuff.

I guess what I’m saying is have a plan not only for the garden but how to preserve the harvest. Plant what you know you will eat, but be open to new menu ideas and using stuff in new ways. 

7 Responses to Looking forward to the garden

  1. Gods-Hammer says:

    🙂 love this topic! Check the expected last frost dates for your area and get your seedlings started on time. Get your compost piles in maximum use this year. check out this website it has a free news letter from a family trying to get self sufficient on their own homestead in central Texas … good stuff on gardening, learn from other peoples mistakes (it's cheaper that way 😉 heh heh)www.BackyardFoodProduction.com

  2. I like that one and there is a family doing the same in California.I started late last year because of weather. Since I'm doing this on the cheap one of my raised beds is a kiddee pool and I'm looking at a 4ft.x4ft raised bed from Big Lots for $30.00 and starting the prep or 1st phase of a "lasagna garden" in a weedy area along side my house that get's great sun. That should give me about all I can handle as far as a garden and preserving the harvest.

  3. Rhonda says:

    Great idea on the kiddee pool.Just be sure to poke a few holes for drainage.Sounds great.We usually do an inground garden,but I am thinkin' a container garden will be better for us…less weeding and stooping.Best of all….no tillin'!!I read an article about it the other night.I do believe thats what we are gonna do this year.We already have some of our seeds.We were overwhelmed last year with yellow squash.I canned it…fried it …Lordy…got so much I dont even know if I am gonna plant any this year…Lol!Ya'll have a nice evenin'

  4. I did containers to start and a small 8ft.x 8ft. raised bed. I'm still learning as well I used to kill plants before, but now I really enjoy watching them poke up out of the ground, getting those first little blossoms and then actually start to grow fruits and veggies. Plus I like the idea of different shape beds to give the yard a little extra geometry.

  5. Rhonda says:

    Landscaping with veggies…..You may be ahead of the times,Darlin'!I think the victory gardens are comin' back.People need to use every foot of space they have to grow something.My youngest daughter told me today she was planting some containers on her terrace.She lives in a large city about 8 hrs away.I am thankful shes at least trying.If things get too bad….she will be here with us,I am sure.She wont take chances with her two little boys.Gardening is fun,aint it…….I love the canning too…lol…hot and tiring but so satisfying to see all those jars lined up.Keep up the good work with this blog.You are doin' great!

  6. Rhonda I'm a throw back. I'll do some Kale and cabbages in the front yard. Well Kale is very pretty and good to cook. Stop telling me why you can't and get focused on why you can.We've been prepping for years do you think you will catch up in a month? Somethings can't be bought for cash.I got my jars for fermenting Kruats, Jamie is happy for at least 3 weeks.

  7. Rhonda says:

    Yummmm,I enjoy cabbage alot too.Have ya'll ever tried fried cabbage?I got the recipe from a friend from Michigan.You shred your cabbage then fry it in bacon grease and chopped onions.Fry till soft.I usually crumble the bacon up in there too.Then you pour two cups or so of cooked pasta in there,I use shell-roni….salt and pepper to taste,stir it all up together.Very good.I know…bacon grease isnt the healthiest…but its sooo good.My oldest daughter will eat this till its gone.

