Looks like things are about to get "mighty sporty" here in the USA and around the world

      You may have noticed that we have a few “Crisis’s” to deal with in the next few weeks. Be concerned, aware and nimble but don’t buy the hype. Get on your prep basics, have a little cash on hand to get you through a bank run/holiday.  Do an inventory of what you have on hand and what you will need following the basics of shelter, security, water, food, sanitation and 1st aid. If you have some weak points now is the time to get focused, you got to prioritize. I’m not asking you to become an expert at “3rd world surgery” or power generation. I’ve not had to do that in this recession. Just be aware for instance: Beef prices may come down because of the drought in Kansas, OK and Texas and the rising cost of feed we may see a drop in price of beef in the next few months.
Do you have freezer space, canning jars or other ways of preserving beef? Cause next year prices will be higher!
     My garden has been a bit of a bust. Expanded a bit more quickly than I should have, needed to start more seeds earlier but I wanted to see how growing crops straight from seed would work. Answer: not great, starts are the way to go… But I did learn something.  My neighbor’s garden is doing great. I’ll drag my little propane stove out and we will have a canning party. You got to build those relationships now before things go bad. Know who you can count on and who you can’t. You are not an Island! You will need help and so will other folks.

So let’s look back and see what we have accomplished:

  1. You have done your basic shopping list and have food for 3 weeks to 6 months. 
  2. Water source and a way to purify in the future and enough on hand that will cover your family for 3 weeks.
  3. Security: I don’t have all I want, but I have several ways to protect my family. It can be built on and perfected. 
  4. Food: you have at least 3 weeks worth or more and building. 
  5. Heat/Shelter: from extra blankets, clothes, tents and and RVs. No, it won’t be pleasant but you could leave in a day if needed. 
  6. Financial insurance: Your choice, I think you know how I feel. But make it work for you. 

I do think we are getting close to an “event” around August. I was really hoping for November time frame. I want a good harvest, “I maybe whistling in the dark” on that one. I want the “Mob” huddled up and trying to stay warm. It’s not nice, but it’s reality for me. Almost all mobs and riot happen in warm weather unless a sale is on for Xmas gifts.

5 Responses to Looks like things are about to get "mighty sporty" here in the USA and around the world

  1. Kurt says:

    I now have a small pressure cooker. Any books you can recommend for canning? Especially one that covers canning meats?

  2. I recommend the Ball canning book as a starter. Many county annexes also have classes as well as Local canneries like the Mormons and some other folks. Mormons are the most consistant, but communes, and other churches often have classes. I scored on getting some faboo books. The encyclopedia of culinary arts from 1977. I love a book that a side of beef or any animal is considered a starting point for storage and a menu. I think any book after 1950 should be good. Good germ theory, yet not all the PC stuff. Get a good pressure canner not a cooker. I love pressure cookers for beans, brown rice and meats. But it's not a canner. Your life will depend on what you can. Not a good place to cut costs. Presto has a good solid canners and can be had from $60.00-$100.00. AllAmerican has a beast of a canner a bit more expensive but a good one. I never recommend using a pressure cooker as a canner.

  3. Kurt says:

    Hmmmm OK. I was not aware that there was a diff. I'll have to do some digging to see which it is I picked up. It was at a garage sale. I suspect it was a cooker though. Thanks for the heads up!

  4. Kurt, you may want to look for an LDS cannery (They are all over the place, Google LDS Cannery) in your area and start there. No up big upfront costs and most have a lot of different options from #10 cans, to jars and buckets for dry goods. Bring your own food or buy some from them and their farms. I'm not a Mormon nor do I believe their religion but I do admire how they try to care of their own and many of the best prepping sites are run by Mormons.

  5. Also a pressure cooker is a great item to have on hand. You can cook beans in a fraction of the time. This will save on energy costs and/or make your fuel last longer. They are great for saving "freezer burnt" meat for stews and soups. Plus there are several plans on the internet for using a pressure cooker/canner as a distiller. Which is perfect for making water safe.

