Inventory :The BOBag, BOBucket, the Pantry, rotation and Maintenence

September is National Preparedness month and we have seen plenty of natural and Man-made Disasters (San Diego Blackout). So it’s time once again to check everything and make sure I’m doing all the right stuff and make sure everything works the way it’s supposed to work.
Bug Out Bag:  I’m concentrating on removing some items and getting it easier to carry. I had let the weight get out of hand simply by adding a few things at a time.

  1. Shelter: Tarp (8×10) Bungee cords, Emergency blanket, Top and bottom of seasonal clothing, 2 sets of undies, 4 pairs of socks, Gloves, hat and scarf. (I keep a sleeping bag in the garage that I can add quickly.) Rain gear. Duct tape
  2. Sanitation Construction grade Trashbag, TP, Bath kit of Ivory soap,washcloth, toothbrush and paste, comb, Small bottle of shampoo, hand sanitizer, Water filter, iodine tablets
  3. Safety: Wind up flashlight and radio, Emergency whistle, compass and map, 1st Aid kit/meds, candles,safty matches and a lighter.
  4. Security: Box of ammo, 2 extra magazines.
  5. Food: Ramen noodles, Instant oautmeal, Jerky,  spices hot sauce, crackers and mini size candy bars.
  6. Misc. : Book, cards and crossword puzzle, extra pencil and notepad

  
Bug Out Bucket :

  1. All of those items I removed from my Bag, I’m adding to the Bucket which will supplement my bag and is easy to grab and throw into whatever vehicle I’ll be using to Bugout. 
  2. I’m still working on the final list for my buckets this week. I have 2 ideas and we will see what works or what I/you  think is the best to add.  A few ideas is load your bucket first with bags of dried goods. Beans,rice and ect. I’m adding a quart of shelf stable whole milk, 2 buckets have drink mix (vitamin C) 2 have extra dry goods and some radios, flashlights, and the other 2 have a sterno stove and and 4 cans of fuel. 
    I’d like to know what you think is critical to have on hand (fuel & stove) , or wind up radio and flash light? You can’t pick both! LOL

I don’t know it all.
Many of you have dealt with several disasters. I bet as well as you have prepared you wish you had…. What is that wish?

    Inventory:
    This one will take several days for me to get done. My CIDP limits my energy level and strength, so I work in a work/ rest cycles. It takes a few days to do the same amount of work I used to do in a eight hours. But one advantage is I rest and write out my notes, shopping lists and update my spread sheets as I go during the rest cycles, that are not nap times. LOL  In some ways it helps me get a much better inventory by taking more time to get the job done.

    I’m still working on the final list for my buckets this week. I have 2 ideas and we will see what works or what I/you  think is the best to add.  A few ideas is load your bucket first with bags of dried goods. Beans rice and ect. I’m adding a quart of shelf stable whole milk, 2 buckets have drink mix (vitamin C) 2 have extra dry goods and some radios, flashlights, and the other 2 have a sterno stove and and 4 cans of fuel. 
    I’d like to know what you think is critical to have on hand (fuel & stove) , or wind up radio and flash light? You can’t pick all of the above….. LOL I’ve tried and the stuff of food, a bit of 1st aid, sewing kit, food ammo and all the rest takes up all your space or what you can carry. You can’t have it all! What is the min. needed to live and get by?

    One Response to Inventory :The BOBag, BOBucket, the Pantry, rotation and Maintenence

    1. I spent a good many years in a disaster mitigation, response and recovery career. That experience along with doing a lot of backwoods exploring and being a Y2K survivor taught me a few things you mightn't know yet. I wrote a book about some of it you can read on my blog site by clicking SURVIVAL Book tab in the upper right corner of the home page.Hope it gives you some ideas you haven't already had. Good luck. Old Jules

