Finished up my Government Paperwork

Taxes are done and sent off.  I was able to use the 1040 EZ form which saved a little bit of money on my tax software so that was nice.  I don’t pay income tax and I don’t get or take the EIC that a lot of folks get this time of year.  I’m “below poverty level ” just barely as a single person but that’s okay I’m getting along and have all I really need with a little left over. On the Idaho state form they give out a standard credit of $80.00 for grocery sales tax but that’s it for me.

I have to rework the budget again for increases for my home owners insurance and my internet bill. Not a lot of change but it’s additional $20.00 every month along with water is going up or at least mine did. I wonder if it’s all those water barrels I filled?  LOL  Hopefully I’ll make up the costs on my irrigation bill this summer.  I think I’ll be able to swing both rain barrels this upcoming check and add one five gallon Igloo insulated water jug as my my modified hot water tank.  That will take me to 500 gallons total water on hand when I add the RV’s tank.  I’m feeling confident that I should be able to handle all my water needs for at least 6 months and I can  stay at home rather than venturing out among the barbarian hordes for water.

I got another 5 pack of Brita water filters. I even scrounged my change jar of a couple of dollars in quarters to get enough to pay for them.  Down on my saved cash for the house but I’m good on filters for over a year now. I’m saving a few of them as I saw a way to re use them on the internet by adding fresh activated charcoal.  I figure it’s worth the effort to see if I can use them.  Got a couple of  ideas kicking around in my brain of using stacked buckets some sand, activated charcoal and cheese cloth.  I already have everything on hand so It’s just needs to be put together and tested.

That should finish up all the water needs I have to take care of and the next mission will be getting wood and all of the parts for the wood stove.  That will be the big project for this year, but if I figured everything correctly the wood stove should pay for itself within 3 years and I’ll have a solid backup to my electric furnace, oven and water heater.

I am not sure how long we may have to prepare for a full blown collapse that I expect to happen. I hope that I’m totally off-base and everything will work out just fine.  I’d sure like some more time and want to be totally wrong on my prediction for the USA.  I’ll keep puttering along planning for the worst and hoping for the best and if I am wrong and everything recovers in the economy I’ll go to work on paying off my house and then I’ll be debt free.

5 Responses to Finished up my Government Paperwork

  1. riverrider says:

    great job jamie! water is life as they say. i love my wood stove. fwiw, i think they will successfully kick the can a while yet. look at greece. there will be “austerity measures” , then freezing investments while they “borrow” them, then freezing accounts while they “restructure” the money, giving us pennies on the dollar. all that after the election. tdl will play hide n seek until the repubs take over so they can blame it on them. i’m thinking jan/feb 2013 now. jmho. take care, out here.

  2. Jamie says:

    Thanks river, I’d still like to get that propane camp shower with pump. But other than that I’m darned pleased on the water thing.

    There are a whole flock of “Black Swans” on the horizon. Yet most still think with a little more time and more money printing everything will work out somehow. WE got another debt ceiling fight around sep/oct. time frame, the election and war drums being pounded.

    Add in a little class/race war rhetoric and a long hot summer and things do look to get a little sporty

    • riverrider says:

      roger that. and word on the street is that the trayvon grand jury will fail to indict zim. might get dicey on/about tuesday…..hey, not my experience but, several folks on tsb said they had problems with the propane shower things. i have a coleman shower to go that i used every weekend for 2 years w/ no probs, but i read others had probs w/that too. i’m going with the heated-water-in-the-garden-sprayer method as a fallback. ymmv. good luck:)

      • Jamie says:

        I think one of those little solar showers will be added for back up. I’m trying to add as much as I can afford going solar in small money chunks!
        We get another year and I will get busy on a solar power system.

  3. riverrider says:

    roger that. solar is free, after the intitial cost. i have a small system, 90 watts, with 4 big marine batts. it will run chargers, lights and my septic pump occassionally. i have 4 more sets in the loft for shtf. i figure they’ll come in handy.

