The Taxday party!

This weekend on April 15th my nieghbors, freinds and family are having a tax day party.  I’m doing a BBQ turkey and it’s sitting in it’s brine as I write and I’ll take over acase of Homemade lager (Tax-Free) of Dark and pale types.  Huzzah! the pale lager will be ready in time.  We will have a professional DJ and some incredible gardeners. Folks that refurbish bikes and those into organic gardening.  Plus a professional BBQ’er  and a very eclectic group of all ages.  Everyone else should be bringing everything else “Potluck style” . They are good about getting a little bit of everything.

This is a great way to know your neighbors and building your own little tribe. Folks are relaxed but working together to make the project happen.  Having several brewers,  gardeners, and folks doing BBQ gives you a nice place to start and share.   Plus it’s not all Doom and Gloom and if you keep focusing on how bad things are and don’t take some positive actions you will burn out.  I know I take a bit of joy in giving the one finger salute to the PTBs in even a small way!

We are going to have some good music, food, beer and fun in spite of the IRS on taxday. No government intervetion needed for us to be happy and have some fun!

 

6 Responses to The Taxday party!

  1. denim3225 says:

    I hope that your block party is wonderful and full of good times and more important memories, and better yet, stronger ties that may help if something happens. I wish I could get a block party here, but unfortunatly, with druggy and other creatan species, you may end up with more than you bargained for. Their idea of a party is different from mine.
    Have a wonderful weekend, Jamie.

  2. Teresa Sue says:

    That’s awesome! Can I steal your idea for next year?

  3. Jamie says:

    Steal away Teresa!
    Denim, If not your block perhaps you have some freinds or family and do a party with them. We have folks coming from all over though it’s mostly local. Who knows what can happen but at least you will have someone we can count on.

  4. Rose says:

    Sounds like a lot of fun! I am very interested in your home made brew. When I click on beer in your catagories, nothing comes up. Have you posted about brewing before, because I can’t seem to locate it.

    • Jamie says:

      Rose, the Beer page is a “work in progress” and I will be adding to it and hopefully that will clear up any confusion.
      Starting with a Malt Extract makes it a lot simplier instead of using whole grains, make sure everything is clean take your time and watch your temps so you don’t kill your yeast and you will be fine.
      Starting off with a little MR. Beer Keg setup might be less intimidating and I still use the plastic bottles for judging my carbonation levels.

  5. Rose says:

    I forgot to say that I checked out the NampaBrewers website, and need to call them. It all sounds so intimidating, but I really want to try my hand at it.

