Just puttering around the house.

Got the front lawn mowed today!  Between the rain and me being worn out it’s taken some time to get done.  I did get the garden planned out today using a companion planting idea and see if that will help it do better this year.  I’m not sure if my raspberry plant is going to make it, but I think I found a happy little spot along the fence line that if she survives she can grow nicely in that spot.  We are going to have a cool night tonight,  I hope it’s the last one for the next three months.  May 8th is the latest frost date but I have seen it snow here as late as May 18th.

The third rain barrel installed and knocked down a few weeds and stuff in a new edible landscape bed I want to do in the front yard.  Talk the neighbors and she will help me dig up a dead shrub and get the bed ready for planting sometime this week.  I’ll be planting colored kales and a few herbs along with marigolds.  I got some lovely wild flowers and  Evening Primrose to add a little drama and some height to the bed.  The neighbor helped clean up my rose beds along the fence line and some of the rose have died,  not her fault but mine for letting them get over grown.  I want to transfer a rose that sits where my last water barrel is going and place it up on the fence line. Got some bigger buckets for the Citrus trees which are doing okay and I’m amazed  I haven’t killed them.  I’ll to put them on the patio so they can get lots of sunlight and put some growth on this year.

I got a terrific buy on a cutting board today! It’s a Catskill Hardwood board that is 18″ x 24″. Only $15.00 at the Macy’s outlet. I used my “Mad Money”  to buy it. I try to keep $20.00 to $50.00 hidden away in the wallet for just this kind of thing because sometimes you find a great bargain and nothing is more frustrating for me to find a great buy and have no cash on hand to get it.  I’ll move my old cutting bourd out to the RV so I have an easy to wash and good size cutting board for her as well as the home.  Plus I’ll have a great bunch of boards for the community canning sessions I want to have this fall.  The “Mad Money” also works great if the electronic systems go down.  You can pay cash if you have too  and be on your way.

Started my shopping list for next week check. Wonder of wonders I only have one item I can’t buy on sale.  The darned rain barrel went on sale this week $10.00 cheaper than what I got the newly installed barrel.  So “bad words” have been said by me and moving along. I got a bunch of cheapo lighters not to long ago, but I will go back to buying Bic lighters for everything. They are more expensive but the  quality makes up the difference. These are great barter items according to Selco and his SHTF School Blog.  Five at $5.75 every 2 weeks will give you more than enough if you are a smoker as well as build a barter stash.

I got some great small buckets for RV food storage. Only about 2 gallons by volume but they will be a nice little storage bucket for the RV.  Temps. are more extreme for the RV but these buckets are small enough I can rotate them quickly and still maintain quality. Doing a bucket each of rice, 16 bean mix, biscuit mix and pasta.  I think a once or perhaps twice of year rotation of food from home to RV back to home seems doable.

Lot’s of things happening in the news and Europe. So stay nimble my friends it looks like things are going to get interesting.  Take one day at a time, don’t panic and keep working your plan.  Don’t scatter gun your goals but stay on target.  If you are working  on your basics don’t try and buy gold because it dropped in price  this week.  If you don’t have 3-6 months of every thing you need to survive don’t even think about “making money”.  Sustaining yourself and your family basic survival should always be first.

Comments are closed.

