Still working on this GUT feeling of 4 months

I’m not sure why this idea of four months is so strong or where it is coming from but I’m noticing it coming up more and more in myself and my planning.  I have always planned before in 3, 6 and 12 days, weeks or month type of standards. I can no longer blame this feeling on my coffee getting low. This four month idea of having everything I need on hand seems almost like a minor compulsion but there is no panic or anxiety feelings that usually come with my normal gut instincts.  Somehow it’s seems very important and I can not explain why? Though I know there must be a reason for me to step out of my normal prepping ways that have served me so well for the last couple of years.

Any we got some really good sales this week and next that I’ll be taking advantage of, or already have gotten a few things that are making me feel good on how this prepping thing is going.  I’ll be taking advantage of the Memorial Days sales and or a special discount for veterans. Jo-anns Fabric is one of the best for discounts for veterans and Seniors locally and May 25th-28th they have a 20% discount for vets.  They have 100% cotton cloth on sale for $2.99 per yard and I want to get 3-4 yards worth. No idea what I’ll do with it yet but I want to have some good fabric on hand. I’m leaning toward some simple pillow covers or something for my comforters I got when in Germany.

Cash & Carry’s sale lasts till June 3rd and  has Beef brisket for $1.99 a pound and a 12 pound average weight so a couple of those would take care of my BBQ needs this summer. Suasage 6 pounds for $10.24 works to $1.71 per pound and I like using it to kick up flavor on different meals besides just breakfast. Long grain White rice 50 pound bag for $16.97 which is a great price for 500 4oz. servings of food. Plus rice is one of the great multi-taskers of the food world.  I’m going to pick up a few  5 pound bags of frozen veggies for $3.58 each.  These are easy to dehydrate as all of the prepwork is already done and after last year’s garden harvest I don’t want to depend just the garden for veggies. I’m looking at about 18 pounds of meat, 15 pounds of vegetables and 50 pounds of rice for a cost of less than $72.00 for one person.  If I bought no other food  for the month of June I could eat 1/2 pound of meat and veggies and a pound and half of rice everyday for less than $75.00. Of course I won’t cause I bought bulk eggs and bacon with my last check along with 50 pounds of rice. You can see how buying in bulk streches your food dollars. I have to laugh at some  folks that think it is impossible for 1 person to live in the USA without spending at least $150.00 per month or more on food.

I’m a big believer in living on your preps so you rotate and know how to cook with them.  For me I tend to look at a couple of ideas as far as deciding how much you need to store. I’m not knocking the LDS general guidlines per person but 300 pounds of grains is a little hard to get your mind around if you are new to prepping or at least it was for me. I found for me it worked better to think about servings per pound. Perhaps because I worked food service and catering! Use some of the prepared food serving per pound with how it works for you. It my just be me but as far as I’m concerned a package of Ramen noodles is 1 serving. But every ramen noodle type package I have found claims 2 servings in each package.  I also know a 4 oz. serving of cooked rice is a pretty big serving of rice.

Servings per pound for example:

  1. Rice 10, 4 oz. servings per pound
  2. Dried pasta 8, 4 oz. servings per pound
  3. Dried beans  about 8, 4 oz. servings per pound varies with the type of bean.
  4. Grains also vary but, a small loaf of bread is about 1 pound and you should be able to cut it into about 12 slices. If you are using grains for a breakfast cereal or augmenting soups or casaroles I say about the same servings per pound as rice.

Most Americans would find this diet kind of bland but with a good cookbook and some spices you are ready to try almost every type of cuisine of the world with just these basic ingredients.  If you are gluten intolerant look at storing Masa Harina.  This is Latino cornmeal but it is processed in a way so you get all the good vitamin B’s and fight the disease of pellegra. Or you can make your own rice flour from stored rice. It takes a few steps but it’s certainly doable with basic kitchen tools.  I have also noticed that folks are not allergic so much to white flour but to the overprocessed crap that the stores call bread.  My Mom can eat my homemade white bread without a problem even with her IBS or her Fybro.  Trust me make a good loaf of homemade white bread and buy a big loaf of Wonder bread and try and crush both in the bag. While you might be able to smush the homemade loaf a bit the Wonderbread could be smushed into a ball less than 1/4 to 1/3rd of the original bag.   Heck you are paying for mostly air on a store bought loaf.

I’ll get off my little pony of “I told you so” and let you think about this stuff. I’m disabled, on a limited income and look at all I have accomplished in two years of this blog. No, it has not always been easy sometimes it’s been very hard, But looking back I can say it’s been worth it all and when I get the wood stove and wood this summer and if those little goombas known as the PTBs give me another year or two I’ll be nearly off the grid and start paying off my home.

 

 

13 Responses to Still working on this GUT feeling of 4 months

  1. Wow, Jamie, you’ve done your homework and I appreciate all that you have shared on your blog. I read but don’t always comment. I must say that I really like how you are simple and to the point. You also turned me on to Cash N Carry, so thank you for your tips on their sales. Keep prepping, everyone!

  2. Jamie says:

    Thank you “simple” for comments, I love hearing how I have helped folks and I live for comments. C&C rocks as a prepper shopping spot and I’m glad others can take advantage of the sales.
    I wish I could pin down this have 4 months of stuff on hand cause I think it is important but logically, I can’t pin it down. I’ve been chasing it around in my brain for about a month and I still can’t make the connection. I think it is incredibly important and can not for the life of me say why it is important. That bothers me a lot. I can usually point at history or cycles or other crap but this having 4 months of stuff hounds me and I can’t even say it’s the next upcoming 4 months. It’s a very strange feeling. As I tend to be a very logical almost anal-retentive person and over analyze everything. This feeling makes no sense I can explain, but it is as real to me as 2+2=4

  3. Karen says:

    Go with your gut Jamie! I’m also working on getting a wood stove and wood. It’s a pretty spendy thing to acquire and set up, but I worry about heating our home-probably because not long ago I heard an interview of J.W. Rawles and he kept mentioning how a large # of people will freeze to death in a SHTF scenario.!!

  4. Jamie says:

    Keren, you are right it can cost putting in the stove. That’s why I’m breaking it aprt over several months. The mill ends is a cheap way to get almost 10 cords of wood though the boards do burn hot and fast. After I get it all done I’m going to try and get some apple and cherry wood trimmings this fall to add some hardwood that burns slower.

  5. denimflyz says:

    I am in the same mode, from now until election, which my gut tells me we are in for a storm, and I do not like the feeling I have about it, it is making me restless and worrysome about what is/possible coming down the pike.
    I am trying to add to my pantry and other needs. Me also, being disabled and have to watch every penny, I buy as I can. We are not blessed with Cash and Carry’s or other places, only Wally, and I can’t stand or navigate through Wally, so I keep my eyes open on Walgreens, and our dollar stores here, they can come up with things that you can afford and stash away.
    My next purchases are for my medical kits, and trying to get my needed medications. I worry as I need thyroid, like Synthroid, and I cannot get good access to more. I would like to carry a year supply, but my doc won’t let me. I cannot find anyone to let me get more to keep on hand. This is one thing that keeps me worried, as I need the thyroid as I do not have one.
    Keep writing good posts, Jamie.
    Hold Fast

  6. SciFiChick says:

    I’ve been feeling the urgency to “get ready” as well. I don’t know what’s in our future but I cannot see it being good. Things are getting really wild and personally I don’t think we can get ready enough fast enough. Buckle up Friends and PREP ON!!!

  7. Jamie says:

    denim Cash & Carry is affiliated with Restaurant Depot
    http://www.restaurantdepot.com/locations You might check and see if they have a store close by you. I hate wallyworld too. You might google for Food Service supplier and see if there is a restaurant supplier local to you.
    I like Walgreens for some stuff and my Mom likes several of the Walgreen generic labled stuff. Do you have Family Dollar close to you. They have some good buys and I think their Dishwasher soap is as good as cascade but over a dollar cheaper per box. I got some great buys for undies, socks and sweatpants as well as some xmas gifts at Family Dollar last year.

    Sci, I know that general feeling that a lot of preppers go through.
    If it happens I’ll be ready….
    Oh crap it’s going to happen…..
    Let’s keep the bank account empty and as much cash on just in case there is a bank run this weekend……
    I’m at peace now “let the crash come” as I’m as ready as I can be….

    I think I’m on the last stage one of being at peace though I’m still working on my goals.

    • denimflyz says:

      Hi Jamie,
      Yes I have been getting large amounts of things at our local cafe supplier. I am going to have to order the storage buckets from Amazon and the mylar liners though. Its hard to find the food grade buckets around here as I think there are some who are coming aboard and doing stealth storing around here and not telling anyone, at all. You do say anything to anyone here, the old Navy saying, “loose lips sink ships” is very active around here.
      We have several dollar stores and I have gotten lots of things there also. I am just adding to my pantry and stocks as my gut feelings are almost too much, so I do as I can afford it each month.
      I am also starting to get medical supplies, and just things for the medical kit. I have a storage container for those. I do have a question, Jamie? When you store medical supplies in containers, do you use a food grade bucket, or can you just use the storage containers? Do you need to put an oxygen absorber in with the supplies, especially with bandages and things like that?
      Hold Fast my friend

      • Jamie says:

        On the med supplies I just leave them in the original container and I have some stored on a shelf and some in a metal footlocker. I don’t do anything special to store them. I also live in desert/dry part of the state so if you have a humidity problem put a small cloth bag of rice in your storage containor and the rice will absorb the moisture.

  8. riverrider says:

    jamie, “news” this morning is about greece getting out of the eu, just as predicted. look for run on the banks over there, the dollar getting better over here before tanking. a lot of sheeple will rejoice thinking good times are back, and wake up to hyperinflation. four months- might be about how long it takes…..i’d go for more though. we stock about 4 years of food, n a year or so of others. the 4 years of course will only last 2 at best due to no prepping moocher family. if fema camps open they can go there until theres no food there,then i’ll feed them. they should have to suffer a bit for not listening to us before we let them in 🙂 take care, and get more food for sasha. keep her fed and she’ll keep you safe.

  9. riverrider says:

    its a damn shame all us preppers are so independent that we can’t get together n form our own little safe zone. i’d be honored to share the zone with you jamie. drive on.

  10. Jamie says:

    river, I got a few of years worth of the longterm bulk goods. This 4 month thing seems to be about the short term stuff and to be able not to go to the store/shopping for at least four months. Or if water got cut off or the rolling blackouts because of the new EPA rules shutting down coal fire electric plants. Which will make things hard on the folks in the Mid-west and east coast. Idaho get’s most of it’s electricity via Hydropower.
    I’m doing up a few more of the charity buckets, but unless it’s a very shorterm emergency all it will do is give them enough to get to the FEMA camp as I will not support the “MOOCHERS”. I’m still getting some more junk silver for an alternate currency to the dollar and Sasha will be getting quite a bit of feed this next check!

    • riverrider says:

      good job, never know when sasha’s favorite won’t be imported. several times over the years the gov has blocked it or held it in customs for months,even years….the epa is making it MUCH harder to get the coal out of the ground AND to the buyer. they want regulatory power over “coal dust” which besides being produced in digging coal, leaves a visible cloud as it goes by on the train. they will never stop until we all die a frozen and starving death.sic semper tyrannus.

