The survival resume or I’m coming to your house

http://thelizardfarmer.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/the-wave-bugging-out-some-things-to-think-about/   Please read it I’ll wait.

What if you had to interview for a place at a bugout spot? What if you were the person doing the interview? What would a good resume  look like for taking someone in or talking your way into someone’s  BOL?  This a mental exercise for you to do and see what you would have to offer or evaluate another person value to your Bugout.

I don’t have a bugout location yet so I would have to apply for entrance to a BOL.  I do have a big strike against me being handicap, physical labor will be my weak point when everything will take more labor!  I was in the Army for 13 years and besides signal communication I have been a Unit Armor(small arms repair up to a .50 cal.), Field Sanitation NCO,  NBC (Nuclear, Biological & Chemical) NCO,  Combat Lifesaver and Master driver trainer( Taught folks to drive up to Semi-sized wheeled vehicles, No tracks though, Darn it!).  These are jobs I have done not just read about in a book.  I worked food service for 7 years and did everything from cook and serve small catered events of 15 people,  to planning all the food and costs for banquets of 500 people as well as help serve over 4000 people.

In My BOV I have about 30+ days of food, 4 firearms and 1500 rounds of ammo. I should be able to have around 30 days of water with a little warning plus two filters, A 5 kw generator and 40 watts of solar panels,  CB Radio, Extra cans of Fix a flat as well as Slime for tires. A few hand tools, water filters,  First aid bag and OTC medicines.  My RV is an old 1976 Ford 460 so it will probably survive EMP with a few replacement parts at the worst. I also have a back up BOV in my adult trike. We would have to downsize a lot but 21 days away from home base is doable for me and the pets.

I can bake and cook from scratch in a dutch oven, solar oven and over an Open flame. I can make beer, and smoke, salt and dry meats. I know how to can both veggies and meats. I can butcher small animals and know how to properly cut up meat from larger animals. I can sharpen knives by hand and I know how to reload and cast lead bullets.

I can patch clothing by hand and have over 30 yards  of cloth from 100% cotton to light weight canvas.  I can spin wool or fur, and I think I could spin hair from the tail and mane of a horse to make light weight rope or twine.

I prepared but I had to leave my home. I can show you the way there and we could go see if anything still exist because I stored ….

I’m not trying to gloat I really hope I’m totally wrong on the economy and things will get better. I won’t change what I do because the things that I have learned and do make my day to day life better if not always easier. I look at this and I’m pretty darn awesome even with my handicap of all I have learned as well as done. Probably nothing that would get me hired by a Fortune 500 company.  My basic first aid and medical supplies I have stored would give me a pretty good shot at being taken in. Having a good 60 days of food would not make me an immediate drain on the community resources. Having some guns and ammo makes me capable of standing watch and being able to cook/bake and garden makes me a good resource for sustaining the community. I could set up a couple of printers and PC/laptops/tablet wi fi networks as well as  my stored paper and become a little communication/library center. If the computers go down I have plenty of paper, pencils and books.

I know it does sound a little mercenary but anyone trying to survive does not need folks that are a dead weight that simply uses resources and has nothing to contribute to make life better for the tribe/clan.  All to often I see folks that think an equitable relationship is they take and you give, I’ve seen it in my own family!

What does your survival resume look like?

12 Responses to The survival resume or I’m coming to your house

  1. Craig Cavanaugh says:

    I reckon mine looks pretty good!

    • Jamie says:

      Craig I believe you are correct, but I ‘d never survive a summer in Texas and I don’t know if you could survive winter in Idaho!

  2. Teresa Sue says:

    Mine isn’t as good as I want it, but I keep working on it.
    How’ve ya been?
    Miss Violet

    • Jamie says:

      TS I’m not sure about all C&C stores but mine in S. Idaho sells Mesquite lump charcoal for $11.00-14.00 per 40 pound bag. It’s a good product and very easy to maintain temps for both smoking and BBQ

      • Teresa Sue says:

        You know, I just heard about that last week. There’s a c&c store in the Spokanistan valley. I’ll be checking it out. Thanks.

  3. Jamie says:

    TS, heck I didn’t think mine was all that good until I started writing out all I’ve learned. Actually I think most of us tend to sell ourselves a bit short, “pride goeth before the fall” and all that sort of nonsense. There is a thing of false modesty I think a lot of westerners have, We aren’t braggarts unless in a bar or telling fishing or hunting lies and then it’s part of a story!

    Actually I’m doing good the drugs are kicking in slowly, I got my little electric power pak and ordered another 15 gallon water barrel, I’ll pick up on the 1st of Aug. The docs at the VA say I’m normal. HA!
    Mom is inpatient on how she has recovered from knee replacement but we are both still walking 4-5 miles a day as battered as we are. So overall not to bad. If it was easy everyone would play.
    But Mom got the Survival Mom book and she is starting to feel a little more confident in her preps instead of panic and trying to buy everything at once.
    She’s worried about the kids being idiots not prepping and fearing them as well for not prepping. I understand her feelings, but I’m not a Mom so I know the feeling is different.. I think I saw a thing that said” Being a parent was wanting to hug and strangle your child at the same time”. I think that is where Mom is at! Of course I don’t have kids so that feeling may be happening all the time and I don’t get it!
    I’m afraid I did let my disdain show through when my sister called me and started talking about the east coast getting hit by a wind storm. She said they were poor and incapable of getting anything because they are on a fixed income. I called BS as I’m on a fixed income and I some what ready for any disaster.

  4. riverrider says:

    awesome j, you’d be welcome and highly valued in my “compound” any day! i look at folks as assets or liabilities. son in law, liability. army buddy, asset.

    • Jamie says:

      thanks river, while what I have ain’t much the neighborhood block is full of good folks. Not exactly preppers, kind of big food growers and libetaria/hippy’s grow organic types.
      Idaho attracts and odd bunch, from militia types to organic hippy types.
      I’ve got a great nieghborhood, 2 people that work in nuseries 1 organic and 1 that is a little less than organic. A hunter, A mexican family that works hard to give the kids a good solid start on life. I think they work mostly with animals and not in the fields. One gal that grows so much as she classifies her yard by color and not plants.
      I have an aunt that does beautiful work sewing and making
      stuff. With a little organizing these are solid people and they are good. I just worry about me being less than 6 blocks from the rail yards and if a tanker of chemicals spills I will have to leave in a hurry. The trains run through town pretty slow but it can happen. I need to get some more N95 masks.

      • riverrider says:

        j, n95’s aren’t going to help in a real chemical spill. you need a real respirator type mask or better yet, an isreali gas mask, and tyvek suits. both are pretty cheap if you hunt around, and i know you will 🙂 your hood sounds a lot like mine.the outage revealed who was ready and who wasn’t, as well as what kind of folks we are, as in taking care of ourselves and others. glad you’re in a good place too. take care.

  5. […] over at Jamie’s place yesterday and read an article that got my brain to spinning a tad.  There are many of us out here, that are of right mind to […]

  6. Jamie says:

    river, you are correct but the advantage is a good n95 mask is cheap and I can get quite a few for the cost of 1 good respirator. Good for having in case someone gets sick and stocking up the sickroom supplies.
    I ‘m basing this from a high probability event (someone get’s sick) To low probability (train derailment of Dangerous chemicals) Buy stuff for High probability first and get the low probability event items when I have the money later.

