Still doing a bit of shopping

Mom and I decided against the 100 gallon storage gas tank for a couple of reasons.  If you need to GOOD a few 5 gallon cans will be a lot easier to load up and scoot quickly.  Cans are better for filling a portable generator and handing out a single can of gas seems less likely to call attention to one self.  Last but not least we have  projects we are trying to accomplish and we would have to get into the “stash” to make this purchase.  I still like the idea but it just does not make sense for us to go out on a limb to get the tank at this time.

Paul’s is doing the case lot sale for another week and changed up a few items on sale that I really want to have on hand.  A big one is the Hunt’s pasta sauces that I like so well.  A case(12) of 24 oz. cans for $10.00 for a great multi-tasker for a quick meal by adding pasta and I think the  Zesty version would make a good red pizza sauce.  They also have a bone-in  pork sirloin roast for $1.18 a pound that would fit in my freezer nicely along with butter $1.67 per pound and gallon of whole milk for $1.88. For about $30.00 I can add some good food items for my long term preserving ideas.

I picked up 50 pounds of wheat grains but the farm store was out of 55 gallon metal drums. Mom got a bit of 380 ammo as that was it as far as pistol ammo and a bit of 7mm-08 for rifles.  They still had quite a bit of shotgun ammo but the store has no clue when they will get ammo in again.  I think Idaho was slow to panic buy and it’s just starting to hit folks that all the cheap ammo has been bought up in other places and the stores are having a tough time trying to restock.  Ammo is available it’s just kind of expensive.  I think folks are like me waiting for the panic buying to slow down and the prices come down before they do much ammo buying as they have a bit of a stockpile already on hand.  I’m glad I got my little air rifle to practice fundamentals of shooting now I’m looking for an air pistol or two and some little targets to set up a small range for myself at home.

I have been making a lot more of the no-knead artisan bread. It is easy and convenient to mix up a batch at the start of the week and then have a loaf  of  home made bread in about an hour and fifteen minutes.  I know some folks like the soft white breads you can get at the mega mart but I prefer my chewy and more substantial home made bread. If you have seen the price of artisan breads at the store you can save a lot of money just by baking it at home.

The second water barrel arrived today so I can move my rigid barrel to the front yard and start my daisy chained rain water collectors on the north side of the house.  Since the neighbors cleaned  up the front beds I’m going to start some cool weather plants. I got some beautiful multi-color kale seeds and some other leafy plants and I want to try out growing some potatoes in burlap bags to see how that works out. I found a neat little booklet for creating a small country meadow type habitat/garden I’d like to do in the front yard with a small pond. But I’m still working on the water feature to make sure it does not become a mosquito breeding ground. I’m going all solar for any power needs for the yard so that adds to the start up price as well as the planning.  A few fish and a solar powered pump should do the trick for a nice little garden spot.

I know I get frightened sometimes because what is happening is scary. But you have to go on and try to make things a little better everytime you get a chance. Don’t be afraid to commit random acts of kindness and senseless beauty. Plant some roses and buttercups or whatever flowers you like along with your gardens.  Just because they are happy flowers and can brighten your day.

4 Responses to Still doing a bit of shopping

  1. Queen Bee says:

    “I know I get frightened sometimes because what is happening is scary. But you have to go on and try to make things a little better everytime you get a chance. Don’t be afraid to commit random acts of kindness and senseless beauty. Plant some roses and buttercups or whatever flowers you like along with your gardens.”

    I agree Jamie. I have decided that while I understand the situation we live under in our country, I am not going to allow it to follow me about like a cloud of doom and despair.

    Man, that is a great price on butter! Wish I was closer, I’d stock up. 😉

  2. Jamie says:

    QB, I’m trying to get a few pounds of butter stocked in the freezer once I get six pounds on hand I’ll can it.

  3. Beth says:

    So happy to have stumbled across your blog today. It will take me a while to read it all, but it will be worth it. I too am stocking up waiting for the crash that will happen. To me, it already is, just most haven’t felt the impact of it, yet. Two years ago we doubled the size of our garden and kept our seeds and freeze them for use the following year. I had noticed how gmo seeds hit the market several years ago and I had horrible results with them. I wasn’t paying close attention to a lot that was going on then. We have also built a huge storage shelf in my garage for stock piling items such as beans, rice, water etc. I just recently acquired 50 lbs of potatoes (for $5) and have been dehydrating like mad and putting them in mason jars for later use. I process some of them into powder too for soups and thickeners. My next big adventure will be to dehydrate tomatoes so I can make tomato powder. I’ve read that tomato powder can last up to 10 years. I will definitely have jars of this on hand. I get a lot of funny looks from folks when they see my food storage, but they are the ones that will not be prepared when the shtf~good luck to you. I look forward to reading your blog. Pop on over to mine sometime. It’s a little different from yours. I am in the process of healing myself from all the toxins that have been put in my body over the years (food, water etc) and learning how to be sustainable.

