Woodstove install scheduled Sept. 10th

Huzzah!  I’m so excited we have locked down a date. The guys doing the installation think they will be able to get it done in a day.  I think it helped to be flexible on where the stove could be installed with an older home you it’s cheaper to work with how the home is constructed rather than be rigid and have to add a lot “adjustments” to make it work.  I have been moving the furniture around to try and balance out the room along with having the stove as a focal point.  It’s a small living room and my furniture is kind of big so it is going to be a little busy, but since moving the furniture I think it will actually work out and look very cozy.

Since I was moving the furniture I figure I should go ahead and get the carpet scrubbed and walls washed.  Thankfully while furniture is  big it is easy to move around. Some bad news it looks like my steam cleaner is slightly broken, the upholstery attachment works but the main sprayer for doing floors looks like it’s broke and will stay broke.  Can’t complain I have had it for 10 years and bought it cheap as a refurbish model.  Mom will let me borrow her steam cleaner this weekend and I can finish up the carpets.  The good news is I found a couple of good cleaners for my walls.

I am a smoker and there will be smoke deposits and your walls will get discolored if you don’t wash them down regularly. Needless to say washing my walls has not been a high priority and they are dirty.  For the last couple of weeks I have been trying out different cleaners to get all the tobacco stains off and none have done a very good job. Today I tried a cleaning recipe on my bottle of sudsy Ammonia that is a 1/2 cup of Ammonia, 1/2 cup of vinegar and a 1/4 of baking soda in a gallon of water.  Using a soft bristle scrub brush and then wipe with a sponge this does a great job on getting rid of the stains. The ammonia and vinegar smell  almost cancel each other out. But there is still a bit of an odd odor to me.  I stopped by Fred Meyers to pick up some rug shampoo and there was a sale person that recommended a product called  Folex that was on sale and the bottle says it is good for washing walls as well as carpets so I tried it on the walls and it worked great and no smell. I tried a little of the Folex on some doggie stains and it worked great on those stains so I think it will do a good job cleaning the rest of my carpets.

Having some multi-taskers for cleaning is one of my little goals. I hope there will be a jug  of Folex left at Freddy’s this weekend so I can grab another for the pantry. At worse I know I can clean my walls with the ammonia/vinegar mix that works and I can stock up on bit more on those cheap items for the pantry. I think having a clean home is very important to preparing and self-reliance and it is amazing how you can make so many great cleaners at home with just some basic ingredients and the homemade cleaners often work as good or better than some of the specialty cleaners that are so expensive to buy in the stores.  It seems whenever I find a cleaner I really like it will either be discontinued or It will be “improved” to the point I hate it or it doesn’t work!

Update on the the new toilet paper from Albertson’s called Fiora. I got the two ply version though it is a bit on the thin side it is quite strong. Not quite as soft and thick as the Everyday Essentials but overall a good buy for $3.99 for 12 Double rolls. I’ll see if I can pick up the 3 ply version this weekend and give you a report.

6 Responses to Woodstove install scheduled Sept. 10th

  1. Spud says:

    I too am a smoker as is my wife also. We have found a very good method to keep our house smelling good for guests who don’t smoke and keep the walls clean.
    We step outside on the patio…works very well. lol

    • Jamie says:

      Spud, I’m not doing that, but since I started using a mild pipe tobacco and rolling my own I have had several people remark it is less irritating than cigarette tobacco and it is a lot cheaper.

  2. riverrider says:

    j, congrats on the wood stove install!

  3. kymber says:

    jamie – i have just caught up on all of your recent posts – holy moly gurl – you sure are getting a lot done! i am so glad that you will be getting your stove installed – woohoo! a friend of ours has a stove that he is giving us – we probably won’t get it installed until late november/early december. we have a ton of trees on our land but none of it is hardwood – so we will try burning some of the downed, seasoned trees to see if it is worth the effort. if not, we will buy the wood. i am also a smoker. we bought an air purifier thingy that works up to 1,000sq ft (our house is only 600) and we run it about once a month or so. it doesn’t use much electricity and no one believes that i smoke in the house!!! we use combinations of vinegar, baking soda, etc. to clean the house. your post has reminded me that it is time to start the fall cleaning…you would think that with such a small house that it would be an easy job. but ack! i hate fall and spring cleaning – bahahahahah! can’t wait to hear about when you get your stove set up – congrats girl!

    your friend,
    kymber

    • Jamie says:

      kymber, I think a small home can take the same amount of time or more because you don’t have space to move stuff out of the way. I can do a room at a time you probably have to do the whole house on the big cleaning jobs.
      I have been looking for an air purifier but I haven’t seen any for the right price. Having the wood stove will make it a must buy for the house.
      Getting your stove is great news! Depending on how big it is and your burn time might be okay even with soft wood. I can get up in a cool house and get a fire started as long as I get at least a 5-6 hour burn time over night my house is well insulated so it should stay warm for a few hours after fire goes out.

  4. Congrats on the stove! Check that one off the bucket list.

