Playing around with the wood stove. UPDATED

I thought I had most everything covered when I made the wood stove a goal for the year. Overall I did good with big items such as the stove itself and getting the wood but a few little items have cropped up.  I thought I’d share a few of the of the lessons I have learned so far on this little adventure.

Wood stoves are more work than you think!  I had a plan for the wood  I bought to be much shorter in length. I will end up cutting nearly all the wood compared to what I had planned on it being mostly shorter pieces of wood. When you get into the actual cutting it takes time and effort and there are a few safety considerations as well especially if you are using power tools.  Dad gave me his old table saw when I moved into the house and I think it’s a good one but I never used a table saw before and the saw seems to be snatching the wood away from me.  I think the blade needs to be replaced and I should get a block of instruction before using it again. Dad is working right now so my main teacher is busy and I still need to cut some wood. I could use the electric chain saw but it isn’t the right tool for the cutting this wood.

I stopped by my favorite little pawn shop to see what they had and I picked up a heavy duty Black and Decker circular saw. I like that it doesn’t have 6 different buttons to push “for safety”. Heck I believe all those dang safety buttons and levers make the saw harder to use and less safe over all.  I set up a board to be a guide for the correct length and started doing some cutting.  I did  30- 45 minutes worth of cutting to get about what I hope is about two days worth of wood for the stove.  The circular saw did great though it is a bit on the heavy side I could let the weight work for me. I’m using the big party buckets for the cut wood and it worked out great having them catch the wood as I cut it. So far this is a good solution and I added a circular saw to my tool box.

I don’t have a fireplace tool set for the stove, but I can clean the ashes once they are cold with my little shop vac. I  will need a metal can to hold the ashes just in case any embers are present when I start using the stove everyday.  So far the wood seems to be burning cleanly and is not generating a lot of ash but better to be safe than sorry.  I found a Carbon Monoxide detector on Amazon that uses AA batteries and has a low battery warning light as well as sound. I can live with using batteries only as I have rechargables on hand. The detector has a good rating and is only $12.75 with shipping so I can afford to get 2. Once I find a good deal on a detector, electric with battery backup the battery only models can go into the RV and or handed out to a family member with the Mr. Buddy heater.

While I hope to use the wood stove exclusively for heat this winter I still have the big central heater. If I can’t get wood cut or have a couple of bad days with my CIDP I can stay warm.

Update:  Dad stopped by to look at the table saw and give me a block of instructions. There was a few small problems with the settings and how I was cutting the wood. Everything looks and works good now and I should be able to get all my Party buckets filled so I can go a few days without cutting wood.

9 Responses to Playing around with the wood stove. UPDATED

  1. Gill says:

    I have been cutting wood and using wood for heat for many years, it is a really good way to warm an area quickly. I use a chain saw as I heat only with wood and need a lot but I also have what they call a buck saw which is a frame with a thin blade stretched between the ends(the new saw blades are from china and are not worth buying, old rusty ones will clean up and sharpen). Anyway it sounds like you might do well to get or make one of those along with a saw buck which is 3 X shaped pieces of wood fastened together so you can lay your log or piece of wood in and use the hand saw or a chain saw. All this stuff is online but you may think up something to fit your needs. Be real careful with the chimney, I put flexible stainless steel in mine and insulated the tube so that cresote doesn’t build up. A lot of times towns will give downed trees away to people who need them to burn, check that out rather than buying, just don’t burn pine. Make a stove shovel out of some old flat metal and a piece of pipe, it might mess up a vacuum.
    I don’t like those electric saws, seem dangerous to me.

    • Jamie says:

      Gill, those are good ideas. I use electric saws because of my disability but I have a couple of hand saws for backup.
      I didn’t use the old chimney but went with a new triple wall pipe installation.
      Kind of hard not to use pine out here in Idaho as that is what we got for trees. At least my wood is dry for burning. I’ll be pricing wood in the spring and look for more hardwoods and get my wood early so it can season. I have a great area for storing my wood under cover but open so that the wood gets plenty of air for drying out.

  2. Rob In His Bunker says:

    Jamie, when you go to use the shop vac be sure that the ash dust doesn’t blow back out with the exhaust. I am sure you know that but that popped into my head when I read your post.

  3. I have to cut the wood I buy into two pieces for the stove. I use a chain saw to do it.

    Watch those ashes. I set the porch on fire one time when I set a tin bucket full of “cold” ashes out on the porch and they were a lot hotter than I thought. Burnt a ring into the wood of the porch where the bucket was sitting.

    Whoever said don’t use pine was right. Even dry that stuff will creosote the hell out of your chimney. Maybe you will have to this winter, as you are just starting up, but hard wood is the ticket next winter.

    As always, I remain impressed by what you have accomplished.

    • Jamie says:

      Harry, I got a concrete slab for my patio to set the ashes on.
      I’m a amazed myself how much I have been able to do this year. A few things got moved around and priorities changed but overall it’s been a very productive year.

  4. Spud says:

    Jamie, If the table saw is snatching the wood from you…most likely you’re feeding the wood from the wrong side. Make sure the blade is turning toward you.

    • Jamie says:

      Spud That’s what I thought but the blade is snatching both ways I tried using it. I’ll wait until Dad can give me a block of instruction. The setting may be wrong on the machine for what I’m doing or the blade may need changed.
      The little B & D saw is working great so I can keep cutting until Dad check the table saw.

  5. riverrider says:

    wood heats you several times. once when you cut it,again when you split it and stack it, when you bring it in, and when you burn it.some say again when you clean up after it.thats a lot of heat from one little ol’ piece of wood.

