Repairing tires and cutting wood.

Finally got in the shop to cut up some extra wood with the table saw.  I had to air up the tires on my little garden cart in order to get the wood in the shop. Not a big deal I have a nice little electric air compressor that the job quickly.  It reminded me I need to stock up on “Slime”.  You often see “Slime” in the bike department since it will seal your tires against punctures. I have never used “Slime” but my neighbor that rebuilds old bikes and stuff thinks it is a good product.  I have several cans of “Fix-a-Flat” for the van and RV but I have not stocked up on the things to repair tires for my bike, garden cart or my wheel barrow tires.  Les Schwab now carries all kinds of solid tires including tires for a bike. I haven’t checked out the cost of the solid tires yet, but having some way to repair tires of the cart, bike and wheelbarrow around the house would be a great investment.  My budget is has already been planned out and I don’t think I can squeeze money from  anywhere to afford the  solid tires. But I can afford a couple of cans of “Slime”.  I’ll look at solid tire as a goal in 2014.

Any how back to cutting up the wood.  The table saw worked out great and I managed to get three of the big 18 gallon/ 2.5 bushel “party buckets” filled in about 30 minutes of cutting. I was getting a little weak and tired cutting the wood for the third bucket so it was a good place to stop and call it a day.  I don’t want to play with power equipment when my body says it has done enough.  Especially tools that can inflict major bodily damage in a heart beat. You need to learn your own physical and mental limits as you prep. Working as safely as possible at all times can save you from pain and the cost of an emergency room visit.  A cut, bruise or sliver isn’t a big deal. Loping off body parts is a bit more practice of my first aid skills than I want to try out!

I hope that I can heat the house with one or two buckets every 24 hours.  I won’t know how much wood I need per day until I use the stove everyday for heat.  Here in the valley it’s been about the mid fifties for a high so it’s mild compared to winter when it gets below zero.  Heck it took four days of 40’s at night before the house temp dropped below 65.  I want to try doing the beer brewing on the wood stove this week and a little homemade oven that is modified from camping to bake over an open fire.  If those work out I should be able to do a lot of my cooking and baking on the wood stove and add another alternate energy source  for cooking that I control.

6 Responses to Repairing tires and cutting wood.

  1. anonymous says:

    For me, the no-flat option for a WHEELBARROW makes a lot of sense, a whole lot of tasks require moving stuff from HERE to THERE. A wheelbarrow helps you do that. I selected the steel framed model for this for long term use – I think it was a Kobalt ?

    A yoke with a pair of rope tied 5 gallon buckets sounds to me like a distant 2nd choice – Oy Vey my back!

    • Jamie says:

      annon, I love my little garden cart. It makes many jobs a lot easier and my adult trike is my backup vehicle so having the tires ready for anything is kind of important.

  2. You were wise to knock off. Most accidents occur when you are tired, or when something distracts you.

    • anonymous says:

      I agree with those comments- that Gatorade commercial ‘Just One More’ makes me shudder. When I was younger and much more stupid, I was doing stomach crunches and pushed it just like the commercial – can you say hernia ? I couldn’t straighten up for several minutes and the pain shot stars out of my eyes.

      I’m 50 now and realize I am not the same guy I was 30 years ago. When I get REALLY tired, I back off. The work never ends – finish one thing, something crops up. So pacing yourself does make sense, especially when medical care may be non existent.

    • Jamie says:

      Harry: I’m not wise very often, but screwing around with power equipment when mentally or physically tired if you have a choice is just a bad idea for me.

