Getting ready for the Big Shutdown

I’m making up some of my wheat beer doing a little more of letting the mash set without heat and it is just a bit slower on conversion than having the heat applied but since it doesn’t cost anything but time I’m good with letting the pots sit an extra 15 minutes. I kind of screwed up the wheat porter has low alcohol content.  I think it’s because the beer is almost black I screwed up the iodine test. My little taste test before carbonation is promising so I will add a little more time to the mash and make sure all the sugars get converted.

I got a call from the Beer Lady that she had 20 of the green flip top bottles in. I didn’t think I could afford to buy them but Mom gave me my birthday present of $20.00 a little early so I bought the bottles. I like using the flip top bottles because I save on bottle caps and it makes bottling the beer fast and easy.  I get the green bottles for a dollar each compared to a $1.75 for a new bottle.  I now have five cases each of the flip top bottles and 12 oz. regular bottles. That gives my some extra flexibility on how I bottle.  The Beer Lady has another 15 gallon blue food safe barrel that should be ready for pickup next week. Mom wants another barrel for her place. She is on a well but if the power goes out there is no water!

I got to use my wood stove over the weekend. It was the first time lighting the fire in the morning so I could monitor how the stove worked throughout the day.  At about 8:30 am I fired up the stove and ran it till about noon and let the fire go out. The wood stove was to hot to touch as late as 5:00 pm and it radiates the heat a long time once the fire brick soaks up the heat.  It doesn’t look like the wood I got will burn overnight but that may not be a problem as well insulated as my home is and how long the stove holds the heat. I found an ad for apple wood for $100.00 a cord.  At that price I imagine it is green but it’s a great price for a cord of hardwood and if my checks keep coming I could get a start on next year’s wood pile. I have eyeballed the chimney several times to see if the spark arrestor is sooting up and for any smoke and the only thing I see is just a slight heat wave distortion. I can’t see or smell any woodsmoke at all.

I have to say that September was busy and just a little crazy around here but it sure feels good that I got everything ready for winter a little early.  Mom got all her heating fuel paid for and delivered so she and Dad are set for winter.  Overall I think I’m in good shape to handle any minor little disasters that might come along.

11 Responses to Getting ready for the Big Shutdown

  1. Spud says:

    That’s a great price for Apple wood ! Probably never see that price again…Your scrap pine isn’t going to last long and won’t hold a fire all night . One trick I used to use when I lived out there was to throw a large lump of coal in with the wood. Made the wood last a lot longer.

    • Jamie says:

      Spud, I’ll give Apple wood guys a call they are in Payette so I need to find out all the details. I remember as a teenager we used to buy 50 pound bags of coal for an old furnance. I’ll check and see if they still sell it that way.

  2. Rob In His Bunker says:

    You are way ahead of the curve more then even some federal employees. I saw a couple on the news both work for USG and they where whining about pay, food, fuel etc. Living paycheck to paycheck. While we have some food storage for the next 3 or 4 weeks, they had almost nothing. So sad, but true.

    • Jamie says:

      Rob, I have seen those stories too. It’s scary how close to the edge people live.
      Congrats on your food storage. You have made a lot of progress in a short time!

  3. dee says:

    These kinds of actions are one of the examples that preparedness is for.

  4. Dannyboy53 says:

    Sounds like you got it going on Jamie! I’m glad to hear the wood stove is working out for you, we really enjoy ours. What’s really nice is when you cook some breakfast and heat up a cup of coffee on it. Sit back, put your feet up near it and enjoy!

  5. I put wood in my stove before I go to bed, and turn down the air intake so it just burns as coals. Will your stove adjust like that?

    • Jamie says:

      Harry the stove will do that, the problem is the wood burns hot and fast. What I need to do is buy some hardwood and then I would have a good mix of wood. Once the shutdown/debt ceiling thing is fixed and I’m sure I’ll get my checks I’ll get some hardwood to add to my wood pile.

  6. Dannyboy53 says:

    Jamie once you are able to get some hardwood and get used to adjusting the damper’ depending on the size of the box and how much wood you put in it should burn most of the night if not all night.

    With ours, it’s still hot when we get up in the morning though most of the wood is burned up. It takes very little effort to get a fire going again.

  7. riverrider says:

    j, is it just me, or is there a perfect storm brewing? i know by law the govt can’t default but when has osama let the law get in his way. i believe he wants the default and resulting crash. unfortunately the idiot thinks he will live thru it. if the truckers hold to their guns, the store shelves should be empty by monday. takes a few days to restock.

    • Jamie says:

      river, That is what has be the most fearful about Obama. Whatever Obama’s end goal is, he seems surprised when people defy him. Since he believes he is the smartest person and only wants to create a “Utopia” he will punish that defiance because those people must be evil to oppose him and Utopia.

      The debacle of Syria was very eye opening to me. Obama seemed quite angry that the conservatives would not support bombing the crap out of Syria (Brown People) and the liberal left would not support him attacking and “Outlaw” regime using chemical weapons. (ala Wilson)

