EBT cut coming on Nov. 1st Every body panic!!!

I live on fixed income so I know that even a small amount of money can have a big effect on your budget. While I don’t get EBT I have often dealt with rising cost and taxes and the PTBs always say it’s just five or ten dollars what’s the problem? Well the problem is I keep getting five or ten dollars to death and that amount of money is a much higher percentage of my income compared to the average american.  So I do understand that what seems like minor cut can have a noticable effect on your budget. Add food inflation at the local mega mart and over time it does make a difference.  I’m not going to rehash all the ways you can save money on your food bill. I got pages for that, what I want to talk about is if things go sideways and get ugly.

Nov. 1st will be a terrible day to go shopping simply because of the crowds of shoppers. It’s the first of the month and a Friday many  people that is payday and sad to say all to many people in america are living paycheck to paycheck. Far to many people are close to desperation when they go shopping because they are not planning ahead or make poor choices when they do shop. One huge money saving advantage for my shopping happened after a built up a good supply of the basics for 3-6 months  was I no longer felt desperate if I didn’t go shopping on a certain day. While some folks treat shopping like a full-contact sport and enjoy it. I much prefer having a nearly empty store and a more calm and relaxed approach to shopping. I don’t get into that competitive mindset of grabbing the last item off the shelf or screwing my fellowman out of some product on sale.

The PTBs are really gearing up for people to freak out when the EBT cuts become apparent to people. Some people will be notified that they got cut on the cash register receipt. Not a good way to notify folks if you want calm. Right, wrong or indifferent how would you like to find your boss cut you pay by $36.00 a month and your notification was the ATM or bank statement. I bet you would be a little angry and if you are doing the shopping for the month along with others that are somewhat desperate, angry and annoyed you might find the local store a powder keg ready to explode. It won’t be about the small cut in benefits, it could escalate into the PTBs or whatever bogeyman  want us to starve.

I would not think people would riot over a small cut in EBT. But then again I was surprised when the EBT system went down for a day or two, people seem to think they and their family would starve in a matter of hours. Rather than being mildly inconvenience and they would have to go shopping in a day or two when the system was backup and working.

I normally would not go shopping on the 1st of the month and especially not on a Friday. But I think it is even more critical to not shop on the first or even during the weekend so you avoid the crowds. If you don’t have enough on hand to put off shopping for a couple of days you need to rethink how you shop and having at least 3-7 days buffer period for when you go  grocery shopping. Winter is coming and if a storm hits or the power goes out you don’t want to go with out or out in the storm just to get some basics because it hit during your payday and normal shopping day.

 

8 Responses to EBT cut coming on Nov. 1st Every body panic!!!

  1. LeeAnn says:

    What you said is so true both about avoiding crowds when shopping and having enough food in the house at all times that you do not HAVE to shop.

  2. Phil says:

    I was at a Walmart Super Store at Midnight on a Friday, the 1st here a couple months ago and it was a mad house, in the middle of the night!
    I had a headlight go out on my way home from work and that was the only place open.

    What a zoo.
    I can only imagine what it was like at noon.

    • Jamie says:

      Phil, A lot on EBT start shopping an hour before Midnight on the day the card is filled. Most have run out or on the verge of running out of food so they get a little crazy.

  3. riverrider says:

    j, the letters already went out to notify them to avoid that shock. besides news travels fast in those circles…tptb are negotiating the farm bill now, which includes food stamps. they plan on cutting it further. we never go to the store/dinner before the 10th at least and later is preferred. much more pleasant eating out near the end of the month.

    • Jamie says:

      river, the news I have been reading is some were notified by letter but some will be notified via the balance or the store receipt.

  4. Why is there a cut in your benefits? I thought the politicians got all that stuff worked out?

    • Jamie says:

      Harry, I’m not getting a cut. I beleive this was part of one of the Stimulus package passed earlier and it had an end date just like the payroll tax cut from Jan.2013.

      • Matt says:

        +1 on Jamie’s explanation. The extra $36 a month has expired.

        The government giveth, the government taketh away.

