A visit to the Asian grocery store

I didn’t have a shopping list as I was looking at costs and selection at the new Asian grocery store. Gosh it was fun seeing all the new (to me)  products and they are still putting in more shelves more stuff. I wasn’t complete lost because I have been reading up on Asian cooking and how they use ingredients.  Just the different types of rice and different noodles is staggering. Heck they had canned beef from Australia to big chunks of fresh taro. Korean spices for kim chee and a lot of Thai specialties. The had a lot of frozen meats from Asia but I’m a little concerned about trying some of them until I have little more knowledge, besides I’d much rather make my own if possible.   I did get a small package of rice noodles and a char sui powdered marinate mix.

Rice is such a huge part of most prepper’s food storage, learning how to make a lot of different ethnic meals would help avoid food fatigue. Rice is a staple of 50% of meals world wide so you have a lot of variety you can add to your meals by using different spices and techniques if you are willing to invest the time to learn. Plus many folks in the world tend to use a lot less processed food and use either fresh ingredients or foods that are canned, dried, smoked, pickled or fermented it can help a prepper move away from reliance on a freezer or fridge.

I finished up the last two party buckets of wood. It wasn’t too cold today hovered just above freezing, there was a feeling in the wind that more cold weather is coming this week.  Plenty of motivation to get the wood cut and I hope to get a good stack of the mill ends in the shop for cutting up later this week. Still learning how to use the wood but I think I’m getting on top of it. If I use the mill ends for a hot fast fire to warm the house and then the apple wood for a longer overnight burn I think the wood stove will work well for my heating needs this winter.  I want to get another load of the apple wood with my next check and now that Dad and I did one load it is easy to load the truck and unload it at the house.

I’ve been kicking around the idea of making an small ice house and the box the apple wood comes in would be just about perfect for holding my collapsible rain barrels and I could insulate them with the wood chips/saw dust from cutting the wood.  I have no idea how long the ice could last in 100 degree heat in the summer.  But I would think a couple hundred pounds of ice that is well insulated  might be of some use if the grid goes down. If it melts I will have water for the lawn and garden.  The boxes will also be a form of camouflage if the local PTBs get crazy about using rain rain barrels for water collection.  I will be completely honest in saying I have those boxes for storage!

8 Responses to A visit to the Asian grocery store

  1. You’re going the whole hog, aren’t you? I thought about digging a root cellar but I was pretty sure snakes would get into it.

    I wouldn’t eat anything from Thailand or Malaysia or countries like that if it was in a can and I couldn’t tell what it was. I have eaten monkey on a stick in the Philippines, and dog in Korea (I had to, a liaison officer invited me to his house for dinner and that’s what his wife cooked. You can’t not eat what your host puts on the table, regardless of culture.) But I wouldn’t eat any mystery meat from those places. Japan, ok, but no where else over there.

  2. Jamie says:

    Harry, I figure if you can try going old tech without to much cost, you might as well take a shot at it and see if it can work for you. If the ice house idea fails I still end up with filled and “hidden” rain barrels for the garden.

    I was surprised that a lot of the items are actually out of Hawaii. I’m going for mostly dry goods an spices but some of the stuff from Asia is probably no worse than Monsanto or Tyson. Of course I don’t trust those guys either!

  3. kymber says:

    jamie – back in the city we had access to tons of different asian markets – i loved it! but, alas, here on our island we have one chinese restaurant in the city and trust me – THAT is NOT chinese food – bahahahah! think frozen egg rolls and dinty moore fried rice – bahahhaah! as to the actual items – like Harry, i wouldn’t trust the meat or fish. but the spices and dried goods are reliable. you are an adventurous girl – try out the wasabi peas, the various noodles, and some of the spices – just buy samples of each to see if you like them. asian sticky rice is a little thicker and stickier (hence the name!) than other rices like jasmine and calrose. but sticky rice is delicious especially served with a gravy/sauce-based meat (like bulgogi – yell if you want the recipe! it’s deelish!). in my mind, you can never go wrong with having stockpiles of a variety of rices and spices – you can do so much with them.

    i love your icebox idea! back in the day before fridges and freezers, that’s exactly what people used to keep food fresh like milk and eggs. we are lucky in that our basement is almost fully underground and has just dirt floors so it stays cool down there even in the summer. we keep a lot of root veg down there, like our carrots and potatoes, during the winter and it acts like a cold room. we can keep carrots, potatoes, turnips and cabbages down there from october to april with little spoilage.

    keep us informed on the icebox idea! your friend,
    kymber

    • Jamie says:

      kymber My Mom said her first step for Chinese food was pick up the phone 😉
      I did see jars of bulgogi, but my mission is to make the stuff myself so I would love to have your recipe. I’m getting better at cooking long grain and Calrose rice but I have not cooked any of sweet or the jasmine types yet. I can start off with the smaller bags of other types of rice and get in some practice.

      It’s taking a couple of years to work things out for the ice house idea, mostly finding out what doesn’t work! With the wood stove I’m generating a lot of sawdust and from what I have read about the old Ice houses, saw dust/wood chips were the insulation material most of them used. I will be solving the problem of clean up in the shop and how to use all that sawdust without it just sitting around waiting to catch fire.

  4. The Soffitrat says:

    Have you seen this site yet? They have something about beer in it now.

    http://ncalternativecropsandorganics.blogspot.com/

    • Jamie says:

      rat: Beer making is really catching on as a hobby. It takes time and we will probably see a fall off of popularity when people get bored or tired of the extra effort. Of course that will be the time to hit yard sales and buy all that equipment at a great price.

  5. S.Lynn says:

    Where abouts is this market? Must try it next time I’m in Caldwell.

