Back to work on stuff

I spent last week healing and resting up. The shoulder still twinges a bit when I move it wrong, but it is a lot better than it was last week.  I seemed to be moving into hibernation mode with very long naps so I guess I was even more worn out than even I thought originally.  Any way it’s time to get working again as it is easy to get a bit lazy getting stuff done and just doing the daily chores can pile up quickly if you don’t stay on top of them.

The amber lager that I make with the Zythos hops is brewing on the stove and I got my wheat beer bottled so it can carbonate. I’d like to get a couple more batches done this week but I’m just putting those on the “want” to get done list not the “have” to get done.  I used the wood stove for heating the big stock pots and they got up to 130 degrees F. in about 30-45 minutes with just a small fire going. That is going to work well if I need to use the wood stove to heat water for cleaning up.  The big double burner propane stove will work if I need to boil water in the big pots.  I have plenty of propane tanks on hand from when I was planning to use the Mr. Buddy heater as my backup heat source.

One big advantage of how I prepared is I started off with fairly inexpensive equipment and as I could afford to upgrade the cheaper and smaller stuff became my backups and or trade items.  In a way I started building my backup items first instead of last which is probaly the opposite way most people prepare.  Another big advantage is I have had to use or practice most of my backups so I’m very familiar with them,  rather than trying to find time to practice with a new item or gadget.  There are some great reasons starting off small and inexpensive rather than just spending a lot of money all at once and then figuring out how to use it.

I didn’t cut any wood today but I got a couple of garden cart loads into the shop. I should be able to cut up at least 2 of the party buckets worth of wood without wearing myself out. The apple wood has sort of spoiled me as I don’t have to cut most of it to use it in the stove. I think the apple  made this cold snap a lot easier on me physically than if I had to use just the mill ends. I have had a lot better luck using the embers from the night before to start the fire in the morning.I think a couple more loads of apple wood will see me through the coldest part of winter. The mill ends work great for warming up the house quickly and then I can just use that wood for when it’s cool during spring. The  wood stove is offering a lot of lessons some hard but most have been simple if not always easy.

If you are single never use the whole bag of Bear Creek soup. They aren’t kidding when the package says 8 servings!

4 Responses to Back to work on stuff

  1. Single? That or have a teenage son. 8 servings equals 2 with a teeanager around 🙂

    • Jamie says:

      Pioneer, It is astonding how much food a teenager can go through but teenage boys are in a class by themselves.

      I get very frustrated with the downsizing of pakages and “serving sizes” so it is nice to see a soup that is so close to what I consider an adult serving size.

  2. I like the Bear Creak Soups. I’ve made a few of them. When you’re cutting up wood for the woodstove, try and keep them as big around as possible. I didn’t know this the first year. We had the use of a hydraulic wood splitter, and me and the daughter when to town splitting every single piece of wood into 4ths. They burned up so fast. This year I’m leaving as many of the rounds whole, as possible. I leave my biggest ones for the night time fill up. They burn slower and longer through the night.

    • Jamie says:

      Everstuff, The millends are small individually but if I stack them in the fire box they burn more like a log. Also the price of the millends is tough to beat as I got 5 cords for $200.00.

      The apple wood is the trimmings from the Orchards so I don’t need to cut most of the “logs” and with this stove being so efficeint a couple of small logs will burn about 6-7 hours overnight.

