2014 is starting off with a bang! Actually it was just a small fender bender

Nampa had some very slick roads the other day and someone tagged the Kia. No one was hurt and my Kia got a few scuff marks and scratches on the rear quarter panel but no big dents.  I will go in Friday and have the scratches appraised for the cost of fixing it. I was really impressed the Kia didn’t have more damage of course it is the lower part of the quarter panel and that stuff usually has to be replaced rather than buffed out so it might be more costly than I think to fix it.

I had to a sort of low speed chase trying to catch the fellow that backed into me. I think the older gentlemen just sort of panicked instead of taking a bit of time to get calmed down as he had a nasty slide before he backed into me.  Once he went a few miles he pulled  into a parking lot and I got his info. I have to say it was very straight forward with both insurance companies and it was a very easy process getting the claim started.  I did not get the police involved as I think the damage is below the limit and they police ended up not being needed. Plus the police were very busy with a lot of major accidents the last couple of days and this was a very simple accident with minimal damage.

In some ways I am a bit surprised by all the accidents because I think our city and county workers have done a good job plowing and sanding the roads after each storm.  It’s probably human nature that people tend to over estimate their skill driving or just don’t think how conditions have changed. This winter using my mirrors save me from a few accidents.  I learned how to use my mirrors more effectively when I drove in Germany as that is a big deal especially driving on the autobahn. You don’t want to get hit by even a small car that is moving along at 220 kph or 130+ mph,  no matter what kind of vehicle you drive.  It has saved me from a couple of accidents every year, but it seems like it is more critical skill in the last few months than it has been in the past.

Any way I’m starting to feel a bit better and more rested since I decided to take a break from hard core prepping.  The day to day chores seem easier to do,  as they are not competing with any “projects” for my attention. I finished cutting up wood for two of my party buckets while I still had one party bucket about 2/3rds full.  I’m also learning how to use the apple wood for a long, slow burn in the daytime.  Learning how to use my wood mix is taking a bit of time but I think I’m getting a bit better on my ratios. I will get another load of the apple wood next week even though I have a good size stack on hand.

There are a couple of reasons  and number one is never trust Mama Nature or life. Trust me, she is trying to kill you and one day she will succeed.  Don’t make it easy for Mama Nature to kick you out of the gene pool!  Second reason is my Mom and Dad worry about me and want me to stay warm.  I’m in my late 40’s and they are bouncing around the 70’s but they don’t stop being parents based on age. If I can give them one less kid to worry about I’ll do it.  If I don’t use the wood this year it will season and dry to give me a start on next year’s wood pile.

For me it is a good time to re-think my plans and goals.  Thinking is hard work, especially when you go beyond the six months to a year of basics.  Some times the best thing to do is to do nothing but think.

10 Responses to 2014 is starting off with a bang! Actually it was just a small fender bender

  1. harry flashman says:

    I hate it when old people do stupid things because I am one and it reflects poorly on me.

    We have had terrible cold here, the worst I can remember, but we seem to have survived it with no physical damage. Used a lot of propane and electricity though.

    Be careful out there.

  2. Jamie says:

    harry: I would help to say he was from the “big city” LOL
    Actually I’m a bit surprised I caught him. If he kept going I would have lost him eventually by me driving safe for conditions and him racing away.
    I don’t think he was a bad person, he just sort of freaked out a bit short term. We all do dumb things from time to time and age is no barrier to stupidity.
    I will say I was a bit miffed when I caught him but all I had is a few scratches on the car and no one was hurt. I could tell the guy was pretty shook up. Not that big of deal in the great scheme of life.

  3. Spud says:

    I can relate with taking a break from prepping…NOT !….after ya been a prepper ? survivolist for 2/3 rds of yer life it is a daily way of living. No need to rush at anything after a certain point.
    Taking a break from overkill mode is a good thing to do once in a while !
    Sure don’t miss those snow pack icy roads up there, not to mention all the black ice ! Course we always had 4 wheel drive rigs with studs all the way around. In fact my Willys CJ is setting stored for me in my sons barn over in Sweet, if ya’ll know where that is lol
    Take care on them slick roads girl, they crazy people out there !

    • Jamie says:

      Spud, I’m just taking a bit of a break on starting any new projects. I still have a few things to finish up from last year, but I’m not going to force myself to do anything, just going to rest and let my body tell me when I’m ready to go back to work.

  4. It’s a good thing you caught up to him.

    • Jamie says:

      Pioneer, I was ready to let him go in a few more blocks as it was just to slick. But I have to say he did except the liability for the crash and everything else was very simple.

  5. riverrider says:

    had a cancer scare, thought i was a goner. life changing event. not sure where i go from here, but it won’t be the same ever again. life is short, live it.

    • Jamie says:

      river, I’m glad it’s not cancer. My Mom had a few skin cancer bumps removed a few years back and she was very surprised how the “cancer diagnosis” shook her up. The cancer was discovered early and she hasn’t had any problems since then. Give yourself a little time to come to grips with your reaction.

      • riverrider says:

        thanks. i didn’t take it too hard, in fact i said “what the hell, i’ll live it up a few months and go out with a bang.” i’m not afraid to die, just afraid i’d die without living first. i was ready to check out so i could get started on the next, hopefully better life. now i see why some folks say they don’t want to survive a long term teotwaki situation. now that its not cancer i’m left with that feeling of “now what?”

      • Jamie says:

        river: I’d like for you to stick around because I learn a lot from you.
        I think things will suck but we are going to be eyewitnesses to history on a scale that will compare to the Fall of Rome, Age of Exploration or the Renaissance.

