Life just keeps moving along.

I’m trying to think more gratefully about Dad helping me out with this little water problem.  I would prefer to pay as I go rather than add another debt to pay off but since this will happen anyway,  I might as well be thankful and a bit more gracious towards Dad.  Before the water pipe went bad I had redone my budget counting up some savings in order to payoff the wood stove loan ASAP.  I’ll just keep doing my normal wood stove payment and knock out the water main debt as quickly as possible instead.  Looks like the kindle fire will have to wait a little longer but that’s okay I have a couple of other items I wanted to get before the kindle anyway.

I did find a great deal on a slightly used Ruger 10/22. The rifle looks brand new and cost only $180.00. I put $35.00 down and the owner will hold it until the end of the month when I get paid. The Ruger will finish up the last of the basic guns I wanted for any SHTF type event.  I have a small order for Amazon of another Baofeng SW transceiver and the small Sawyer water filter. Paying the big water bill next month put a bit of a crimp in my original spending plan but once that bill is paid it will be out of my hair and I can rework the budget for paying off Dad.

Latest news on the water test is trying out the Zodi battery powered water pump portion of the camp shower.  The water pressure from the pump is on the low side but it gets the job done. I had no problems with the pump drawing water and I think it worked pretty well considering the pump is only using 4 D cell batteries (6 volts) for power. Instead of using the complete Zodi Camp shower I used bit of clear hose and a bucket of warm water and it worked fine.  Having 8 rechargeable D cell batteries and one of those solar battery chargers would be a better long term no power solution than a bunch of  normal D cell batteries.

The no tap water test is one test I think everyone should try even if it is for just a couple of days. Loss of water is common to a lot disasters, most wells don’t work with out electricity and as many folks hit by the cold weather this year freezing pipes are no fun at all.  My  broken water pipe and turning off the water has more of a minor inconvenience rather than a major challenge because I have stored plenty of water and the equipment that  makes moving water a lot easier on me physically.  You will be under enough stress as it is anything you can do to make life a little easier before a disaster will help you mitigate that stress.

7 Responses to Life just keeps moving along.

  1. I hate that water bill thing happened to you. That doesn’t seem fair at all. You have to have water in your house, so I’m glad your dad is getting it squared away. I have a lot of water stored, but I still want to be able to wash dishes, take a shower and flush the john without it being a major evolution. There are a lot of things I could get by without that I don’t want to give up.

    • Jamie says:

      I’m not sure who said it but” fair” is a place full of cheap thrills, clowns and deep fried foods! Fair is a value judgement and I have been so lucky as well as a bit of hard work on getting things squared away. Yes it sucks and yeah it’s a bit annoying and more work, but overall I’m in great shape. Stuff happens and I think God’s sense of humor can be a twisted at times but I’d rather something like this happen now rather than later.

      I think there is a good chance we will see a world wide economic meltdown in the fall of this year. Don’t take it as gospel as I thought 2011 would be the year and my gift for prophecy is sadly lacking. It will happen eventually because it’s just math and exponential functions.

      I know you are not doing the wood stove thing because of the work to cut and chop wood. But having the the wood stove has saved me a lot of money this year.
      I do understand you worked hard so you could have a an easy retirement but life is messing that up. So don’t get all pissy about it but “fairness” make things as easy as possible in consideration of what is possible. Compared to my first water test I am getting by very easily. Heck, I have enough water for a a bath and actually have to wait a bit or add a lot of cold water to make the bath temp. comfortable. I’m not looking for sympathy of pity. I hope I can give people some ideas for storing and using water that work in a minor/personal disaster.

      I want folks to have an easier time than I did on those little personal disaster and learn from my mistakes. No tap water for 5 days piffle, saving money for emergencies hard! At least for me.

  2. Spud says:

    Way Murphy works, SHTF just as your stored water supply is used up…best be replenishing as you use it up.

    • Jamie says:

      Spud, I will add a four more filled 15 gallon barrels after Monday and the water work is done. I’m becoming very fond of the 15 gallon food safe barrel after this watrer test. Based on it’s size and cost/value/weight ratio I think it’s better than the bigger 55-60 gallon water storage barrels.

      I think I’m one of the few bloggers that talk about using the igloo type jugs for hot water storage. Hey if you boil water for safety you might as well take advantage of all that hot water. Those big insulated igloo type jugs let you hold that hot water for at least 18-36 hours. I think most people take clean and potable water for granted and don’t understand how very precious it is to life. You want to learn about water conservation? Go without water on demand via the tap and you will learn water conservation.

  3. Sorry to hear about the water problems. I know that’s gotta suck. One year my mother ran an extension cord out of the house and it snowed on it and she had a $1200.00 electric bill in one month as it bled out into the snow.

  4. “I do understand you worked hard so you could have a an easy retirement but life is messing that up. So don’t get all pissy about it but “fairness” make things as easy as possible in consideration of what is possible.”

    fair to me means right on a larger plain, not necessarily just the water issue. No one said life is fair but I’d like it to be.

    • Jamie says:

      Harry, Sorry I ranted at you. Some of family gone on about fairness like they are 12 year old kids talking about a game. Except for them it is reality they refuse to deal with daily.

      Fairness sounds nice and I’ll wish along side you but I’d rather deal with what is happening and get moving forward on a fix. I’m a bit surprised about how easy it has been to get things going on paying the water bill if not the repair bill. Starting that savings plan has already made a big difference.

