Stocking up on meats for now…

Not a lot of good news for food prices lately. We have all seen prices creeping up and container shrinking the last few years.  With all of the stories in the news lately I think the expected cost jump is going to be huge and the Main Stream Media is frontrunning the story to try and maintain a little credibility. Now more than ever you need to take advantage of the “loss leaders” and any good prices you find on meat and dairy.  For fresh veggies, your garden and farmers markets in season will have to sufice though there is supposed to be a glut of rice on the world market.  I haven’t seen a drop in rice prices so far but at least they are stable at $20.00 for 50 pounds of long grain white rice.

Last week I was able to get some nice sirloin steaks for 2.99 a pound and got those frozen. This week I’m focusing on pork and chicken. Paul’s market had a 10 pound package of leg quarters for 79 cents a pound and some pork chops for $1.38 a pound. I grabbed 2 of the bags of chicken and 3 packages of the pork chops. Works out to almost 30 pounds of meat for about $30.00. Albertson’s has a sale on chicken and pork starting the 19th and I’m going to add about 20-30 pounds to the freezer until I get the canner out for the chicken.  My plan of attack on the meat storage is to freeze the better cuts of meat and can the tougher cuts of beef and pork. For the chicken I’ll can the thighs and freeze the leg quarters and whole chickens. I have meat to make sure I can BBQ this summer!

It’s not all meat this week as I am getting the ingredients for kymber’s Kimchee.  Kimchee is a Korean version of sauerkraut and very spicy. I want to do some fermented veggies this year to add some variety to my food storage. Many people say homemade sauerkraut beats the canned stuff by a country mile for taste and it should be a great way to use cabbages from the garden or farmer’s market. I don’t have the garden space to grow enough to be self reliant but I can buy and stock ahead of time and use the garden to extend my basic supplies. On this year’s garden I’m planning to go vertical with more plants. My hope is I will get more production and it will be easier to take care of with my disability. I have very high hopes that I can use the green house to extend my growing season.

Been avoiding my beer making and even refilling the barrels I used for the water test. The last thing I want to do is even think about moving or boiling water. It’s a bit silly as I bought extra hose for filling the barrels after I filled my big water barrels using 5 gallon camp jugs. I’m just seriously lacking in motivation on anything water related!

9 Responses to Stocking up on meats for now…

  1. Marilyn says:

    Or, pull the canner out while the weather is cool and take advantage of the extra heat for the house.

  2. Home made kraut is better but we have a terrible hard time growing kraut here. I don;t blame you for lack of motivation when it coems to water right now Heh….

    • Jamie says:

      Pioneer, The mental toughness is going to be the hardest on most people. I think many preppers think stocking up before hand gives them an out, and disaster won’t really affect them.

      Any homesteader/farmer/rancher will tell them about the physically work load but it’s not real to them. Intellectually they know life will require more work, but until they do the work it is not real.

      I thought going five days with out tap water would be a breeze, until I had to move all the water by hand. This was my second test and while I made it five days this time. I couldn’t even make it 3 days on my first test, and I still had power and a working sewer system in an economic collapse those items get iffy on working past a couple of weeks.

  3. Jamie says:

    Marilyn , You are so right about taking advantage of the heat. I have not done a lot of canning but baking my bread is a big thing. What is nice is bread freezes well so you can make a few loaves when it’s cool and use the oven to augment your heat.

    The only thing I need for outdoor cooking is a bread oven. I got the big propane burners before things got a little sideways on money via the water main. So canning/beer making outside is go and will help keep the house cool this summer and fall.

    Life seldom works out to my plans, but overall I don’t think I’m doing to bad. The water test went well and I could have done a lot to limit my water use and make thing a bit easier physically.

    I got a couple of ideas I want to try out. Using those sprayer tanks that you see on ATVs with a 6/12 volt dc pump that work off the ATV’s batteries. For under $100.00 you can get a 10-15 gallon tank and the pump already setup for a battery. A portable water system that should work with solar panels to charge the battery.

  4. kymber says:

    good luck with the kimchi and i hope it turns out and that you love it! home-made sauerkraut is to die for! there are a few different ways to make it depending on whether you want to keep the brine or rinse it off. i love sauerkraut and you’ve just reminded me to make some.

    those are some really good deals on the meat that you are stocking up. i’m like you, freeze the best parts and can the rest.

    your friend,
    kymber

  5. LeeAnn says:

    If you are buying cabbage for sauerkraut, watch for the St. Patrick’s Day sales next month. I’ve bought cabbage for as little at 4¢ a pound on these sales. You can also can slaw. Google for recipes.

  6. riverrider says:

    j, just a heads up, the lamestream media is touting a 9% spike in coffee supposedly due to a bad year in brazil. also big spike in milk. i figure you’re ready for this but heads up jic.

    • Jamie says:

      river, I have kept buying coffee since it came down after the last price spike. But thanks for the heads up I’ll be a bit more proactive on getting coffee. For milk I have a lot of powdered, canned and 4 gallons of the UHT/shelf stable milk. Might be a good idea to pick up some fresh milk and toss it in the freezer.

