Back to work after recovery/lazy

I like to think I’m pretty tough mentally but I’ll tell you I got a bad case of the lazies after the water test.  Between the weather being a bit wonky, a bit of finacial stress and just plain worn out, my motivation level was very low. I did not stop getting ready but let us say buying stuff was a heck of a lot easier than getting physical.  The water main trench finally got a bit of dirt filled in. Your ankles and possibly a knee was at risk stepping on the mound breaking through the clay crust and dropping about 12 inches just walking through the yard.  I have enough challenges physically I don’t want to deal with a trench over 20 feet long, ready to to teach me all about “Newtonian physics”.  Got a few tools out and they actually made the job a bit easier for about 30 minutes of work,  I sort of filled up the trench and redirected the water from my gutters away from the foundation.  The soil will settle a bit after the next rain or snow but it isn’t to dangerous to walk around the yard for now.

My mind has not caught up with the concept I actually have tools that make tasks easier. If you move dirt you need a shovel but I found using my garden fork, a garden rake and sharp tine rake for cleaning up a lawn of grass clipping( I can’t remember the name) does a good job breaking up clay soil.  While not easy work I finally took the clippers to the grape vine that have overgrown with very little attention on my part.  But an hour or so of work I managed to fill a big trash bin the city requires me to have and cleared at least a small area of overgrown grape vines.

The easy stuff I did this week is trying out some cleaning ideas for the raw beeswax. Dad and I did another apple wood run and I should be good to go for the rest of this season and have good start on next season’s wood pile.  I finally found a store with Diakon radishes so I can try making some Kimchee and I got the hoses for filling the water barrels in the house.

I have always been a procrastinator of sorts. Usually I get the min. of what I think I will need and some times I sort of blow off the follow up of doing the work. This is a problem and I suspect many people do sort of  think the same thing as we can top off before an emergency of disaster.  I assume I’ll get a bit of a heads up via the news or the web but who can plan. I live in the west but a “New Madrid” earthquake would be devastating because of the transportation and lack of refining capabilities in my state.

Always look at your supply lines and logistics of having enough on hand to see you through a minor disaster. You probably can’t  stock enough gasoline for a year, but a couple of weeks would power a generator that would power a fridge and freezer until you canned, smoked or dehydrated all that food in your fridge and freezer.

 

 

4 Responses to Back to work after recovery/lazy

  1. Dannyboy53 says:

    Jamie with all you have had to contend with the past month or so getting a “bad case of the lazies” is a classic sign of exhaustion. Gotta watch out for that Lady. I know we all have much to be done, Mary and I are improving our lot at least every week (as the finances allow!), but as you know very well rest is a critical element also. I too am disabled but can get out and do some things. I’m just unable to lift, carry, and walk as much as I was accustomed to. One learns very quickly how to do things in “phases”, I’m 60 yrs old now and things simply are not as easy as they once were!

    We have solar panels, of course not enough to run the entire household but we can power up some essentials if/when the need arises. They are a good thing to have, even though the initial cost is high and it “hurts” for a little while after the purchase they aren’t terribly expensive. We discussed it before making the purchase and decided it was a good investment for us. Others may not feel they have a need for them.

    We live in a rural area in north central Arkansas, my wife has been managing a horse ranch less than a mile from our house for a little over a year. We have a well about 50 feet behind the house and access to two more on the ranch. Of course they run off electric pumps presently but we have the capability to draw water manually at any time. There are two large ponds on the ranch well stocked with fish and wild game is plentiful. We have stocked enough provisions (food, water, med supplies, etc) to last us approximately a year at this time but are constantly adding to our “stash”.

    It seems when one thinks they are about as prepared as they can be, you can look around and see more to do, or gather more ideas from others as I have done here on your site!

    My apologies Jamie for rambling on so long with this, Soffitrat can attest to the fact that I have a “gift of gab” on occasion!

    My thanks to you and those that post their ideas and experiences here,

    Danny

    • Jamie says:

      Dannyboy, I suppose we all hit that “wall” at some point. But it felt good to do a bit of work in the yard. I can’t speak for others but for myself getting started on some physical work often makes me feel better, though the getting started part can be difficult. I can’t work for very long but I got a good start on the grape vines and I think the trench should be good to go.

      Dad is coming over on Monday or Tuesday to cut some mill ends and fill the trench and I feel better if I do some work around the house myself. I may bitch and moan about my Dad at times, but he has really helped me out the last few months and anyone can screw up with a contractor doing work.

      It’s maybe human nature to be a bit perverse in thinking we can always do better with 20/20 hindsight.

      Some times simple things make a difference. While I can’t afford the garage door opener right now. I have added a line to help with closing the door. So it is fairly simple to use.

      I do whine a bit, but overall I am pretty pleased with how things are working out. The wood stove has really saved me a bunch of money on my electric bill. Going with the Roku and Amazon prime is saving me over $30.00 a month.

      Life isn’t matching up with my plans this year but I’m still making progress and life is still pretty darn good.

  2. Judith says:

    I found your blog by accident as I was actually looking for rescue dogs here in the UK and for some reason Google threw up a link to you. May I say how very interesting and informative I have found it. It has certainly made me think, and to reassess our own home situation. I have always lived frugally, and have a very well stocked pantry: and we have a very productive garden and keep bees and chickens on our allotment (it’s like a plot of land you can rent to grow food on if you live in a city here): but there is obviously much more that I could do, even living in an urban environment to help us to be more self sufficient.
    So many thanks once again for a very informative and interesting read.
    Judith

    • Jamie says:

      Judith, I’m glad you stopped by even if it was by mistake. Sounds like you have a nice setup especially being in the city.

      Not sure how it is in the UK but I tend to see many people put off doing anything until they get_______. Doing what you can with what you have puts you ahead on saving money and building skills.

