Been thinking about Rob’s post on gardening

Rob in his bunker asked about gardening this year. He is in a rental so digging up the yard is a no go also he is a complete novice at gardening so he needs some thing a garden/plants that are somewhat simple and forgiving to a beginning gardener. I’m certainly no expert at gardening but I know I have learned a lot by making mistakes and feel somewhat confident I can grow a plant with a little help from Mama nature.

Starting any  garden isn’t cheap on cost, there is soil, tools, seeds and quite a bit of hours of physical work you will need to invest in your garden.  So thinking cheap and cruising the internet I found quite a few places that showed how you can grow new plants from the leftovers you may throw away of veggies you buy at your local mega mart. Most of the steps are simple and heck if you screw up you can always compost or throw away anything that does not work out.

Most of the veggies I see that can be regrown have a bit of the root or plant stem still attached such as:  Celery, regular and green onions, Bok Choy and Romaine and even things like ginger(long term) or mushrooms, basil and sage can be regrown from the stems. The basic procedure is to place the root end in water and place in a window with good light as the plant grows  you then place it a larger container with soil or plant in a garden.   Ginger and mushrooms are bit different as the need to be in a rich soil and kept moist but in the dark for awhile. I have regrown celery but haven’t tried the other veggies yet. The bok choy and green onions I bought for the  kymber’s Kim chee recipe will be my first try at this technique.

I think this is such a neat idea of using what would normal be cut off and thrown away as waste could be turned into a cheap and easy start of a “kitchen garden”.  I think if you can do this with plants like romaine lettuce and bok choy that a green leaf lettuce or even cabbage might re grow as well using the same method.  I figure there isn’t much downside of trying this out to see if it works. If the drought effects food cost as much as being hyped, every little bit you can grow yourself will help the budget.

Sorry I did not get all the websites that had instructions though a couple were on the instructibles.com site.  Do a search on regrowing some of the veggies and you will find the sites. I figure those that post these items need a hit on their site and I’m sorry I didn’t save the links.

4 Responses to Been thinking about Rob’s post on gardening

  1. Marilyn says:

    Rob might visit web sites or garden centers for instructions on growing potatoes in containers as you can yield a pretty good amount in something very small by adding layers of soil. I would also suggest a few things that could be grown in partial shade to help reduce the amount of watering as growing in containers requires much attention during the hot months so the soil stays moist. Lots can be done in pots you just get less yield.

    • Jamie says:

      Marilyn, I recommend some of the colored Kales and Leaf lettuces for the shaded areas. I’m trying the potato in a container this year.

  2. Kate says:

    Here’s an easy one…..when you use and onion cut the “root” end off and dry a day or two. Then plant in a small pot with some good soil. In about a week green shoots will appear. I use then for salads and flavorings. If you leave them alone they will produce “bulblets” that you can plant in the spring.

    I will root celery root ends the same way. I don’t mess with the water sprouting method.

    At the end of garden growing season I carefuly dig up a half a dozen of my best tomatio plants and pot them in large containers that I bring indoor to my sunny kitchen. Once you have them in the container of choice, give them a good “hair cut”. I take off about 2/3 of the plant. Once it is used to it’s new enviornment watch it bloom and give you tomatoes thoughout the winter. This works best with the smaller and “cherry” types of tomatoes.

    • Jamie says:

      Kate, Thanks for the methods. I want to do that tomato plant in winter. We have an Hierloom yello “grape” tomato that would be perfect over winter.

