2014 started off a little rocky but I think it will work out

I tend to set some big goals for the year and while I don’t get into a lot of specifics I sort of think through what I want to accomplish and break those tasks into smaller goals.  Going back through my 2014 goals it seems I am on target  if not exactly what I had in mind when I wrote up the list.  Having to repair the water main sort of through me for a loop but it is providing plenty of motivation for the “Emergency” savings plan. My water plan worked out great going 5 days without tap water even though I was starting to physically wear down on the fifth day.  I could have rationed my water and physical energy much better if I didn’t know how long the outage would last, having a hot bath every morning was an indulgence, not something to do in a “real” water emergency.  A quick, hot shower every three days would have been more than adequate to maintain personal hygiene. I wanted to see how much work and water it would take to keep my routine as normal as possible.

This was my baseline test and I can ration both water and energy  from those basic numbers.  Having the wood stove to heat water and the igloo drink jugs  to store hot water made the water test much easier physically, as a bonus the jugs could be filled prior to a storm/disaster and would add another 5 gallons each to your water supply.  Look for the big five gallon insulated Igloo water jugs on sale for under $30.00 and you may find them as cheap as $20.00. I used one of the 2.5 gallon Igloo jugs for basic hand washing but they are not as well insulated and the hot water last about 12-18 hours compared to the 5 gallon jugs that can store hot water 24-36 hours. I’m surprised that many of the long term preppers/survivalist don’t recommend these jugs for a grid down situation.  I think the 5 gallon Igloo drink jugs is one of the best multi-taskers you can buy and is a must have for any water storage plan.  You may want to add insulated jugs, coolers and thermoses to your yard sale list if you don’t have any on hand.

Well the Government seems to think I’m a semi responsible or at least  done nothing subversive enough to fail a background check for a concealed carry permit. Now I can give the state another $30.00 that allows me to carry a gun “concealed” after the $40.00 I gave to the pinheads in DC. So $70.00 and my DD214 and I can legally pack a gun  in Idaho and this is one of the easier states to get concealed carry. I do wish the progressives would try out logic once and a while and not get the “vapors” when the see an openly carried weapon or get frightened because someone might have a concealed carry permit.  Of course why use logic when emotions and ignorance is instantaneous?  I was going to get another load of wood but with the approval of the CCP and paying for the Ham radio test($14.00) that $50.00 is pretty well eaten up.

No big deal,  the wood stove is fired once a day in the evening now that is warming up. Any wood I add now will be stocking up for next winter so I have a few months to get that done.  It looks like I used about half of the load of mill ends this winter and the fruit woods from the local orchards did a great job even on the cold snap back in December. I like the mill ends for the price and hot/ fast fire but I didn’t like the delivery method or the extra cutting needed to fit my stove.  It’s a learning process and it might not be as bad as I whine about, now that I have a done a season of using the wood stove for all of my heating. I sure like the the electric bill compared to 2013. I have added a few tools and skills and have better idea of what I need to do with the wood stove.  I’m not sure why but the wood stove really gave me great “peace of mind”. Perhaps it was my childhood growing up in the foothill of the Rockies and having  backup heat was not just nice to have but critical to surviving. Whatever it it is, I am really glad I spent the money for a good wood stove.

Did some maint. on the mini-van and I do have a warm and fuzzy feeling that the brakes are no longer making nasty noises and the oil change is done.  I neglected the the basics and that is always a bad thing if understandable at times.  While the mini-van is not my first choice as a BOV, it might be the only choice given a certain set of circumstances.  I love my Kia minivan and I’d rather replace the transmission or engine rather than buy a new car. It’s not cool or sexy but sure does work for me.  Since the guys at Les Schwab checked the under carriage and gave it a go I can payoff the credit account. One less monthly bill!  I can get the saving built up and reduce my debt at the same time.

Everything I need I have on hand other than the green house and that is in the budget or on hand.  Oh sure there are a few “wants” I’d like to get but overall I think 2014 is shaping up to be a good year for getting those last items taken care of and then it will be all about sustaining what I have already done.

2 Responses to 2014 started off a little rocky but I think it will work out

  1. 2013 wasn’t particularly good for us here. So far 2014 hasn’t been much better, too many weather problems. But once that settles down maybe things will improve. I have been thinking about replacing my 1999 Cherokee. It just went over 200,000 miles and is still in good shape, but they have a reputation for going down hill rapidly past that benchmark.

  2. Jamie says:

    Harry 2013 Is when everything sort of came together for me.While my plans a goals went well I think the biggest thing was a change in my attitude finally moving into the Acceptence phase so to speak. I still get peeve when life screws up one of my plans but I get over it more quickly and can usually find a work around to the problem.

    Not sure what kind of vehicle you are looking to get but my Mom loves her Ford Explorer. If you don’t mind a Foreign vehicle I would look at the Kias. I have yet to meet a Kia owner who does not love having one.

