Playing with chainsaws and more

Springtime in Idaho can be a bit breezy at times. While nothing like the wind in the plains states, branches and limbs will fall and need to be dealt with. Now that I have the wood stove I want to use that wood once it is dry enough to burn so that means I need to cut it down to fit in the stove. If you have fruit trees they will need some pruning back to stay healthy as well. I really like Bow saws if you are using muscle power, they work quickly and they tend to be inexpensive to buy. Adding all sorts of back up blades tends to be cheap. But since I’m disabled I have added a small battery power 18 volt Black & Decker chainsaw. Tried out the new chainsaw on a green limb and it went through three cuts in a couple of minutes that would have taken about 20-30 minutes of physical work with the bow saw.  I’m still learning the technique of how to use a chainsaw but they no longer intimidate me and they save me a lot of physical energy.

I’m going to electric power for most of my tools because electric power is fairly cheap here in Idaho and I’m work on a solar generator that should help provide my own power. One of the big energy weaknesses of Idaho is expensive petroleum products. I figure that if rationing happens  industry and agriculture will get first dibs on any petroleum products. They same thing could happen with electricity but at least with the my solar panels I can generate some electricity on my own. Start off small and then add to your system as you gain more knowledge and going solar does not have to be huge expense at one time.

Mom want’s to take her Ham radio test in April rather than this weekend. While she is doing good with her studies I think she is smart to build her knowledge and confidence. While the test costs under $15.00 there is no reason to waste money unless you feel you can pass the test. I feel confident I could pass the test this weekend but I don’t mind having a little more time to get proficient using the radios even if it’s just programming and listening to others. The study guide and test is very bare bones, just to get you started with Ham radio.  To really know your stuff and be a good operator you will need to learn more. I am interested on how they use the PC and transmitting digital data via wifi and mesh networks. Of course most folks are not quite as geeky as I am so that may not interest them, but I think it would be cool to set up a wifi network that reaches for miles rather than just a 100 yards. I think that would be a great neighborhood/community communication system and nearly independent of the PTBs.  The internet protocols were designed not to be disrupted by little glitches like nuclear war so an Internet kill switch that the PTBs now want is not very easy to implement.  The PTBs might be able to kill the internet but only at the cost of cutting themselves off at the same time.  It’s thoughts like these that kept me from going to “good schools” besides them being a ripoff.

 

 

5 Responses to Playing with chainsaws and more

  1. Now are you discharging the battery all the way down before recharging or did you get a Lithium model I forget?

    • Jamie says:

      Pioneer, I have the Nicad type battery so they will have to be discharged. Not to hard to do with the cultivater I get about 30 minutes of power. I haven’t used the chainsaw enough to know how long the battery lasts yet.

  2. Ham radio is a useful hobby. All I do is DX, so I am waiting to see how you enjoy it when you start working the airwaves!

    • Jamie says:

      Harry, I started out with just the idea of getting the basics for emergency communication in a disaster but I’m seeing all kinds of potential uses of the technology. I guess I will always be a geek of some sort and I love the idea of taking advantage of all the different thing you can do with Ham radio.

  3. Eons ago I had this little cartridge that plugged into the back of a Commodore 64 computer. It connected to your short wave. You could tune in to unencrypted tty transmissions and they printed out on your screen or to your printer if you wanted them too. Today I just listen to the major world service broadcasts, and sometimes to Hams on SSB.

