A sort of normal day

Went over to Mom’s place and gave her a block of instruction on moving .pdf files to her kindle.  This is one of the nicest features of the kindle especially if you have a bunch of .pdf files full of information you have collected of the web. I started with the Ham radio course for testing and Dad got a nice book from the Ham radio operators he knows from McCall that signed up with the Coast Guard Auxiliary.  The second book from the ham guys really goes into much more detail explaining how Ham works compared to the test study guide. Any way if you have a kindle and want to move files from your PC to the kindle it is a simple drag and drop operation. Once you plug the kindle into your PC it is recognized as another hard drive. On the kindle you will see a folder called Documents and you simply open the folder on your PC that contains the .pdf file and drag and drop it in the Document folder of the kindle.  I think this is a great way to store knowledge as a backup plus if you have to Bugout it is a lot easier to carry a kindle than a even a laptop or hard copy in your “survival book”.

I finally finished up the laundry I had started. I sort of forgot about the laundry as it got a little sideways here dealing with the water pipes.  I topped off of the 5 gallon camp jugs I used for the water outage and got them stashed back into the closet.  If you are using the larger barrels for water storage like I am, have a few 5 gallon camp jugs to move water. While the 5 gallon water jugs are not light weight they seem to be about right for most daily water needs. Running back and forth from your water supply with a gallon pitcher can get a bit tedious. In case of a disaster you don’t need that aggravation if you can avoid it. Plus I really prefer using the jugs with the spigots. When you get tired the spigots really help not splashing water all over the place.  I have been considering the use of a furniture dolly for the 15 gallon barrels to make the easier to move around. These dollies cost about $20.00 and I could put at least two of the 15 gallon barrels on one dolly. I think this would make moving the water a lot easier physically as well as more efficient. Have one extra dolly for moving 2-3 camp jugs of water or the igloo jugs of hot water from the wood stove to the bathroom or kitchen would save a lot of effort.  I have one of these dolly’s and a couple of 15 gallon barrels I want to fill from runoff of the wort chiller so this weekend will be a good time for a test.

I work very hard at finding ways to save physical energy. One reason is my disability and I simply don’t have the strength and more critically the stamina going without the modern convenience of electricity means to daily life. I over estimated how easy my first water test would be to accomplish and had to quit the test at day 3 of a 5 day test.  I did a lot better on the second 5 day test but I was wore out by day five.  I didn’t have a concept of just how much physical energy it would take to go without tap water and how doing it for many days straight would grind me down.  I doubt I’m all that special in that respect though I do think a non-disabled person would last more days before they needed to rest and recover. Some people may think I’m being lazy trying to make a disaster or emergency as easy as possible and to a certain extent they are correct.  Laziness does save calories and being efficient with your time and energy allows you to get more done.  If you want to spend 20-30 minutes rubbing sticks together for a fire that is on you. I’d prefer to use a lighter or a match and have a good fire in less than 5 minutes and get to work on something else that will need to be done.

I store up the basics ahead of time to give me the most precious of things TIME.  Time to think, plan and then move with a purpose. No panic and to minimize stress. I no longer have to worry about if I will have enough food, water, basic first aid, heat or cooling in the summer. Power goes out I have some basic solar and a plenty alternate lighting. I’m working on 2-3 months worth of getting by with some generators and a few other items as well as augmenting my food supply.  If you are freaking out, worried how you will provide the basics to you and your family. You won’t be effective helping them to survive.

4 Responses to A sort of normal day

  1. dee says:

    Thanks for the info, Jamie, on transferring files to my kindle from PC. Did not even consider it. I download a lot of freebies or inexpensive books from amazon, on preparedness, including gardening, recipe books and survival skills. That and the actual library of books I have been collecting since 1981. Knowledge and, actuals skills, as you so aptly demonstrate, are a gas!!

  2. Stephen says:

    I tried your instructions with my Kindle and it will NOT comply. Then again my unit is two years old, not a Fire model, just you basic unit with a keyboard.

  3. Jamie says:

    Stephen, My unit is the old kindle keyboard and my Mom has the newest but $69.00 model and it works. Did you get an error message during the file transfer?

    My Mom’s PC had the old Adobe reader that didn’t work very well so I downloaded the latest Foxit reader and that fixed the error.

    Also on my Mom’s kindle the .pdf files did not show up as “new” and were on the second page of her kindle.

    Double check that the file went into the “Documents” folder on the kindle and not one of the other folders. That sometimes happen when I drag and drop files.

