Going to the dogs

I stopped by the shelter today and checked out a few dogs for “Casa de Chaos”.  They have some very nice looking dogs including a Shepard/Akita mix with a smooth coat almost like a boxer a couple of Shepard mixes the Chow border collie mix and one that is one of the herding dogs but looks like a miniature German Shepard.  I think I’ll take Diana down and maybe do a meet and greet with some of the animals and see how well they get along.  I really like the dog that looks like a mini shepard but the former owner said the dog was aggressive with other dogs, though I did not see that when the dog saw other dogs at the pound.  Then again I got Smokey the cat from the same shelter and she had been returned three times and I think she is the perfect cat. She doesn’t claw the furniture, but she isn’t a super affectionate type of cat. A leg to rub against and some ear and chin scratches and she is happy.  She patrols the house and yard hunting and will come when called though it took a bit of time to train her to her name.

It might be the person wasn’t very good with dogs or establishing themselves as the pack leader. I think I’m pretty good with dogs and have dealt with all types of breeds but I don’t want to be cocky and assume I can fix/train any dog.  I want a dog that fits in with the animals I already have and not introduce a lot of stress for myself or my pets.  I want a larger dog that is protective but not so large I can’t physically control him, so it’s a bit of a balancing act.  I think a male dog will do better with Diana rather than another female dog but it’s not a deal breaker if a female dog is a good fit.  Some good news though I dropped off a few cans of cat food, Doggie biscuits and the shelter will take the dog food I stored in buckets. Times are tough and the shelter hands out this pet food as sort of a food pantry for pets. People can stop by and get some pet food and that keeps pets with their families and out of the pound.

I got the cheap green house at Big Lot’s rather than hope the semi-rigid wall green house might show up at D & B. It’s not perfect but I can get some of the plants started that I want to grow. Dad stopped by and filled in some of the trench from the water issue along with dropping off the wood from the deck that is already cut to 4 foot for more raised beds. He cleaned up some of the grapes and trimmed a cherry tree so I have a bunch of kindling for next season.  It’s starting to warm up so the wood stove isn’t being used much now, but I want to get things ready for next winter to make using the wood stove a bit easier for me physically. I learned a lot this year on using the wood stove and while I planned ahead some things you just have learn and tweak by doing.

I have enough pallets on hand that I can setup a 3 zone compost bin and for the new raised beds I’m going to dig down a bit via the rototiller  and get rid of the grass and use some of the dirt from the yard as well as augment the soil with a bit of straw and sand  so I don’t have to buy so much dirt/bags of soil from the store.  I’m thinking that buying one of those planting augers that fit in a drill might make turning over the compost a bit easier and work with the new raised beds.  I don’t think I have enough land to raise all my own food but planting a garden will add a lot of fresh food as well as critical vitamins to extend my my long term storage foods.  Who knows?  Maybe going vertical and adding some more raised beds might do better than I think for a harvest.

I need to get the RV solar and my home’s  little solar generator setup to see if I can run a few electric items and the RV is my ultimate backup going for 12 volt energy. Set up the green house, plant the cool weather crops, add more raised beds, get the Ham radio test done, brew some beer. Wow April just got really busy!

5 Responses to Going to the dogs

  1. Spud says:

    Hey Jamie, I happen to know a lady in your area that might be able to help ya out with the dog thing. She is retired from the animal control department in Meridian. She and my wife raised service dogs foe many years. Brenda is her name and she still is connected with the service dog people, also she finds homes for needy dogs.
    Let me know if you are interested and we can figure out how to talk private about it, as I don’t want to put her name out on the blog….

  2. Marilyn says:

    I think you are smart in purchasing the less expensive greenhouse. Growing in a greenhouse has pro’s and con’s. You can experiment with this one and see what works and what does not and then you will be ready for a hard side greenhouse. My hard side greenhouse is great but it is a lot of work to keep it watered in July and August. My other downside to the greenhouse is crop yield. I know I get more produce when I plant in the ground. I eventually turned to 50-100 gallon poly stock troughs to give me more soil to help with the watering issue. The bottom 1/3 of the trough is filled with large bark chips for drainage but mostly to take up some of the space. Most garden produce shouldn’t be planted in the same soil 2 years on a row. In a greenhouse you can shut it up tight when the produce is gone and bake the soil to kill any harboring fungus or insects.

    • Jamie says:

      Marilyn, That makes me feel a little better about the purchace. I want to use the green house mostly to extend my growing season with starting earlier and running later into the fall. I have been moving the the plants around in the raised beds I have on hand and augmenting the soil, but it it will be nice to have more beds on hand to use and rotate the crops more.

  3. Shirley says:

    I babysit my daughter’s male dog and he marks everything including the food I am trying to grow. I would get a girl if possible.

