Flea gel dangerous to pets!

These gels have active ingredients of peppermint oil, clove and lemon grass oil and can kill your pet. I used the Sergeant’s version but I see that Sentry also uses this formula. I tried this on Smokey the cat and she started terrible drooling and almost running into walls with in a minute of two.  I covered the oil with dawn dish soap and rinse her for quite awhile in the tub. She seems to have recovered completely and has even forgiven me about the bath, but I tell you it gave me quite a scare.

I had no idea that anything like this could happen and we were lucky I got that crap off her so quickly because many people are losing both  dogs and cats to these flea gels. I will use DE and get rid of these gels, and let every store know this stuff is dangerous to pets.

9 Responses to Flea gel dangerous to pets!

  1. Spud says:

    DE works quite well, I buy pool grade and scatter it all over the outside areas. Keeps the fleas down , also ants too. Much better than putting directly on ur critters….

    • Jamie says:

      Spud, I use the food grade DE for everything but fell a little behind this spring. Don’t know why nothing has been happening around here 🙂

      I can’t believe they sell this crap after what happened to Smokey and the horror stories I read on the Web.

      • Patti says:

        Cats are especially sensitive to essential oils, glad you were paying attention or it might have done permanent damage. I use food grade diatomaceous earth as well. Works great. Take care.

      • Jamie says:

        Patti: I got a hard and fast education on cat’s and essential oils.

        Thank God for Dawn dish soap is there anything it can’t do?

      • Spud says:

        Inside, or directly on the animal I’ll use food grade. Outdoors for pest control I use pool grade , mostly because there is nothing in it that isn’t already in the dust of normal soil. Every time your pet rolls in the dirt outside, it gets silica dust ( the harmful part of pool grade DE ) all over themselves.

      • Jamie says:

        Spud, I bought aone of those 3-4 gallon bucket of food grade DE about 6 years ago and I have over 1/3 of the bucket still left. A little DE goes a long way.

  2. Marilyn says:

    I’m not against. Essential Oils but they are jot for everyone and before a person uses them they need to know what effects they might have on them. Peppermint oil will make me cough and cough and cough. Lavender will close off my airway. I sure pets can have the same side effects.

    • Jamie says:

      Marilyn, Now that I have done some reading it seems most essential oils are super toxic to cats especially peppermint and lavender. It seems cat’s liver can’t handle the concentrated oil.

      I thought Hartz, Sargeant’s and Sentry were good solid pet companies but I guess not. I will do better research before giving anything new to my pets.

