Mom and I got a bunch of plants on sale 4 pony packs for $5.00

I’m starting to get excited about the garden and adding these veggies at such a low cost will help get a good start filling in the raised beds.  I am trying out some new plants this year  egg plant and spaghetti squash are a couple of new plants. I haven’t cooked using these plants much but they tend to take on the flavors of sauces and will give me some different menu options. Trying out a yellow tomato experiment as one gardener said that birds don’t eat them because of the color. I have to small 4 ft.x 4ft. beds for the cool weather plants that is shaded by a cherry tree and then the big bed that gets full sun for the warm weather crops.

I have the wood for a few more raised beds but the drill I have had the chuck get hung up and didn’t want to close. I got the chuck free and I will be a bit more careful on using the drill on my Grain crusher.  The new 4 x 4 foot beds will be for the tomato and pepper plants. I’m trying out a Gypsy pepper this year and the plan so far is to do one raised bed with a Beef steak tomato and gypsy pepper as a companion plant with a few herbs and the yellow “Sun sugar” tomato with the sweet bell pepper and some herbs as companion plants.  These new raised beds will use more of the soil from my yard and will need a more augmentation to the clay soil rather than just dumping a bunch of bagged soil in the raised bed.  It’ll be more work but a bit cheaper on startup soil cost.  I would like to add some small melons to the garden for an ice cream or desert/fruit trays in the summer.

Cash is going to be a bit tight for the next pay day because I want to get the rice for the 7 year barrel and I’m trying to pay up on insurance and pay down my credit account for the tires plus rebuild the cash emergency fund. Sad to say I got a little complacent on debt before the water fiasco. It’s amazing how easy it is to get sucked back into the “debt slavery” cycle and how tempting  to believe if you can just make the payment everything will be fine.  One thing good about the new saving plan is it bothers me a lot when I use the “emergency fund” and want to replace it ASAP. I never felt that way before and always had an excuse to spend all the cash I had monthly. Now I don’t think I spent the money foolishly and I usually had something of value to show for what I spent, but in some ways I think it was a bit of a “cop out” for myself that I could not save cash because “I’m on a fixed income” excuse.

I worked very hard to get the tools I needed to do the work needed to grow a little bit of my own food, have a bit stored and the means to protect it. Now I have to do the work using those tools and get busy building some new skill sets instead of paying to do things the easy way.  I sort of forgot that simple and easy are not the same thing. Time to work on the simple things!

11 Responses to Mom and I got a bunch of plants on sale 4 pony packs for $5.00

  1. Dannyboy53 says:

    Sounds like you are right on track despite adversity Jamie, you “continue to march” and that, as you know, is the important thing!

    I suppose most people in our condition have fell into the “can’t save-fixed income” thing. It does make some things a little more difficult but it’s what a person gets used to and disciplines themselves to do that matters.

    You bring up a very good point that I feel so many of us have forgotten. Simple and easy are not the same and it is time we got back to the basics.

    • Jamie says:

      Dannyboy, I guess I got a bit spoiled. I did work hard to reduce my cost of living but a sort of treated the savings as “free” money. A prize/reward that I could spend on crap because I was such a “good prepper”.
      While I hate what happened with the Water main fiasco it did make me take a hard look at my attitude and regain some focus on dealing with those small personal disaster rather than the whole WWIII/economic collapse. I think I was looking at the big picture and missed a few of the small details.

      If you take care of the pennies the dollars will look after themselves.

  2. Tomatoes and Peppers are actually pretty closely related and will pass the same diseases back and forth. Not that it matters as long as you switched beds However I would recommend planting a tobacco plant as a companion for your tomatoes. Why? Because I have noticed that the hornworms really prefer tobacco over tomatoes and we really don’t get excited if they eat the tobacco plants so much.

    Just a suggestion I have found useful.

    Gratz on making it all come together….

    • Jamie says:

      pioneer, The gypsy peppers are supposed to help with the hornworms and a disease that affects both tomatoes and tobbaco. Not sure if it is true but I think it’s worth trying them out.

  3. Marilyn says:

    Taking responsibility for the mistake, misunderstanding, attitude or whatever a person terms it is a huge accomplishment in itself. What a different world it would be if everyone took responsibility rather than make excuses.

    Also, excellent thinking on using the clay soil in your beds. You will need to amend it as you said but straight bagged soil would have required more watering.

    • Jamie says:

      Marilyn: I have a great Mom who could handle almost anything but lying So I learned to tell the truth early. Learning to be honest with myself as an adult to a little more time. LOL

      I think I have enough sand, straw and manure to get at least one and maybe 2 of the new raised beds going. I’m going to try and dig these deeper into the soil and not just have them sit on top of the grass. I think that will cut down on the weeds and since the beds are deeper they could work as a cold frame by adding some heavey plastic.

  4. hmmmm did my comment go into your spam list again?

  5. Kimberly says:

    Hi Jamie,
    I love reading your site, and following your progress. I stumbled on it last year and went back and read all of your entries. The way you write makes it so much easier for me to “see” what you are saying which is so helpful.

    I want to share with you that I also use raised beds for my veggies (on my 3rd year) and I adjusted their sizes from 4×4 to a new shape at 2-1/2′ x 8′. Not only does it save my back but I no longer have to reach far to pull weeds or plant the beds. I will never have to walk on them and they just are so much more manageable for me. I have 10 of those beds now, and growing.

    I am also incorporating perrenials into my plan to be self sustainable on my small city lot. I have raspberries, rhubarb, Jerusalem artichokes, grapes, strawberries, asparagus. And added baby chicks this spring. And started a rain catchment.

    I want you to know that you are an inspiration to me, as a woman especially (gotta love how you don’t quit)!

    • Jamie says:

      Kimberly, Well you just made my day with your kind words.

      I’m sort of commited to the 4×4 foot beds since the wood is already cut but I think the beds you made are a great idea/size. Heck it is always a learning experience. I’m hoping that growing the plants up will help with the physical work.

      I’m got my first 3 raspberry bushes this year and I’m hoping the strawberry bucket will work. My aunt is growing sunchokes for the first time and I’m waiting to see how well they do for her.

      I think I keep going because I was never allowed to give up. Plus I’m not quite sure when it happened but I learned to embrace failure rather than fear it. Failure is probably the best teacher around as long as you don’t let it discourage you. Far to many people I meet just give up at the first failure or never start because they fear failure.

      Well if you don’t start I figure you are a failure already but most people don’t see it that way.

