Huge score on wood for this winter!

I will be getting about 3 cords of elm cut and split for the price of my old gas mower and gas grill.  That will cover the next wood heating season and at no cash cost to me.  It looks like the elm puts out a good mid range fire between my mill ends and the fruit woods I bought last year. I will get some more of the fruit wood from the local orchards this summer and by August I should be set for the year or more for heating.  While the wood won’t be exactly “free” it will be cheap and sure help out with the energy costs for the year.

I have been a bit more bold about barter opportunities and it seems to be paying off in a big way. I’m going to stop by Nampa Brewers and fill my Growler with some of the pale ale I made during the brew in a bag demonstration. Deb is going to keg the beer as she is not fond of the bottling process.  I don’t really blame her as bottling the beer is not much fun but it is a lot cheaper based on up front equipment cost. Rebelbrewers.com has a cool thing of capture wild yeast in your area and building a database for brewing.  I think it might be fun to see how well a local yeast strain works for beer brewing.  I know that a local yeast makes a pretty good tasting sourdough bread.  It is amazing just how much stuff  Mama Nature will provide if you just learn a few skills.

The Ham radio test is on Saturday so I’m doing a bit of study and Dad has been cramming so he can get his tech Lic. for Ham radio as well.  I think it kind of shook Dad a bit that Mom passed her test and got some very nice congrats from several Ham operators.  Dad is is smart but he is a hands on sort of guy and not as good at memorization , but I think he will do okay if he just takes his time on the test.  Some of the questions need a bit of care that you don’t read into the question. At least that tends to be my problem, as well as the differences of Army communications and the civilian side of the house.  I think I will do okay but I’m not stressing out as I can always take the test again next month if I fail.

Things are not looking great for the global economy or that WWIII thingy but all you can do is keep working on what you can control and that tends to be a very small area.  If you are feeling a bit of unease or even panic I would write out what you are most concerned about and do an inventory of you basics. Focus on your weak points and if money is a bit tight your skills or a  short test or two. Those test should help build your confidence!

One Response to Huge score on wood for this winter!

  1. Dannyboy53 says:

    “Things are not looking great for the global economy or that WWIII thingy but all you can do is keep working on what you can control and that tends to be a very small area. If you are feeling a bit of unease or even panic I would write out what you are most concerned about and do an inventory of you basics. Focus on your weak points and if money is a bit tight your skills or a short test or two. Those test should help build your confidence!”

    Very good advice Jamie!

