We are Hams

Both Dad and I passed the test today, heck I was worried about him and it took me two tries to pass. LOL  Cost an extra $14.00 to retake the test but it’s worth it.  Mom is now studying for the general lic.  and Dad says he will have to study for it to keep up with Mom. Strange but kind of sweet in a way, as he explained Mom did Coast Guard Aux. with him so he will do the Ham radio stuff with her.  I recommend using the flash cards as I got blindsided by a couple of questions that were not covered in the 2010 study guide. Not the study guide’s fault because I must have missed a couple of questions that were covered.

I stopped by Nampa Brewers to fill a growler of the pale ale I brewed for the demonstration and it did not get filled. Just a trickle of customers but it kept Deb busy and making money comes first in a business. I did get to to sit around and chat with some of the customers and it’s always fun to talk to other brewers. I’ll stop by again on Wednesday when I get the “Bootlegger Bottle”  I’ll get the growler filled and perhaps a 2 liter soda bottle as my pay for the demonstration.  I want to do some experimentation with the Bootlegger Bottle before I recommend it to anyone but I tried some of Deb’s Cider and you can tell it is an alcoholic beverage and taste just a bit harsh not bad overall and with a little aging it would probably be smoother.  But not bad for 24 hours processing time.

I got the first load of the elm for this winter. After the Ham test Dad took his wood splitter out to my aunt’s and got some of the elm split. Dad only brought over a pickup load but it made the biggest stack of the hard wood I have had to date and there is more to come!  Now I have to clean out that area so I can have enough room for all the wood.  This is a very nice problem to have before summer officially starts.  I need to get busy cutting up the mill ends once all the garden beds are filled up and growing. That will make heating with wood this winter much easier to handle.

I got my official water bill and while it’s a bit higher than what was “normal” I think this clears me of most excess water usage for the water main and the irrigation pipe getting cut. I conserve, but with the beer brewing and stuff I do to prep I think I will just have a higher water bill until I get the whole rain water collection system up and working.  I’m not sure I can afford to do the whole rain collection system but I think I can swing the 525 gallon cistern this summer since I’m pretty well set for firewood.

One thing I have found is you can’t let yourself focus on those little disasters that happen to all of us from time to time. While I need to pay back my Dad I can’t let that be my only goal as other things need doing and most take some money to get going.  I have setup the payment plan and I’m adding in the emergency fund so I don’t get blindsided again. Water main thing is under control and I’m moving on to the next goal.

 

8 Responses to We are Hams

  1. Dannyboy53 says:

    Congratulations to each of you on passing the test!

  2. Jamie says:

    Thanks Danny boy I’m pretty happy that it’s done and we have a little better long range coms as a backup.

  3. Tiffany says:

    Congratulations !! I have been reading your blog for a while .I really enjoy it.I just never post .

  4. Matt says:

    Good deal, Jamie. Now go after that general and start looking around for a good used HF rig.

    Now I can officially say 73 to you.

    • Jamie says:

      Matt, My Dad was asking when and where he should put up the Antennas and when was I getting the Monster radio setup? LOL

      I think I’ll stick with the little Baofeng handheld for now. Paying down the woodstove and paying back my parents for the water main are my big money goals.

  5. riverrider says:

    j, congrats. i was working to get mine until i saw a blurb on tv this morning about the 750,000 new hams. they were asking why the huge uptick. so far they bought the line about helping leo communicate during natural disaster. btw, belgium supposedly bought more of our debt than they have funds. turns out the u.s. bought its own debt using belgium as cover. so we bought our own debt with borrowed money. hmmm, can’t be long now.

    • Jamie says:

      river, Dad and I were surprised how many people took the test with us. I’d say about 12 people were there at 9:00 am on Saturday. Most were tech lic. but there were a few general Lic. as well. For us newbies not having to learn morse code helps but I think the cheap Baofeng SW radio makes becoming a HAM much more affordable.

      I saw that about Belgium buying bonds awhile back and thought maybe Russia might have liquidated it’s bonds at first. But it was our own USA laundering QE! It is getting surreal!

