Got the watermelon planted and added wood mulch around the beds

Only needed to make one stop for the mulch and watermelon plant. Not sure if it’s a joke on me,  but there was a basil plant in the watermelon section. At least I can recognize basil and manage to get the watermelon plant this time.  I picked up 6 of the bags of mulch and got most of the walkways between the beds covered.  I think the area looks very nice with the red of the mulch contrasting with the green of the garden plants.  Found some info about fixing clay soil and while it was talking about a 100 sq. ft. area for a garden, I think that will be good section of the yard for me to work on.  Where water main was dug is devoid of grass anyway so I can start there and work out towards the rest of the yard.  In the areas that have grass I am using my garden fork to poke holes in the soil while it is wet and after it drys I will add some gypsum that should  aerate the soil. This will be one of those long term projects!

The hard lemonade is bottled but instead of adding lemon zest I added a few drops of lemon essential oil. So far the taste is mostly alcohol but I hope it will improve after sitting in the bottle for a few days. The bootlegger bottle could be used to make herbal elixirs for your natural medicine chest.  I think I could make my favorite cough remedy using real lemon juice and honey as the ferment-able sugar.   This is a new way of making alcohol so there is a bit of a learning curve but this test shows that even using a powdered drink mix it is possible to make an Adult beverage.

June is starting to like a busy month doing work in the yard, setting up the outdoor kitchen and getting all the wood cut and stacked for this winter.  I have made a lot of progress on my 2014 goals even with the water main issue which kind of surprised me.

3 Responses to Got the watermelon planted and added wood mulch around the beds

  1. Dannyboy53 says:

    Sounds like you are back in full stride Jamie, I’m happy to hear it! We have had some adversity strike at our house and have been dealing with it for the past six months so I understand.

    Gardening is a favorite activity for many of us across the country and also appears to have become a necessity, making it all the more worthwhile.

  2. Jamie says:

    Dannyboy: I’m not sure if you feel this way but sometimes when things go wrong I get angry with myself saying this “event” is nothing compared to a disaster or if the SHTF or some people have it worse than me.
    While those statments are often true, I can say that “Things suck quite enough for me during the “event” and I don’t think a competition in misery is needed at this time.”
    For myself I can usually turn the “event” into a learning experience but that does not make it suck less!

    I wasn’t much of a gardener before I got sick, in fact I was darn deadly to garden plants. Though it has taken many years I am starting to enjoy gardening. There is something just a little bit thrilling when the plant you started pokes through the dirt and grows green.

  3. Dannyboy53 says:

    I believe you are exactly right Jamie. While i recognize there are people much worse off than I am, I fail to see how that makes my plight any less significant to me!

    And yes it is very meaningful to see our efforts qualified when a seed becomes a plant struggling up through the dirt. I suppose it’s simply our nature to have a hand in creating living things especially among the death and destruction around the world. Growing plants is very therapeutic.

    Sorry…I didn’t intend to get all philosophical!

