Mixing things up and a little help from Dad

I made up my first batch of essential oil pain relief salve based on my Aunt’s recipe. I used 8 oz. of Coconut oil by weight, 1 oz.  of beeswax by weight and then 10 drops each of Peppermint, Camphor, Eucalyptus and Lavender essential oils. The texture of the salve is perfect, now I need to test and see if the essential oil mixture is enough for pain relief.  It took a day or two for me to see the results from my aunt’s pain relief salve, so it might take a bit of time to get the recipe correct.  What is cool about making your own salve is you can tweak the recipe so it works for you. If I need to up the amount of essential oils all I have to do is reheat the salve in a crock pot set on low and add more oils.  Another thing that seems to be helping with my CIDP especially with the crazy cramps that jerk me awake, very unpleasant and quite painful. I’m adding 600 mg of Alpha Lipoic Acid, a multi-mineral tablet of Calcium, Magnesium and Zinc along with the normal D3 and B Complex I take daily.  Alpha Lipoic Acid is generating some buzz helping with nueropathy type pain. While I  still hurt, I haven’t had any of those crazy cramps and I think this mix has really helped me recover from all of the yard work I have done the last few days. It’s a lot easier to stock up and store vitamins compared to prescription pain meds.  Getting self-sufficient making my own pain/healing salves and other medicines is high on my todo list.

My Bootlegger lemonade taste improved a lot after it was bottled and chilled for a few days. It is very smooth and few people think it is a an alcoholic beverage but it is a good sipping beverage for summer after a hard days work.  A few people commented that brewing/fermenting would be much more accessible to them because the time from start to finish is so much shorter compared to traditional methods. The Bootlegger bottle is also very cheap for start up costs to start fermenting compared to more traditional methods.  I made up a batch of the German wheat beer today and I hope to do an Amber ale as well as a Porter type beer this week.  I really want to compete this year in the beer category at the County fair and this should give me at least a couple of entries if the turn out tasting good. If you are looking for a fun hobby that touches a bit on your inner “Mad Scientist” along with making a great barter/trade good I would recommend you learn to ferment/brew.

Dad stopped by early today to moved the RV back into place. Needless to say I was not quite ready for him to be all ambitious to get stuff done around 9:00 am on a Sunday morning. But he moved the RV and removed the microwave from it’s slot above the oven. He said he almost did not recognize the backyard because of all the work I got done in the garden area/yard. It might be a bit odd as I’m nearly 50 years old and it still makes me feel great when my parents say they are proud/impressed with when I do something that looks good.  Much of the work I have done the past five years was not obvious, but was building a foundation for the future.  Now what I’m doing is visible and it’s sort of funny how much more real my progress is to myself as well as others.

Making your yearly goals is so important! Speaking for myself, a lot of what I have done was not readily apparent and by having goals you can see the progress you are making to become self-reliant. It’s the little things you do that eventually add up to accomplishing a yearly goal.

P.S. I have been commenting on many of your blogs but Blogger seems to be eating my comments. I am reading and learning more and more from everyone. So don’t think I’m ignoring you

Comments are closed.

