Microwave arrived and I have the tools already for Dad

The new microwave is here and I moved the blower motor so it will work with my vent. Did a quick test to make sure it worked and got all the tools and stuff ready for installation. This mirowave is much lighter than the old one and I’m a little surprised about using Lag bolts on the wall mounting frame which seems a bit excessive to hold the microwave in place.   I have two wall studs for attaching the wall bracket and the old heavy microwave did not have a wall mounting bracket at all and hung from the overhead cupboards by three bolts.  I’m a little surprised the whole darn cupboard and microwave did not come crashing down considering how it was installed.  From what I understand finding these little surprises is not all that odd in an older home. As I work on replacing and updating some of the things in the house I’m doing the utmost to replace/install things the right way. Cost a bit more in money, time and effort but it should pay off in peace of mind.  A lot of the things I’m finding  wrong seem to be “attention to detail” type stuff and honestly it looks like some things are done just to get by with things on hand, rather than spend a few dollars to do it the right way.

My aunt stopped by and picked up the spent grains from the  wheat beer and she liked how my garden and yard is starting to shape up. She really like how the potato buckets look and said she would like to try doing taters next year via the buckets. My aunt is a plant/garden guru and is super smart growing plants. If I can impress her just a little bit with my little garden stuff  it means I’m doing things the right way.  Dad is running out the my aunt’s place to get some more wood for me and I hope it will clear out the space she wants to use for whatever.  I have a space for the wood and won’t have to play “catch up” on stacking it.  The new compost pile needs some green to balance out all the brown I had in the little bin. A big advantage to having the compost bin made of pallets is I can see how the mix looks and if it needs a certain item to keep it working. Plus trying to mix and turn over compost in that small bin was dang near impossible.

Update on how the pain relief salve is working:

I think the vitamins/minerals are helping a lot with recovery after doing heavy work as I define it considering my disability. The other day I had a wild little hand cramp that made my fingers go into “Vulcan mindmeld mode” but worse. I rubbed a bit of the pain relief salve and in less than 30 seconds the cramp released.  There is still a little bit of ache but the cramp did not come back.  I think the lavender essential oil sort of augmented the effectiveness of the other oils. It seems the salve is very effective for me and I will give a jar to Mom and test with her pain from Fybro. We may have to tweak the recipe a bit but I think we are on the right track.  When I have these crazy cramps it usually takes a good long soak in hot water and watching how I move so the muscles don’t go into spasm/cramp again.  Using these essential oils to give me relief has been a huge boon for me as I can’t always depend on having hot water or heat on demand if the power goes out.  I much prefer using some simple natural ingredients rather than heavy narcotics for pain relief.  Now I just need to add the Medicinal plant bed and learn to make my own essential oils. LOL

One thing about getting self-reliant one thing learned always seems to lead to another skill you need to master.

 

7 Responses to Microwave arrived and I have the tools already for Dad

  1. Dannyboy53 says:

    Jamie this is fascinating and awesome. If you wouldn’t mind posting the “recipe” for this salve I would like for Mary to try it. Last year her hips were broken when a horse fell on her. She was in a wheelchair three months. Although she has recovered and is back managing the horse ranch (not breaking horses anymore however!) she has pain and muscle spasms frequently in her lower back. Sounds as though this would help her.

    Or you can get my email address from Soffitrat and send it that way.

    • Jamie says:

      Dannyboy: the recipe is simple. 8 oz. of coconut oil and 1 oz. of beeswax makes the basic “carrier salve”. For essential oils I used 10 drops each of Peppermint, eucalyptus, camphor and lavender essential oils. Melt the beeswax and coconut oil in a crock pot set to low, add the oils and jar it.

      Everything can be found at the local mega mart or Amazon but the beeswax. Cheese wax is beeswax so a non-colored cheese wax could be substituted if you can’t get beeswax.

      You might try making a massage oil using a good quality olive, grapeseed or tea tree oil and omit the beeswax if you can’t find it locally.

      Add the Calcium D3, Calcium, Magnesium & Zinc, a good B vitamin complex and the Alpha Lipoic Acid. I think these vitamins and minerals have helped with the cramps and muscle soreness as well as help me recover physically after a hard days work. I’m just guesstimating but after all the work I did getting the garden and wood pile area ready should have taken about 2 weeks based on my normal work hard one day and take one-two days off to recover my strength and wait for the pain to ease. I’d like to think I’m working smarter, but the vitamins really seem to make my recovery time much shorter. I’m not anywhere close to 100% but I can put in about 2-3 hous of physical labor per day about 3 days in a row and then take a recovery day or two. That recovery time is a huge thing for me as just mowing my front lawn used to wipe me out for a day and mowing that took about 30 minutes before I was disabled.

  2. Dannyboy53 says:

    Thank you so much Jamie! I’m going to copy this and email it to her computer and get started on it. She has always been very active and is now frustrated because she can’t do like she used to without all the pain.

    I’m really glad to hear you found something that helps you.

    • Jamie says:

      Dannyboy So far it does not get rid of all the pain though it does seem to destroy those crazy cramps/muscle spasm for me. I’m guessing she can handle a low level ache or pain but needs a bit of relief when the muscle spasms/cramps start up. You might have to tweak the recipe a bit for it to work for you. The lavendar imostly makes the other oils work a bit better. I think the eucalyptus and camphor affect the muscles and the peppermint the nerves. Just my own reaction so she may have add a few drops of other oils to see how they work for her. One good thing about this salve is you can still use a heating pad for direct heat unlike a capsacium type muscle rub from the drug store.

      • Dannyboy53 says:

        She uses a heating pad but as you point out it is very uncomfortable with any of the several ointments or creams that we apply.

        She has a very high tolerance to pain but after a while constant pain simply gets on a persons nerves! She is a full blood Cherokee and has strange notions (to me anyway!) about medications. She has refused the offers by her Doctor of pain killers. But she has an iron will and keeps on going each day.

        I’m hoping this will give her some relief, sounds like it may do very well judging by your reaction to it. I’m familiar with how painful and debilitating your situation is.

        Thank you again for sharing this Jamie!

      • Jamie says:

        Dannyboy: That constant pain just wears you out mentally and physically. The small aches and pains are not to bad but some pains just can’t be ignored.
        I often say constant pain feels like hitting yourself in the head with a sledgehammer because it feels so good when you stop and you will do most anything to make the pain stop!

        I was very skeptical about essential oils until I tried my Aunt’s pain relief salve,. That took about 2 days of use to start working. I think using the lavendar oil and how fast the oil worked on my hand cramp avoids the placebo effect but she can make these oils and grow the most everything in the garden. Nothing more than most of humanity did for medical care before the advent of “modern medicine” in the last 150 years. We just got used to take a pill , chemical or elixir made by chemist rather than the “medicine man”.

  3. Dannyboy53 says:

    We’re in agreement on that Jamie. Mankind has lost so much knowledge of medicinal plants from the past, Early Americans grew natural herbs and spices around the house because it worked for them. The American Indians knew a great deal about the healing properties of various plants. And as far as I know there are no harmful side effects to any of these things unless some of them are misused in some way or too much is taken!

