Losing weight and some cool weather

One of the worse things about this CIDP has been gaining weight. Between the steroids and not being able to work out due to weakness along with my age it has been  tough to lose weight.  Some good news is I got out the summer clothes and last year’s shorts not only fit but are a little loose. It is probably just a couple of inches but it a nice surprise. I  don’t measure my weight in pounds but by how my clothes fit and with these new vitamins/minerals I can work longer and recover more quickly. I think that is what is burning off some of the fat. Plus I have add a few more garden beds, rebuilding the lawn and using the wood stove which are more physical jobs compared to the previous years.  I am also eating more “real food” from the pantry made from scratch, rather than the processed “easy to cook” food.  It is slow so far, but better to lose it slow and have your body adjust rather than a starvation diet,  loosing weight fast and then put it right back on.

Very cool today and we have several days coming up that will be in the 70’s so it is a great time to get stuff done both in the yard as well as cooking inside.  I love the new microwave and having the exhaust fan and lighting directly over the stove.  I didn’t realize how much I missed going without those items  until I got them back.  Once I can afford the new dishwasher I’ll probably do a major happy dance. More than anything I love getting usable counter space back that I can use for cooking space and not just to hold gadgets.  I’m still sort of playing with the setup to make everything work which I will probably change again once I get the dishwasher but that is a problem I don’t mind having on my to do list.

My black ale did not turn out as well as I had hoped though the German wheat turned out better than average. I’m not sure if I had a contamination issue with the black ale but good beer usually has an earthy smell and this time the black ale had a very sharp smell. I saved the beer and it tastes okay but not one of my best efforts.  I have been lucky so far and have not made an undrinkable beer that I needed throw away.  I think I got a little cocky and was not as careful following all the steps needed to make good beer.  While it is cool I’m going to start an Amber Lager and bake some bread to freeze. I have few other jobs I want to get done or a at least started before it gets hot again. Looks like a busy 4-5 days!

3 Responses to Losing weight and some cool weather

  1. Dannyboy53 says:

    You are right Jamie, there are two things I have learned that are absolute. It is much easier to put on weight than to take it off and the older one gets the harder it is to take off!

