Cutting wood and weeds

After Dad moved the RV back to it’s normal parking spot it got hard to walk through to the alley as some of the wood pile sort of spread out.  The wood area became sort of a catch all for limbs and branches from my tree trimmings.  I needed to clean and organize it a bit just so it easier to cut and stack the mill-ends. One of the lessons learned about the wood stove is you can’t have to much kindling, saving some the tree trimmings and letting them dry worked out good but I had to get those branches down to kindling size. I almost filled a 32 gallon rolling garbage can with the branches I could break by hand and it did not take all that long to do. The bigger branches I cut with the B&D battery chain saw.  Gosh I love using that little saw!

The weeds in the alley are awful, mostly cheat grass and goat-heads. I used the weed wacker to cut everything as close to the ground as possible and then raked everything up. If I can stay on top of it I should be able to make a dent in the cheat grass, the goat-heads will have to be dug up then tossed.  I don’t want to use a chemical plant killer but find a good plant that will look nice plus help choke out the weeds. I think lavender would be good in one area but I end up laying down a barrier and adding rock to hold it in place.

Got a start on the “slash pile” and  it will take time getting it cleaned up. This is a big job for me and it is one of those jobs that does not show daily progress very well.  It will just look like a pile of dirt and wood until it is all cleaned up.  One reason I was so happy about getting the wood from my Aunt G. is it is contained, no dirt or trash and I can work on it and see progress. Dad said I  didn’t need to worry about stacking the elm as it is already dry and is protected from rain/weather.  If you start letting things slide too much, all of sudden it seems like you have a big mess. It is as much about attitude as it is appearance for me.

The wood mulch is working out great. I am fighting  some morning glory and some other weeds but over all I think wood mulch idea is working.  I’m not seeing a huge benefit using the landscape cloth compared to laying the mulch directly on the grass/weeds.  In some ways it seems easier to deal with the weeds without the landscape cloth.  One bonus is I no longer have to mow between the raised beds and it was kind of a pain to go around all the beds and I still had to use the weed wacker where the mower did not cut.

The new raised bed just had the first little weeds appear so I’m changing my mental mindset to weeding.  Right now I grab a few weeds while I check the plants and with my small beds I can keep up with the weeds if I clean around my plants everyday. The little bit every day seems to work better for me rather than letting the weeds go for a longer time and making it an all day job. I added a bit of old rabbit poo to the big bed as the soil was starting to build a clay crust.  I’m working on the compost pile but I’m not feeling much in the way of heat. The mix is not correct yet!  But I thought that might happen with me starting it off “brown heavy”.

With my CIDP doing  several  different jobs that use different movements seems to work better rather than doing the same sort of movements for the same amount of time.  The new mineral/vitamin mix helps a lot on my recovery time and the pain relief salve is a huge help with the pain/cramps/spasms.  With a chronic “condition ” It can be very hard to motivates yourself to work in spite of the pain.  If you have injury you need to rest it and let it heal. But with my CIDP I can’t rest the injury and too much rest is contra-indicated most of the time.  Working those muscles, bones and nerves might hurt,  but if I don’t over do it, I know I feel better at least mentally and usually physically.

2 Responses to Cutting wood and weeds

  1. Marilyn says:

    Something else you could add to the kindling supply is pine cones. Owners of pine trees usually welcome anyone who offers to pick up the cones. I find the cones from long needled pines work best. You don’t need more than 2 or 3 cones, depending on their size, to get a fire in a wood burning stove going. Don’t go overboard for sure because the pine pitch in the cones is hot and could cause a problem.

    • Jamie says:

      Marilyn: That is a great idea! I’m going to add a 5 gallon bucket to the mini-van and see about gathering pinecones. I don’t have a pine tree on my place but the neighbor does and it drops a cone or two from time to time on my property.
      If the elm burns over night like the apple wood, I won’t even need a match to fire up the wood stove in the AM this winter, just a few coals and a couple of pinecones.

