Darn weather and still looking for a dog

Don’t get me wrong I love how it has cooled off but the changing pressure and T-storms rolling through has set up an ache in every part of the body I managed to break, sprain or ripped cartilage/bursa and major soft tissue damage I have done.  That’s not even counting my CIDP or the wonders of menopause that I seem to have the joy to experience now.  Yes! I am whining about how much I hurt!  I do seem to be getting back on top of  dealing with the pain, though this storm affected more than I had anticipated.  I have been a bit lazy and not doing enough work to keep the muscles and joints working at optimal levels.  I need to up my puttering in the yard level and cut back a bit on my TV/news watching level.

While the dog I was looking at in the shelter was “no joy” as he sort of treated Diana as an animated chew toy there are a couple of other dogs that have some potential and might go on sale this month.  I think the rotties I saw advertised might be a scam and so I’m playing that out. I can’t imagine that it is so hard to get rid of free Rottweiler pups in Michigan compared to Idaho.  Perhaps I’m doing these folks a disservice but I can’t imagine advertising free dogs in Idaho that must be shipped from Michigan is how most average dog owners want to get rid of free pups . It just feels wrong overall and as it is said when a deal looks to good to be true, it probably is…I  trust I will find the right dog if I’m patient something will show up that will be a good fit.  Now that I have watched Diana get such joy about meeting new dogs it is apparent that she really misses Tuffy and needs a doggy companion. While she is getting on at 11 years old and has a few health/genetic issues due to her breed she is pretty healthy overall.

Onto the first straw mulch experiment result. My Nasturtium flowers are already much happier along with the romaine type lettuces. Now that might be do to the slightly cooler temps but I think the straw mulch has shown results this fast and I did not expect it to do the work that quickly.  Now we have gotten a bit of rain but usually the front yard soil sucks it up like a sponge and that is not happening this time even just adding mulch to a somewhat small area. I’m sure that the folks that compost and mulch are thinking “Well Duh!” but this concept is new to me. Especially how laying mulch in one area will tend to improve water retention in adjoining areas of the yard.  I’m still learning and I don’t think I have laid out the mulch properly to kill weeds though it is a big help for water retention.  This is one area I can see that more is better and I will be laying out mulch and even compost in the garden beds starting at 4 inches thick and 6-8 inches would be better overall. On the grass growing area over the water main I think a good 4 inches of compost/mulch is a good start and at least a 2 inch depth of compost to regrow grass in a weedy yard is a good start.  This not the fastest way to build soil though I’m fairly surprised how well it helps with water retention if not actual growth.  Go thick with mulch as I have found that a thin layer helps with water retention but you need to go thick to kill weeds.  My garden is kind of going berserk with growth and I haven’t changed much besides adding a bit of rabbit poo and the mulch. I really need to thin out plants and that is not a problem I had in the past.

It can be difficult to check an attitude of superiority and listen to others that do the work.  I’m sure you have read or met many preppers that get all superior and talk a good game but do the work or show how things do not work to theory not so much!  I blog what I do and often I’m a slacker and I still can’t find the broccoli seeds I want to gatherer and did not think about before having an admired garden.  I’m still learning though I think I have turned the corner of hoping and planing.  I was not ready for a good garden harvest.  I’m not going to beat myself up about wasted food as I’m getting better with gardening but it does hurt a bit to see food go to waste.

 

 

7 Responses to Darn weather and still looking for a dog

  1. Dannyboy53 says:

    Jamie isn’t it amazing at how decent we get at predicting the weather as we get older? Especially when we have old injuries that flare up when the barometer changes!

    And it’s true that even though it may be hard to roll out of the rack in the morning, once one gets started it turns out to be not so bad until the end of the day and we sound taps on another one.

    Then we start the cycle all over again!

  2. Dannyboy53 says:

    Jamie I wanted to mention a product that has worked very well for my wife. She has been taking a natural herb for a couple of months called Black Cohosh (menopausal health) that can be found at Walmart or any health food or drug store. She said this has mellowed her out better than anything she has ever tried (I can attest to that!). Mood changes and hot flashes disappeared within a couple of days.

    • Jamie says:

      Dannyboy I will look into that as I don’t like the soy pills for menopause symptoms. I can deal most of them but the hot flashes have been brutal this summer. I don’t think I have the problem of mood changes but live alone and so many are outside of the “impact area” of any mood changes.

  3. Jamie says:

    Danny boy sometimes rolling out of the rack is brutal but movement while it may be a bit uncomfortable to start it certainly helps me feel better overall. I’m amazed that people think my pain is different than their pain. I have no idea about anyone’s particular pain tolerance and though I have sucked it up and drove through the pain. I have also sat and whimpered at times because the pain was almost more than I could tolerate.
    I suppose I do get peeved at some that seem to think I am a wimp or that things are easy for me. But such is life and I have people in my own family that think since I don’t work because I’m disabled that life is easy.
    I won’t say my life is easy but it pretty simple. Funny the ones that think my life is so easy and different from their lives can’t even bake bread or raise a simple garden because it’s “easier” for me.

    Funny I don’t see a special instruction or recipe for us disabled people on yeast or garden seed packets.

    • Dannyboy53 says:

      I know what you are saying. I’m 61 yrs old and have paid social security for 43 years so I am entitled to what I draw. I think that is how we should look at it and to hell with what anyone else thinks!
      People like you and I have “paid our dues”. I don’t want to step on any toes with this but possibly at least some of those people you speak of are a wee bit envious therefore resent your “lifestyle”. That is the impression I get from a few of my family and friends.

      As for others that seem to think of you as a “wimp”, what is an acceptable or unacceptable pain level to THEM? There is no measurement such as how fast one can run! Pain is a matter of individual perception but most people do not experience even a low level of pain day in and day out and how it begins to emotionally grind a person down after a while. They haven’t a clue as to what it is like!

      I have a saying that I use with some frequency among the very few a$$hats around me, “your personal opinion of me matters to no one but you”. I don’t have a lot of “friends” because I am so brutally frank when I feel they have stepped into my space, but I don’t lose any sleep over it either! I’m not a “social animal”.

      Jamie you impress the hell out of some of us, you simply do not quit Lady.

  4. riverrider says:

    j, you will know the right dog when you see it. we just adopted another as a companion for our sheppard mix. he is happy and so is the new guy. he’s getting used to the cats and they are slowing getting used to him. he means them no harm but wants to play. so far so good. he is an excellent guard dog too. my sheppard is teaching him right and he is fitting in well. you just know. take care.

    • Jamie says:

      river, I think you are right. While I’m searching for a good fit for a dog I’m not in a panic that I must get a dog. I think that is what many folks sort of miss about preparing is how important that lack of panic and how much it reduces your stress.

      I know I’ll find the right dog in time and I’m not going to go for the first animal and hope for the best. No, I want all critters to be happy at Casa de Chaos and while I am willing to a bit training I don’t need another stressor of a bad pet mismatch.

