Much happier post about the garden and shopping for Mom

Starting to get some tomatoes, patty pan squash and lemon cukes on the vines and they are just about ready to harvest. I have some purple cabbage, celery and more romaine to harvest. My purple cabbage did much better than the green cabbage, I guess the color confuses the local bugs. I can pull the broccoli as the bees seem to have done all they could with the flowers and I’ll move my pepper plants to that bed as the tomatoes have kind of choked those pepper plants out with more growth than I anticipated.

I tried the solar oven with a 16 bean recipe but it was a bust as we have a storm rolling in and it got shady. I’ll just put the pot in the fridge and finish them up on Wednesday in the solar over or on the stove.  Hopefully we get a rain shower so I won’t have to water on Wednesday. So far the valley is doing good on water but just west of us in Oregon, water is in short supply.  Conserving water is one of my “things” since I have gone without tap water for several days, I don’t take water for granted.

I did some shopping for Mom at Albertson’s since it is close to my house and she can save a little gas. She does the same for me if there is a sale on her side of town where she shops. Any way this shopping list would be scourge of congress critters playing poor as she spent about $26.00 and got a 10 pound bag of chicken quarters, 2 whole chickens, 6 cans of veggies, 6 packs of ramen and 4 soup cups of ramen, 4 cans of soup and 2 bags of corn muffin mix. I’m a big believer in cooking from scratch but I don’t see anything wrong with having some quick and easy stuff to cook if you get a good price.  If you have a garden and some rice , pasta and grains you could easily make a couple of weeks of dinner and lunches with all this stuff.  Sad to say the Progresso recipe starters for 50 cents a can sold out. I checked out the normal price of the recipe starter and it is over $2.50 a can so I assume these cans on sale are just getting close to the best used by date of Oct. 2014 is why they went on sale.  I have used these recipe starters  if you get them on sale they will make a great addition to your panty.

I told Mom about my little dream and she remarked just how bad it shook me and I had to agree.  I have had some very bad scares in my life about being paralyzed when I crushed 3 vertebrae in my back or this CIDP would make me an invalid unable to care for myself but that dream terrified me in some ways I can’t even express verbally or in writing. I don’t think it was all that bad because the dream forced me to deal with some issues I had been avoiding about how bad things are starting to get in the USA.  Let me just say I have a less than a lively respect for what passes as the “Rule of Law” as is defined here in America. Protect yourself and your family first and at all times and don’t place yourself in situations where the law forbids you to do that.  I might get blindsided but I will never put myself in a place where I have no options to defend myself.

5 Responses to Much happier post about the garden and shopping for Mom

  1. denim3225 says:

    I have had terrifying dreams of mad max type things that woke me up in a pool of sweat. They were bad. I am getting very worried now of things coming into the radar. I am trying to rebuild my pantry,but I have so many issues with my husband being hurt and dealing with my parents nursing home and legal things, I am literally running like I am in a hamster wheel plus trying to take care of me.
    I tried the Portobello progresso base,but I did not care for it. I like the tomato base though. I used the mushroom base for stroganoff ,but I was not impressed. We get a tomato base here made by Goya and it’s superb. It is perfect for Mexican and Italian cooking.
    I use your guides for putting away. It is shocking what you can do with sale items. We don’t have a lot stores here,just really and an independent store. I shop at a restaurant supply and get large sizes pretty cheap.
    Take care and keep blogging. I learn a lot from you. Your military skills I respect.

    • Jamie says:

      denim Thanks, I know you have had a very rough 12 months.

      So far I like the basil and roasted tomato Progresso starters the best but I still have to try the mushroom, cheese and Garlic. My taste preference may not match others but I think overall the recipe starters are a good product especially for those that suck at sauces. So few people in the USA know how to cook from scratch it just boggles my mind.
      I love my restaurant supply store for bulk goods. This year my garden has exploded with growth. Some of it is thanks to you and your “ghetto buckets” I have grown both strawberries and potatoes for the first time!

      I wish I could say things will get better but I don’t think they will, at best we may see food and energy prices stabilize. I do hope and pray though that things get better for you and your family.

  2. Dannyboy53 says:

    Mary and I have experimented with different things as far as food goes. We make things from scratch the past few years more than we ever have. I don’t don’t know if it is a subconscious effort to get back to basics but I enjoy it now more than I used to. With Mary managing the horse ranch I do all the “domestic work” now, I think we both enjoy our forced reversal of roles in that respect! We all simply do what must be done.

    Jamie it sounds like you are chalking your dream up as a lesson learned, that is good.

  3. Jamie says:

    Dannyboy: Perhaps because I was in the military but I have seen many guys that are neat freaks and Domestic gods of course in a Manly sort of way.
    I think it is a very good thing that men and women approach life in different way with different mindsets. Different is not bad and it does not mean equal. We as people have are gifts and talents and fair does not matter.
    You put the best person you can doing the job and it seems you and Mary have learned to work in tandem and can shift roles when needed. I’m a bit envious and also very happy for you both as many couples never learn how to let go and move on.

    As far as the dream goes I think that the dream state is a place were we can safely work some things out that we might not want face directly. I know my take on my dream was not heroic and certainly not what I had in mind but I know God can shut me up just by working my emotion of fear. Okay that sucks but it works and I know God won’t fail me and because of that I won’t fail what I expect of myself.
    I don’t really mind I had a panic attack and was so fearful I was incapable of speech. Keeping my mouth shut in the face of being detained was the goal and I now know I can do that!

    • Dannyboy53 says:

      Thank you for your kind words Jamie. We simply don’t think life is complicated, we just do whatever needs to be done and concern ourselves about tomorrow when it gets here. That may sound odd coming from a couple of “preppers” but it works for us!

      You are right Jamie, God will not fail us. He will give us whatever we need to bear any burden if we just ask Him. Even though your dream was indeed a nightmare, you have chosen to learn from it and that appears to be a distinguishing trait of yours,

      We learn from our experiences (many of us) and that makes us wiser and stronger. As you know, courage is not the absence of fear. Like John Wayne said…”it’s being scared to death and saddling up anyway”.

      I believe I have been saved by the Grace of God so I don’t concern myself with whether I live or die. Merely that I never abandon my principles or belief in Him whatever the cost may be.

      It helps me deal with tomorrow!

