More cleanup of the shop and alley

There are  some shelves in the shop that have been used as a catch all for junk. I’m working my way through the stuff I need to keep and throwing away the junk I can’t use. I’m a little surprised how fast the clean up went as I did not have to much left to do over all. The scrap wood went into one of my buckets for kindling this winter so I will get some use out of the clean up. I want to move some of the supplies in the basement that don’t need temperature control into shop. That should free up quite a bit of shelf space in the basement.  Things I will be moving will be cleaning supplies, paper products and that sort of thing.  My neighbors gave a neat barrel that works perfect for holding chunk charcoal so I got that filled but I think I will give it a paint job to make it look a little nicer sitting on the patio. One of the first back up cooking ideas was to get a bunch of chunk charcoal now I have a several 40 pound bags for cooking but those bags are not the easiest thing to handle when you want to BBQ, so this barrel should work for keeping a supply of charcoal on the patio ready to use without a wrestling match of me vs. a 40 pound bag that is at best messy or at worse I lose the fight against gravity and inertia.

I cooked up the London broil on the gas grill but I have to say I really missed the smokey sweet flavor I get using the mesquite charcoal. I cooked a some of the Patty pan squash on the grill and I love the mild flavor of  the white patty pans as it give me a lot of flexibility using it in meals.  If you want to plant a summer squash but don’t want to deal with Zucchini that can get large and tough I would recommend the patty pans.  I am going to try a few recipes but substitute the patty pan squash instead of zucchini and see how they turn out.  A big plus for me is patty pans are small and are  perfect for a household of 1-2 people with very little waste when you cook them.  Plus these patty pans are all volunteers so they are very easy to grow and save seeds for the next year.

I got one small area of my future “alley” garden covered with cardboard and a few rocks to hold it in place. That area is quite a bit larger than I had anticipated but  once I add the mulch and some nice plants that can handle poor soil  it will be a big boon to my garden and herb production next year.  Wind isn’t to much of a problem around my house but that alley acts as sort of a wind tunnel if the wind direction hits just right.  The wood mulch I get has a better chance of staying in place compared to the straw and “compost” I have on hand.  I have a couple of neighbors that are bagging and trashing lawn clipping so I might set up my alley way as a dump spot for those organic materials. This could be a big win for me as I get free compost materials for the “alley garden” the neighbor save trash bags and filling their trash bins and if the “Alley Garden” works I bet one or two might join in and make their own alley gardens.  The worst thing that can happen is we start killing out weeds and the best thing that can happen is we get a sort of modified community garden along the alley.

Last but not least I added the GHB to the car and I’m very pleased with the low weight of the bag. Even I can lift the bag with one hand and having it on rollers with a tow handle makes it a breeze to maneuver on good terrain. I don’t have quite as much water on hand but the mini- van’s Emergency kit give me some options to add at the last minute if I need to walk to safety rather than driving.  If you haven’t done a lot of backpack camping or “ruck marched” via the military I would recommend going with a smaller back pack as your “get home bag” figuring about 20- 25 pounds as your max carry weight until you test how well your strength and endurance.  People don’t walk much in the USA and while some hardcore folks may poo-poo my walks in the Mall with my Mom I know I can average 10 miles per day if I do it in small bites. That may not sound like much but some folks haven’t walked 2 miles at one time and are not capable of  of even short walking trips without counting extra weight of a back pack.  While in the Army my “Battle Rattle” added about 25 pounds to my weight and I carried it day in and day out for weeks and I was in very good shape. I was not carrying a back pack/ruck when weighed for my Battle Rattle when boarding a plane for the NTC. The weight items can add up very fast a few pounds at a time.  The M-16 is a very light weapon at about 6.5 pounds it’s ammo is fairly light weight compared to larger calibers and we in the army consider 240 rounds in mags a combat load. Kevlar helmet 3 pounds, NVGs,  Gas mask 3.5 pounds heck even combat support troops carry an easy 20-25 pounds on their persons everyday for training, If the are the gunner carrying a M-249 at 25 pounds unloaded, stuff gets heavy fast and that only Signal pukes like I was in the Army. Combat Arms and grunts carry a much heavier load in their rucks 70-110 pounds is fairly normal for those guys depending on the weapon mix. Those grunts can maintain 4-6 mile per hour walk in good terrain for 25-30 miles, set up a perimeter and bring some heat when they are in position. If you can’t do that don’t try! Be as light weight as possible and get to your defensive position. Tactical doctrine in the Army calls for a 3-1 advantage at least, to attack a defensive stronghold and the Military knows they will take casualties.  Stay light weight and mobile in your thinking. Don’t get bogged down in thinking you need every new gadget, a paper map and a compass is old tech and so is the wheel , but still works great if you learn how to use it!

4 Responses to More cleanup of the shop and alley

  1. Dannyboy53 says:

    Jamie I would dare say the average person can not comfortably carry but 20lbs MAYBE 25lbs for a mile. I’m talking about an easy no stress route! Of course there are exceptions in a lot of folks that are very active on a daily basis.

    And your advice about carrying all manner of gizmos and gadgets…well, people will learn quickly what’s critical and what isn’t! The same with firearms. I have a daughter and son-in-law that were hung up on all sort of whistles and bells on their pistols and rifles. I learned in nearly 18 years as a Peace Officer that these gadgets do not make a person a better shooter. Unless one is shooting slow fire competition on a range, adjustable sights on a handgun are useless. Find someone that can teach “instinctive shooting” and become proficient at it. Drawing, firing from the hip and hitting a silhouette target out to 20-25 feet is well within the realm of possibility for most people. It takes practice to develop the hand-eye coordination necessary to do this. Mary and I feel using our weapons is an unpleasant prospect but a necessary element to being prepared. No different than when we worked as cops.

  2. Jamie says:

    Dannyboy: I will agree with you to certain extent but I do think most can learn to carry 20-45 pounds with a bit of training. Will people train is the question and at this point I don’t care and will not support them if they won’t put forth a little bit of effort themselves.

    I have done long term food and water storage. I have shared how it save my butt in the last 5 years via freeing up cash to having food already on hand and paying few bills early. I got no time for the idiots that refuse to learn.

    Walk with me on my journey and learn something that might be my screwups. Or you can sit on the couch and learn nothing as ignorance is common and does not require any effort. Join us and find peace of mind that you are ready for a disaster. It won’t be easy as we all get blindsided by mini disasters. It’s hard work and there will be times you wish you were a sheeple, but I think the work and effort will pay off.

    Can I not shop and Isolate my self for 3 months. Sure no problem. I won’t like it but it is very doable because of my storage/preps.

  3. TOR says:

    Jamie, Interestingly my GHB weights in at around 20lbs also. Aside from water I could live comfortably out of it for a couple days.

    As to fighting loads. Body armor really throws a wrench in things. A plate carrier weights about 15 pounds and a full IBA type setup 20+. A half dozen AR mags, a quart or two of water, etc probably weights 15lbs. Total of that is about 40lbs. Throw in a sustainment load of a 45-50lbs ruck and the load is getting out of control fast.

    I’d say 11b’s can keep a fairly fast pace for a lot longer than 25-30 min. The IN standard is 12 miles in 3 hours (15 min pace). My Company did an 18 mile road march averaging a 16:30 pace.

    • Jamie says:

      TOR: Most people have no clue about how fast the weight adds up when you have to carry it. Very few people walk any distance by choice. I’m disabled but I would not be surprised that I could do more miles walking on good terrain compared to many people that are considered non-disabled!

      I dumped a camel pack water bladder for this backpack though I added a Sawyer water filter, the weight saving was huge! My thinking on a rolling backpack is I can use the wheels if I have good terrain and carry it in in a bit thicker, rough terrain.

      When I was in the Army and was in great shape I could almost keep up rucking with some of the “Combat arm” guys. I could usually make the min.times but I was just not capable of what they did day in and day out. I was strong for a female that weighed 135 pounds at time. My body just could not stand up to that daily abuse and I had nothing on those grunts. Funny the Combat Arms guys loved me as I did my best and didn’t make excuses. But I was Combat support not combat arms!

      There are some things that women in general excel at doing. Somethings that men excel at doing. If a person can get over the stupidity that things are equal and maximize each person’s talents towards prepping and survival. Then we can make it!

      Some of the best shooters I have seen are women. I saw it myself as an NCO as my squad members were my kids and I could get all Mama grizzly in protecting them. Good in a survival situation, not so good in a military situation as you may have to order people to die in place in order to make the mission.

      One good thing I have learned about Ferguson MO. A few well armed and determined people can make looters move along to an easier target. If people get a bit desperate that will change, but 2-3 days of breathing space may give you time to set up more defenses in depth!

