Mental reset and a new use for the pain salve

I was a little whiny about packing my gun and then I measured it’s weight loaded and it’s only two pounds!  There are lighter weight alternatives but two pounds is really not a lot of weight to add to my little fanny pack of Every Day Carry (EDC) gear. What I found interesting is my gun did not seem as heavy to carry today since I weighed it!  I need to get used to the extra weight so it becomes just a part of my routine but it seems a lot easier now. I have to watch myself because I still fall victim to “Normalcy Bias” and forget that just because something didn’t happen in the past does not mean it can’t happen in the future.

Had a very nice visit with my aunt stopping by to pick up the spent beer grains. She gave me  two bottles of goat’s milk for my projects and I gave her some of the comfrey salve.  Her husband was recently stung by a wasp and he put some of the pain salve on it and in a minute or less the pain stopped and the swelling subsided and then one their friend’s daughter got stung and they tried the salve and it worked great and they want to get some of the pain salve to have on hand. While my tests have not been scientific this salve seems to work great even on skeptics so I think we can rule out a “Placebo” effect.  I was a little surprised about how well the salve worked with wasp stings and I wonder if it is the natural beeswax that is the effective ingredient and the Essential Oils are  soothing and the coconut oil acts as a carrier easily absorb into the skin.  I don’t think that Essential oils are a miracle cure for everything but they do seem to be very effective as a home made pain remedy.

We had to stop by the vet and pick up Mom’s dogs that had a little dental surgery and I got to look at a few items the have for pet medicines and found I.V. bags of saline and ringers lactate for sale. The Army gave me a class called “Combat Lifesaver” and I learned to give I.V.s and also have all the equipment to make it happen but I do not have the bags.  I have a place I can go and stock up on a few bags which will up my medical supplies for supporting a patient.  From what I have been reading about Ebola the most critical aspects are isolation, a very aggressive treatment of symptoms and supporting the patient with fluids.  All of medical care consists of keeping the patient alive while giving the body a chance to heal itself and 50%-75% of what goes on in most hospitals is supportive care to keep the body going while it heals, so having away to deliver fluids directly into the bloodstream is a big deal. Nausea, vomiting and diarrhea make it hard for a care giver to keep a patient hydrated so I.V.s are the answer.   People will die, heck people die everyday but by adding to your medical preps you can start stacking the odds in the patient’s favor, know you did all you could to help a person.

Your preparations don’t mean you will survive! All you are doing is trying to stack the odds in your favor. Don’t die from being “stupid” or from things you can control. You can’t control the economy, political process or Mama nature, but you can do a lot to try and mitigate the risks from those things.

 

15 Responses to Mental reset and a new use for the pain salve

  1. Dannyboy53 says:

    This is great to hear about the bee stings! The camphor we ordered should be in tomorrow and we can put it all together and see how it does on Mary.

    People have used natural means of healing for thousands of years, this is something I feel we will eventually get back to using. Getting rid of the synthetic chemicals we put into our bodies can’t do anything but be healthy.

  2. Jamie says:

    Dannyboy: I would give the essential oil pain salve up to a day or two to work though my formula seems very quick for most Mary might need a bit more time. If it does not work within 48 hours I would modify the recipe give it another 48 hours and then try something else for pain relief. I believe in my pain salve but every person is different and what works for me may not work for Mary.

    That’s my disclaimer and I think Mary will be pleasantly surprised by how well and quickly it works. Though it seems my “pain salve” works better on “soft tissue injuries/neuralgia pain”. It is not a healing agent/herb.

    • Dannyboy53 says:

      We understand but are very willing to give it a try. I’m sure it will help her! I’m going to try it also.

      • Jamie says:

        Dannyboy I think Mary might do well adding the comfrey salve because of her bone injuries. While I have not found comfrey as a essential oil it is very easy if not fast to infuse an oil with comfrey.
        Comfrey plants are a spreader but it is also lovely plant that grows with big deep green leaves and the roots are great for drying for a salve. I use my dehydrator to dry the leaves first and then use a good carrier oil in a water bath and I don’t deal with much odor and my method is almost, start heating the oil and forget other than making sure water bath does not cook off.

    • Jamie says:

      Dannyboy: the ones that use only Comfrey and Olive oil should be fine to use. If you don’t make your own.

      • Dannyboy53 says:

        Can we simply add this to the salve you originally made?

      • Jamie says:

        Dannyboy: I would just try the comfrey oil as is since you are buying it and not making it. I’m using a little of the comfrey infused oil on my dog and it is a little easier to put than the salve.

        That said, I don’t see any problem so far in combining them.

  3. Dannyboy53 says:

    Good deal, we will give it a try both ways!

  4. Dannyboy53 says:

    Jamie the bottle of camphor oil came in this morning, Mary mixed all the ingredients in the amounts you suggested. This evening after supper and showers I applied the salve to her back and hip and Mary is astounded that in just two to three hours the pain in her lower back is GONE and has decreased noticeably in her right hip! She is hoping for her first good nights sleep since her injury last fall.

    By morning we should be able to dance a jig on the front porch in celebration! Thank you Jamie.

    • Jamie says:

      Dannyboy: I’m so happy to hear that Mary got some relief!

    • Jamie says:

      Dannyboy: If Mary needs to use some heat to aid pain relief she is clear because this mix does not contain capsicum like many commercial heat/pain rubs there is no danger of a burn.

      • Dannyboy53 says:

        That’s good to know Jamie, and thank you. she is amazed at how much it has helped her. Yesterday and today she has had almost no pain at all and is walking around the house with a big grin on her face…she says you rock!

        Thank you Jamie, this has done so much to restore her quality of life!

      • Jamie says:

        Dannyboy: That is super news! Chronic pain can really wear a person out.

        I am very glad that Mary can get some relief from her pain without being doped up on pills. Animals in general and especially horses pick up on a person’s “energy”. My hope is that the animals will be more calm and not react to the pain and stress that Mary has been feeling since her injury, if she get’s some relief.

        I know a lot of people don’t think animals react or even understand when people are stressed, but I believe all animals sense these things on an emotional if not logical level.

  5. Dannyboy53 says:

    Jamie this is very true, it’s a mistake to underestimate them.

