Entro-virus D-68 and CIDP

Okay I’m basing this on my own disease, but I got CIDP after a bout with pnuemonia and basically your immune system goes into hyper active mode and attaks the nerves.

http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/gbs/detail_gbs.htm
Please if you have a child with the paralsys via D-68 ask for a spinal tap test for Guillain-Barré Syndrome. I have the chronic version called CIDP Chronic Inflammatory Demyelinating Polyneuropathy and it can be treated.
I got CIDP after a bout with pneumonia as the immune system goes into hyperdrive attacks the nerves. It’s not a death sentence and some people recover in time and some like me have weakness for years but it is not a death sentence.
Both syndromes are rare and many doctors are unaware of the symptoms but the spinal tap for anti-bodies and an EMG can find it.

CIDP is sort of the milder but longer lasting version of Guillain-Barré Syndrome. It can be treated and most that get Guillain-Barré can make a full recovery. For some Plasma Pherosis works ( Replacing white blood cells via IV) or Gamma gobulin. I was not so lucky butI did recover via steroids even though quite a few were pretty iffy about my recovery at the time.  Heck I thought my Mom was going to punch my doc at the VA a few times.

I was in my mid 40’s when I caught this so a kid might be able to bounce back faster and have a complete recovery.  Even if not a complete recovery happens a great life is still doable. I  love my life and I sure as heck not prepping any “bucket list”.  Sure some things are a little tougher and there are challenges to overcome, but it is not the end of your world unless you choose it to be!

I was in an Extended Care Unit at the local VA for several months and honestly got smashed to rock bottom physically. Heck I could not pull up a pair of undies or socks because I was so weak.  Mentally it was tough to depend on others for my basic needs as I’m very independent and hate asking for help.  It might sound crazy but in some ways I think getting this CIDP saved my life and my soul! I had to learn to ask for help and God knows my pride/ego took a real beating. I’m not saying it is CIDP or Guillain-Barré Syndrome causing any deaths but a simple test can at least eliminate it as a problem.

Comments are closed.

