Someone hit me with bag of “tired” and a full bucket of Hurt

I finally hit my mental/ physical wall with all of the work I have been doing to get Mom moved in to the house. The timing stinks as it was a beautiful day in the mid 50’s and no rain. I didn’t even need to start a fire this morning as the house was a warm 70 degrees when I woke up!  After the walk about halfway through unloading boxes I just started shutting down and the pain was pretty bad so I just have to take a couple of days to recover. Thanksgiving dinner was planned to be simple and easy so that is a blessing. Mom and I are sharing the cooking of the meal and I managed to get all the dishes done, the dough is ready for making bread Thursday as well as the house is semi-clean. Mom says she might putter around her room organizing her things but there won’t be much for me to do after the meal is done. I can take it easy for the rest of the day.

We will be moving the chicken run, chickens, Mom’s patio plants and a few small pieces of furniture this weekend. Mom is looking at renting a truck from U-haul for the big stuff for a day to finish up the move. After that everything will be on-site and we can do a better job of how things are stored. The last item will be the chicken shed and the area is already for it to be setup. I I will need to cut a small door for the chickens access between the shed and the kennel and run a power cord from the shop to the shed.  The new jigsaw should make those jobs easy to get done.

Mom will be adding 3 pekes as well as the chickens so Casa de Chaos will be very full of critters. I think Diana the peke will enjoy having a pack of dogs around for her to boss around and she has always gotten along well with these dogs. Smokey the cat might be a little put out but all of the pekes are good around cats so everybody should settle in quickly.  Some people have expressed concerns about Mom moving in but I don’t foresee any problems as we both have switched back and forth between who is in charge and responsibilities when we have worked and lived together as adults. One really great thing about this house is how it is setup and if anyone needs a bit of privacy or alone time it is very easy to retreat to our respective areas/rooms.  Mom has her heart set on getting her own place in the spring and I certainly hope she can do that, but I don’t want her putting herself in a bind financially to meet some arbitrary date to move out. Who knows what will happen in the future, we might have to recreate the multi-generational homes of the past in order to make ends meet.

7 Responses to Someone hit me with bag of “tired” and a full bucket of Hurt

  1. kymber says:

    jamie, gurl – you better take a couple of days off and do jobs of minimal physical stress! you have been doing too much lately and i have been worried about you. however, it is very normal that after so much physical and mental activity to need to take a day off – or 4!!!! bahahahahah! gurl – you have been burning the candle at both ends and i hope that you will promise to take this wonderful thanksgiving weekend and give yourself a bit of a break, starting today, we’ll all expect you to git back atter on monday! but until then, i want you to take some down time, deal?

    sending much love to you and your mom during this american thanksgiving! your friend,
    kymber

    • Jamie says:

      kymber: You know how it goes, sometimes as you just try to power through and get things finished because they have to be done. Once the chickens are moved and the last of Mom’s stuff is here this weekend the work load should drop significantly.

      I rested today and Thanksgiving day is an easy day this year BBQing the Turkey in good weather.

      Mom’s chickens can work the yard, raised beds and compost pile this winter. Spring will be much easier as I did a better job this fall cleaning up the garden beds. The new ladder is working out great and it will help on getting jobs done. While getting Mom moved in is a lot of work right now. Having an extra pair of hands will make some of the jobs I want to get done a lot easier and Mom has a lot of skills I can take advantage of for things I want to do around the house.

      Jam did a great job on the porch and I really liked the blue on your ATV shed. If you have enough of the blue paint I think your plywood and the steps should be painted that color.

  2. Patti says:

    We have three generations of adults here…my mom, my husband, our son (19) and I…plus a pointer, 2 cats and 5 chickens. Sometimes you just have to tell yourself not to overreact. Oh, and never hold a grudge with your loved ones, cause they love you, they just are not perfect.
    Hope you enjoy this time with your mom, I know I am.

  3. Emily Summer says:

    I think you are a wonderful daughter for all you are doing for your mom. Please take care and have a blessed Thanksgiving

  4. S.Lynn says:

    Have a wonderful relaxing Thanksgiving. You deserve it with all the hard work you do just to keep blogging AND all the stuff you do around your house. AND enjoy the weather. It doesn’t look too good beginning of next week.

  5. lisa says:

    I have a multi generational home as well. I just wrote about it. Some do not like the use, but it works on many levels for us, besides that is what family is about.

  6. Jamie says:

    Patti: I’m easy going and with living in barracks in the Army I learned to put up with a lot without getting to worked up about it.

    Emily: Thankyou for the kind word, Both Mom and Dad have helped me out when I needed it so I figure I need to return the favor.

    S.Lynne: Thanksgiving dinner was very simple this year. It was also the best BBQ turkey I have made so far. I used a local White wine for the liquid in the pan under the turkey and the breast meat turned out to be super moist. Mom said she has never had breast meat that is so moist and flavorful.

    lisa: I think multi-generational homes will become more popular and I think that is a good thing.

