Chicken house is finished

Man, I’m sore and tired but the shed is finished!  It looks pretty good and I even managed to cut the correct angle for the ramp from the kennel up into the shed though I screwed up one framing cut. That is much better than I usually do on projects.  I added one brace across the top interior so Mom can hang a light as well as a small heater if it is needed this winter. Mom wants to add another dowel for a chicken roost but I did get one setup inside the shed.  Mom got a great deal on a linoleum remnent at Lowes that almost covered the floor of the shed. There is a small section of floor about 2 feet long and a foot wide that I can finish up with some leftover tiles I have on hand.  Overall the chicken’s have a nice little house that should be easy to clean.

I have a much better idea of some of the tools and fasteners to have on hand than before I started on the chicken shed. The reciprocating saw is a must have for my future projects.  I bought a pound of screws for the chicken house and have a lot left, but I will add a pound or two of screws and nails each paycheck. In a few months I will have several pounds of different nails and screws for building and repair projects. I need to add some tools for replacing pipe but it looks like I will be able to get that project done next paycheck. That should be the last of my tool/repair purchases for this year. The other tools I want to get can go on the 2015 goals page.

I watched the guys put the shed together on Friday and it was very educational just watch them work. It gave me a lot of pointers about getting things level and how to measure thing out making things nice and square.  Last month I bought a little speed square that was a huge help when I was making all the cuts on the frame of the door and ramp up to the chicken house.  While I’m not much of carpenter, I gained a lot of confidence in adding a few things to the chicken house today. This has been my year to build “fixit” skills around the house. From plumbing to carpentry. I have made a few mistakes but over all I’m very pleased by how much better I am at fixing things that not only work, but the jobs are fixed correctly and look good.

Of course now I see how things should be done correctly there are all sorts of jobs that are suddenly in need of attention! I figure it will take a few days of physical recovery for the the chicken house job then I will start on the “round tuit” list and start gathering materieals and supplies to get them done right.

 

5 Responses to Chicken house is finished

  1. JD says:

    Hooray! I would not want to put my limited abilities in woodworking or many other items that involve the tools you used. If push comes to shove, I will figure it out.

    I actually can bake much better than I can build. 😀

    • Jamie says:

      JD: I was in that mind set until I did a little plumbing work. Nothing fancy just installing a sink drain properly and replacing a bit of leaking pipe under the kitchen sink and it was very simple and even with buying the hand tools and parts it was a lot cheaper than calling in a plumber for a simple fix. Then I built a small raised bed for my garden and that worked out well. Sure it was a simple box but a lot of carpentry is based on making simple sqaure and level boxes.

      I bake pretty good now but I made a few bread loaves starting out that could have been used as door stops if not bricks. Another big advantage is I got a load of mill ends last year to burn in my wood stove so I have all kinds of wood to practice cuts and trying things out first. Without destroying expensive lumber you buy at the store. That took a lot of pressure off me knowing that if I screw up a cut all I have done is made kindling or the Mille end is short enough now to burn in my wood stove.

      • JD says:

        Accomplishment on any level is better than non. Take it from me a minimal skilled beginner! Ha! Best to you.

        Jane

  2. OJD says:

    I totally suck at angle cuts. I typically try to avoid them all together. Congrats on the coop. I’ll need to build one asap upon arrival in Idaho. I’m leaning towards dragging my 12 birds up there with me.

    • Jamie says:

      OJD: I sort of take the same approach but I figure why not try learning to cut angles on the chicken shed? If I screwed up the chickens won’t tell anyone. I used my circular saw to make a small 30 degree angle on the end of the board that would tied the ramp into a 2×4.
      If you set the bottom plate of saw at an angle the cut is pretty simple. I used a short 2×4 to test the cut first to see if it would work. If I screwed up I could burn the evidence in the woodstove!

