Starting to feel better

Both Diana , the peke and I are starting to feel better today. Diana is on her 3rd day with out her pain pill and she is much steadier on her feet. She was off her feed for a couple of days, I think the pain/anti-inflammatory pill upset her stomach so I’m feeding her by hand. She is starting to eat and it seems her appetite is improving. Jan. 27th Diana will get the mammary tumor removed and hopefully that will help finish up her recovery.

This flare has been tough, mostly due to physical and financial stress I created for myself. Now that I’m feeling better and making some positive plans on the financial area there is less stress. It’s  easy to get all doom & gloomy when you don’t have a plan or any control of what is happening in your life. I am so glad that God gave a generally positive and optimistic outlook on life. When things get tough, I may have some down time but I usually bounce back mentally in a few days. Don’t get me wrong it takes a lot of work to stay positive. I just seem pre-disposed to doing the work rather than some people that are more cynical or stoic personality types.

I have been cooking and trying out new recipes as well as buying a new cookbook. I don’t know about you  but I love pork & seeds from a good Chinese restaurant so I did a Char Sui or BBQ pork roast in the rotisserie using mostly authentic ingredients for the marinade. I substituted “cooking sherry” for the traditional Chinese wine and left out the red dye. The roast turned out very good though the roast should have marinated 24 hours rather than the 6 hours the recipe stated. One thing I have noticed is the rotisserie is great for cooking any roasts that get freezer burnt. I cooked up a prime rib on Christmas that I thought might of been a little freezer burnt but assumed I was wrong when it tasted great. The pork roast I used for the Char Sui was freezer burnt, but after cooking it on the rotisserie you could not taste it. I have read that you can use a pressure cooker to save freezer burnt meats. I can confirm that a rotisserie will also save any beef or pork roasts with some freezer burn.

If you want to add a rotisserie to your cooking options I would get the biggest one you can afford. I have the Ronco “compact” rotisserie oven that I bought at a second hand store for the princely sum of $3.95. That oven will handle up to a 6 pound bird or roast with no problem.  Most of the smaller combo-type rotisserie/toaster ovens have a hard time handling any chunk o meat over 3 pounds because of size. The rotisserie oven is a great way to add flavor to fight food fatigue as well as be a way to cook electrically via your generator if the power goes out.

Comments are closed.

