Back to work, I figured out the new clothes line for outside and drying racks for inside

The weather has been affecting my pain level but I finally got off my butt and got the Xmas lights down.  Mom gave me a hand with the lights along with sweeping some loose straw out to the muddy drive way areas where water is puddling. I need to add a bit of sand and gravel when I can afford it but overall the alleyway is getting better with what we can use that is alrerady on hand.  Bear the peke’s paw is looking great after a couple of days of using the Curad “colloidal silver” cream. I’m a bit scared to use the comfrey salve as it can heal the skin cuts so well as it does not drain. While pus looks nasty it is the body’s way of building up white blood cells to fight an infection and it needs to drain away. You don’t want to block all the drainage in most wounds normally. Using the Band-aid anti-septic with Lidocaine along with the Curad colloidal silver cream I think you could safely handle most minor infections and cuts for humans and pets.  Many preppers and self-reliant type focus on human 1st aid we may need animals to survive so learning some basic pet 1st aid and doctoring skills might be something to research.

Matt, one of the commenters on my site found a great video about Mesh networks and using wireless routers. Linksys  54B/G/N routers are very common at yard sales as well as  being very programmable and you might want to check out Matt’s comment in the previous post. If you can run an e-mail server you can run any type of data server. While I’m a bit leery of running unencrypted traffic to comply with the rules.  I wonder if the router might be consider a repeater via Ham radio rules? If the router is considered a repeater, my Ham license should cover those without a license. I don’t know all of the aspects legally but in an “emergency” most rules get very flexible.   What I do know is the VHF and UHF band is available to any one with a basic Technician Lic. if you don’t stomp o the freq. and let others talk.

I looked up the cost for a clothes line pulley and was a bit surprised the cost was only $5.50 each at Truvalue. Add 50 feet of clothes line and a bracket to support the pulley, the total cost is under $20.00 for the setup. Going with a pulley system should make hanging the clothes to dry, physically easier compared to a traditional clothes line as well as a bit cheaper than I had imagined. I know it might seem a bit odd setting up the clothes line on a covered patio but it will protect the clothes some what from the elements and easy to use.

For the indoor drying rack I will use a shelf bracket that come with a hook for a dowel that you see in many closet organizers. The brackets are $3.69 each and I could setup four brackets behind the wood stove and get some shelf space as well as drying space behind the wood stove. The wood stove is does not need much clearance for safety and I don’t think anything could catch on fire since the wood stove does not require an insulated fire barrier to protect ordinary walls.

Think about what you can give up and what you need to have on hand. I hate having all the payments and bills of a car! While I love my Kia mini-van it is very expensive to drive via gas, insurance, registration and the environmental  check via the local auto garages.

What if you ride a bike? no taxes, no driver’s license or Real ID via the Feds. No Concealed Carry Weapons permit tied into a database via your driver lic. Inconvenient, Hell yes doable definitely!

If you want to play the game and get counted as a good little sheep that is your choice. If you want to go “grey man” and stay under the radar. I understand your choice. I think I  may sound nasty because I want people to survive and thrive.  Think about your line in the sand. It does not have to rational, but you must be willing to pay the price for your stand. You have seen how “preppers and survivalist” are treated in the media for the last few years.

Your choice! Depend on FEMA and the PTBs or depend on yourself and what you can do.

4 Responses to Back to work, I figured out the new clothes line for outside and drying racks for inside

  1. Karen says:

    For laundry we have one of those umbrella type clothes line poles (can’t handle much weight . . Only 5 loads clothing). . . Blankets dry outside over the fence (makes neighbors/busybodies crazy!!) . . . Wind has been bad on our hilltop last two years so I dry most things indoors . . Clothing on hangers from door frames and shower rod, blankets and sheets over doors . . . A small drying rack by wood stove for underwear and socks. I have a backup umbrella clothesline in the shed as well as supplies to set up two t-shaped clothes poles with lines. . . . .
    In the winter we put a palm full of table salt in the rinse water so clothing won’t freeze while it’s drying . . .
    I want to be more gray, but am required to have a car for my job . . . Would love any tips you can offer!!!

    • Jamie says:

      Karen I think with the pulley clothes line for the sheets and blanklets, The shelf, drying rack setup behind the wood stove and the portable racks we can handle about 4 loads at one time. Adding in the salt is a great idea for drying in winter.

      I don’t a lot about going gray man as I’m very prominent on the internet. I would say if you can’t go gray, try to look as normal/common as possible.

  2. Kimberly says:

    I have been hanging my clothes to dry for 3 years now. Outside I the umbrella type (don’t like it) and switching to the t-type.

    In the winter I hang my clothes in my basement. On 2 lines, and aLos a drying rack for unmentionables. I also have a small pole in a doorway for hanging tops and such.

    I just saw an idea where someone used a crib railing and it could be removed or just folded away. I really liked it and have to give it more thought for my purposes.

    • Jamie says:

      Kimberly: that is a great idea about the crib railing I’m going to keep an eye for one during the spring cleanup/yardsale season!

