Puttering around the house, trike maintenance and dealing with Riot control agents

I finally got started cleaning up and organizing the basement. The basement is sort of a catch all for all the items that need to be in a temprature controlled enviroment and can not be stored in my shop. I got the paint and cleaning supplies awawy from the food supplies and stacked on shelves just for those sort of items. In general you want to store cleaning/home improvement (paint, caulk etc.) supplies away from your food supplies. Any how I got a few items organized, so I could walk easily  and swept the small carpet and the concrete floor to clean up dust and trash.  While my basement isn’t “all that” I  think of it as my little bunker. Keeping it clean and organized is a challenge.  I’m not one of those people that does “A place for everything and everything in it’s place.  Quite often I get stuff I think I might need/want on hand, find a place to put it and then figure out how to organize it later…  Not such a good plan if you are just starting to prep as you can miss getting items you need and get overly redundant on some items.  I thought I had plenty of both C and AAA type batteries. Nope! I have lots of AA and D batteries. Don’t stress out just fix it as soon as you can afford to stockup again.  I try to think positive on all I do to prep. While I may miss a few small items, in genearal I am well prepeared to handle a minor disaster.  When I screw up I don’t beat myself up, I simply adjust my shopping list and top off those missing items.

I got my adult trike out and cleaned it up, aired up the tires and added a headlight and break light along with a little bell. Bikes and adult trikes don’t get much love or notice in the prepping community and I think a bike or trike is something all preppers should have on hand and practice everything from bugging out to daily shopping.  If you are semi-healthy and walk a couple of mile per day,  a bike/trike would get you about 6 miles away from ground zero. Let’s say you are physically capable of walking 5 miles per day. A bike/trike would probably triple that mileage and weight you could carry more stuff means give you better chance at survival.  Practice using a bike/ trike and have a plan for bugging out. It might be using a backpack and a basket or using a child trailer but get your bike setup ready and practice shopping, riding around and setting up your  bug out routes now!

I have been Teared gassed and while very unpleasant, there is a lot you can do to adapt to being gassed. # 1. Don’t freak out or panic. Getting gassed is very unpleasant but it is not the “end of the world”! #2.  Do not rub your eyes or mouth or your skin.  As quickly as possible rinse your skin  and face with cool water for at least 5-10 minutes and strip off all contamimated clothing.  Have a basic mask, bandana and safety goggles at all times when entering a potential riot area.  For tear gas “sip your air” through your mouth.  Getting tear gassed is very unpleasant your first time. You ever wonder why anarchists go into the fog of tear gas. They have a bit of protection and have leared to deal with gas. Tear gas is pretty unpleasent at first, but with a bit of practice it isn’t that bad to deal with if you are prepared.  I would recommend any one going into a possible riot zone wear a long sleaves and be ready to strip to shorts and a t-shirt.  Thinking in layers is just not for winter.  While a gas mask on hand is great, it will be easier to stash a couple of masks and goggles in your jockey box and add a bandana to your every day carry gear.

While I give you some ideas. Be aware and prepare, so you don’t have to go through riot areas. That means you must keep your vehicle topped off.  You need to plan your routes to avoid any “potential riots or bad areas”.   Be polite and respectful to all and have a plan to kill all around you.  I did not choose this option I’m simply taking measures to protect myself.

2 Responses to Puttering around the house, trike maintenance and dealing with Riot control agents

  1. I read that swim goggles for the eyes and a bandana soaked with vinegar would help. Of course, goggles or face mask would help. But, is it true that vinegar on a cloth helps one to breathe?

    • Jamie says:

      Practical, I wrote only what I did after being gassed in the Army, so I don’t know about using vinegar.

      One thing I forgot, is turn you heater or AC off or switch to recirculate the interior air. You don’t want to suck any riot control agents into your car! Same thing for your house, closing windows and vents turn off any heat pumps or A/C units.

