The house feels different after caulking the windows

Perhaps there is a “placebo” effect, that the house feels warmer after caulk and foaming all the gaps.  Mom stated that the house feels less damp and the backrooms are much warmer via thermometer Mom installed last year and I’m not seeing as much sweating/moisture around the windows in the back part of my house. I know it is early days yet for this little test/maintenance job.  But I feel like an “acid minded moron” for not caulking and sealing up holes around the house when those products are so cheap.

Mom and I still need to finish caulking all of the south side windows and put up the window insulation kits/plastic. I think we have eliminated much of the moisture and drafts coming through the windows. I managed to get the ladder setup and we have some sunny days coming up this week so we might be able to finish up the last three windows.

Bad news I think I need a new roof and new siding because many of the cheap lap panels are pulling loose from the basic structure of the house.  I figure it will take about $15 grand in repairs to make the house right long term. I can’t complain as this is a house built in 1940 and I ignored a few problems due to a lack of money to fix thing properly. So far I am doing stop-gap repairs to keep things from getting worse. The financial plan of attack is to keep working on the “emergency fund” and then take out a short term loan next year for each job. The roof should cost about $4-6 grand and I hope the siding will be about the same cost wise.  I’ll get one job done and paid off then get started on the next job. Nampa city has a low interest loan program that might be a good option for getting the jobs done.  Right now I am just doing research on the total cost of the repairs and the best way to pay for them. I really hate the idea of going into more debt on the house.

Gosh Jamie what if the “Zombie” Apocalypse happens while you are in debt?  Well, if it happens it happens and perhaps those contractors will work for beer, bread and silver.  I can’t stop taking care of stuff/ planning for the future just because I think an Economic collapse “might” happen in the near future.  I try to use debt in small chunks and get the best deal possible. But if a repair job costs over 5-9 months of your yearly income you almost have to go into debt to make the repairs.  It’s just another one of those thing that proves that being poor in the USSA can be darn expensive.

Something will always go wrong in your planning and you will have to deal with it. It might be an appliance that dies, a tooth ache or vet bill that blindsides you. That is why building that “emergency fund” is so critical to your preps.

Good news!  Smokey the cat is moving about the house and is not treating all dogs as evil incarnate.

 

 

6 Responses to The house feels different after caulking the windows

  1. Do the roof first so you will not have damaged rafters that will then need to be replaced. OR If you get a loan for both now maybe they will both be cheaper now than they will be later when things might have deteriorated more thus costing more. I know what you mean about putting off essential repairs.

    • Jamie says:

      Practical: I found a couple of contractors that seem to have good reputations and do both roofing and siding replacement.

      I can get a couple of bids and see if I get a break on the price getting both jobs done at one time.

  2. Pam says:

    I recommend building interior storm windows. Here is DH with part one of a youtube discussion on making the windows. I recommend using the type of heat shrink film used by art dealers to protect paintings. You can get it online at Blick Art Supplies. We’ve built interior storms for most all of our windows even the new ones. It’s amazing how much warmer a room stays when this is done. And they hold up well year to year.

  3. Deb says:

    I don’t know if you have wildfires there, but you may want to check on a metal roof. It may be less expensive.

    • Jamie says:

      Deb, Not is much danger for wild fires here, but I want to add more fire-resistant materials to the roof and siding. From the specs on the new shingles via the contractors website, the shingles have good fire resistance, wind resistance to 100 mph straight line winds and a guarantee over 20 + years.

      For siding I want to go with metal, or the new concrete siding that offers good durability, no need to paint and good overall fire resistance. Concrete siding has more expensive up front cost, but long term cost should be lower overall.

